Becky & Morlei
Member Since 2012
We're at 6u now, upped it from 5.5u after 4 cycles of no change. Made an appointment with the vet today for bloodwork and dental exam.
No I havent, do you just buy plain tablets and crush them?Vidya & Boo said:If you're concerned about dental issues, have you tried adding a little powdered/crushed vitamin C (50 - 100mg) to the food every day? It won't fix dental decay, but it should bring down gum inflammation and resolve any tooth infections. I've used it on various cats with various sorts of infections with a high success rate.
I just wanted to say that not all acro cats ever reach a dose of 13 units, and some IAA cats can be around much lower such at 3u BID.Becky & Morlei said:No I havent, do you just buy plain tablets and crush them?Vidya & Boo said:If you're concerned about dental issues, have you tried adding a little powdered/crushed vitamin C (50 - 100mg) to the food every day? It won't fix dental decay, but it should bring down gum inflammation and resolve any tooth infections. I've used it on various cats with various sorts of infections with a high success rate.
Vet update: Vet said she's looking good, needs to lose some weight still (13.4 lbs currently) and does recommend we get her teeth cleaned. I told her I'm scared to death of putting her under anesthesia and she said we'll do bloodwork and an ECG beforehand to catch anything. Said they've only lost one animal during a dental and it had a pre existing condition they would have caught had the owners agreed to the pre-op tests. I trust her and my mind is a tad more at ease but my fiance is still scared because that's his baby, but he said he'll agree to it if that's what I feel we need to do. So looks like we'll probably schedule it at the end of this month or beginning of May.
She also said they don't consider insulin resistance as a diagnosis until the cat is at 1 unit per 2.2 kg (1 unit per lb) so we have some room to go...I can't imagine a cat being on 13 units of insulin!!
Becky & Morlei said:Vet update: ....(shortened)
She also said they don't consider insulin resistance as a diagnosis until the cat is at 1 unit per 2.2 kg (1 unit per lb) so we have some room to go...I can't imagine a cat being on 13 units of insulin!!
I will take a look at this tomorrow (or today since its already 1 am), thanks!Sienne and Gabby said:Becky --
This is a post I put together on dental information. There are links to several of the brochures my vet has put together to help people evaluate dental care for their cats.
If her BG drops what would I reduce her dose to? I guess it depends on how low she actually goes. Let's say she's hovering around 200 all day rather than her normal 230-280, how much would I reduce? And anything under 200...what would you recommend? I'll definitely be on here the day of the procedure and the day after but I'd like to have an idea ahead of time.Gayle Shadoe & Oliver said:Dental work can definitely affect BG and dose. My Shadoe had her dental, with one tooth extracted and her dose dropped from around 14u BID to 2.75u after the dental. She also had quite low BG for an entire day due to the anesthesia. Her dose did rise after awhile again so a dropping dose is not that significant unless it stays lower.
Charliemeow said:Hi there! I just wanted to toss in my 2 centsCoQ10 is a supplement that is great for gums- it is an antioxidant that has shown promise in the dental field, as well as many other benefits to the body. I use it on my civie (60mg sid) who is borderline stomatitis (severe inflammation of the gingiva) combined with brushing.
I just wanted to touch on the protocol for reducing dose with Morlei. If you have even an inkling of susupicion that she may be acro (does she show any other symptoms besides insulin resistance and large size? does she snore, have a ravenous appetite, eat non-food items, have a heart murmur, big paws, unusual extra-cuteness :lol: ) you may want to reduce dose if you get in the very low blues. We try to keep Charlie out of the greens since they still have a working pancreas, and if the tumor output slows down you could be at risk of a hypo. My vet was at the Western Veterinary Conference a couple months ago and she is super interested in acro now that Charlie is her patient and she went to a seminar on acro and endocrinology. The presenter (Dr. Catharine Scott-Moncrieff) said that she is now recommending that diabetic cats who weigh over 11 pounds get tested for acro whether they are showing signs of insulin resistance or not. She is finding that 10% of those cats have acromegaly.
Because of this possibility, should I just pay for the acro test during the pre procedure bloodwork? The vet said we wouldn't have to do the bloodwork before because we only did it three months ago but I really don't want to take any chances with the anesthesia.Gayle Shadoe & Oliver said:A good example is to have the vet use a small size kitty tube for the throat if going under anesthesia for dental or some other procedure because of a possible soft tissue growth in the throat. It's also advisable to avoid pilling acro cats for the same reason.
julie & punkin said:ECID isn't just a slogan - it's absolutely true, Becky. every cat is different - regardless of whether your cat has acromegaly or not. i can't help but feel like there is a cart going before the horse here.
i have an acro cat. he was diagnosed nearly a year ago. he takes pills daily without any problem. he has had anesthesia multiple times without problems. he goes into low numbers (34 yesterday) without a problem and responds to high carbs just like any other cat. IF a cat has acromegaly or insulin resistance, they still are individuals and still respond individually to everything.
it's easy to look at a dose of 6units and suspect something. and there might be something there - but you don't know. you DO know that your cat has bad teeth and needs a dental. and we have seen many times that cats who need their teeth fixed often need more insulin.
Sienne and Gabby said:Vitamin C may effect acid balance which could result in crystals so I'd be careful.
Vidya & Boo said:Sienne and Gabby said:Vitamin C may effect acid balance which could result in crystals so I'd be careful.
Actually, vitamin C is used to prevent/treat urinary crystals in cats -- crystals tend to form in alkaline urine, not acidic urine. Cats do indeed make their own vitamin C, but it may not be sufficient in times of infective stress -- just as humans require much more vitamin C in our diets when fighting infections than we do simply to avoid scurvy.
I think the vet said that one of those tests would cost around $160 so I definitely think I will take your advice Julie and wait on that and see how she does after the dental...if no change after a few months we'll look into other possibilities.
Gayle Shadoe & Oliver said:I think the vet said that one of those tests would cost around $160 so I definitely think I will take your advice Julie and wait on that and see how she does after the dental...if no change after a few months we'll look into other possibilities.
The tests are not expensive at all - one is $49 and the other is $15:
IAA Test
IGF-1 (Acro) Test
I had Shadoe tested when she was at 9u, she rose to 14u by the time of her dental, when she dropped to 2.75u and stayed low for months... she was still positive for acro.
Shadoe and Randi's Max were neck and neck in dosing till Max hit around 6u BID. At that time, he seemed to 'break', and dropped to OTJ. Max was never tested and could well have been an IAA kitty.
My Oliver tested positive for acro and IAA and is currently OTJ after becoming very sick from vaccines. His reaction likely triggered his OTJ current state, but I consider him as still acro because the tumor still exists; only the hormone secretion has stopped.
Sandy's BK was positive for IAA and it's known that you can break the IAA as it is temporary.
Oliver's IAA was broken about 3 months after starting insulin treatment after I adopted him.
I would avoid BG under 100 until you know if Morlei is resistant because cats with acromegaly are not diabetics, they just happen to have diabetes because of the growth hormone output.
Stop the output and there is no need for insulin.... just look at my Oliver who was at 37u BID, then down to 21u BID and within 10days, he was OTJ, and still is to this day.
Karrie and Maverick said:While people are throwing stuff at you... did the vet talk about how slowly you need to have her lose weight? My vet told me Maverick needed to lose weight and we restricted his calories. He almost died because of it and needed a feeding tube for ten weeks. When ever I see weight loss mentioned my spidey senses go up and I get on my safe weight loss soap box :lol: Maverick's story is in my signature - FHL is something every cat owner needs to know about. So please read it.
Safe weight loss in a cat is very very slow and closely monitored. 1 to 2% a week. And you can't use a human scale - get a 50$ pet scale/baby scale or shipping scale that weighs to the ounce off of amazon. It can help catch future issues too. It caught Maverick's diabetes before any other symptoms showed up and saved us a fortune. And after a few weeks of 1-2% a week loss you take a week or two off to give the liver a chance to recover.
So don't do blind weight loss. And share with other cat owners about the dangers of putting a cat on a diet. Lots of people have no idea. I sure wish someone had mentioned it to me. Cat's biologies are unlike most other animals - I think bunnies are susceptible also.
MSU is the only lab that tests for acromegaly (IGF-1) right? Makes sense to have them do the IAA at the same time.
I've been reading about acromegaly and the explanation given in the Acromegaly/IAA/Cushings Group on here is the best one I found, so in an acrocat all we can do is attempt to combat the IGF-1 by giving higher doses of insulin?
I'll give the vet a call this week, she's going to think I'm nuts haha, but if I'm willing to pay for it they shouldn't care! Also, on the IGF-1 test link you gave me it says that Wednesday is the day tests are started...what does that mean exactly? Do they only start the test on that day? So if I were to take Morlei down on a Tuesday to get her blood drawn, the vet sends it off and MSU gets the sample Thursday, they wouldn't start the test until the next Wednesday?