4/9 Mochi amps 400+ +1 349 +2 299 +3 148 +4 193

David & Mochi

Member Since 2025
Old thread here So today was like yesterday, fast drops few hours in back into blue numbers. Came home from store at +3 saw bg had just gone straight down. Figured it was a pressure sensor error so got her up and about and checked 15 mins later and was still in that range. Thought maybe sensor is going bad so did a blood test (went smooth, working her up to it paid off, little pain meow on prick but that was it) and read 191. Waited for the 15 min lag behind on libre to see what it said and it was within 10 points so she is def getting those lower numbers first week. Idk if that's normal/good since my research made me feel like it would be weeks of slowly upping the dose to see numbers like that. Going to talk to vet if something could be going on keeping her numbers high during preshot times other than insulin resistance because it is clearly working fast on her (so glad I listened to this forum group and started her on .5 and not 1u like vet insisted). That was with a good meal 2 hours pre shot and several snacks during and after shot. Here were the photos I tried to add yesterday, ty to squeem3 for explaining how it worked
image000000(2).jpg
image000001(1).jpg
image000002(1).jpg
 

Attachments

  • image000000(2).jpg
    image000000(2).jpg
    86.7 KB · Views: 71
  • image000001(1).jpg
    image000001(1).jpg
    84.5 KB · Views: 76
  • image000002(1).jpg
    image000002(1).jpg
    80.9 KB · Views: 74
Mochi is such a pretty girl!
Well done on the successful ear prick test!
It's good news she's responding to the insulin already.
Ty! I couldn't fully believe the numbers before the ear test because I had looked at others ss and from reading stuff I thought that was something that took weeks to get to a dose that started to see lower numbers like that. It felt like her numbers were not typical at all. As long as it's just responding to insulin it's great news
 
Congratulations on your testing. David. Glad it went well for Mochi. She’s such a beautiful girl. Thanks for sharing the photos :bighug::cat::bighug:
Ty, I'm glad I decided to go for it instead of waiting for the lancing device to be delivered. I thought it would be here in a day or two, I just looked and somehow it isn't supposed to get here until the 16th. Will just go buy one from a store and return the other once it gets here. I love seeing everyone's babies on here. So many cuties :cat:
 
Hey, if you're getting good numbers right away, that's amazing! Take them! Things wax and wane (especially at the beginning), so they may come and go, but it's great to see them so soon!

Great job on the ear prick too! I'm thoroughly jealous lol

Mochi is suuuuch a beautiful girl! Thank you for sharing the adorable pictures!!
 
David, now you are seeing some blue BGs, you need to stay at the same dose for at least 10 cycles unless Mochi drops under 90 in which case you would reduce the dose.
Well done David and Mochi:cat:
 
Hey, if you're getting good numbers right away, that's amazing! Take them! Things wax and wane (especially at the beginning), so they may come and go, but it's great to see them so soon!

Great job on the ear prick too! I'm thoroughly jealous lol

Mochi is suuuuch a beautiful girl! Thank you for sharing the adorable pictures!!
TY! It just seemed so unexpected by day 5 to see dips that low so I wasn't sure at first if something was off or it could mean something else. She only stays there a few hours so will have to see how it goes over time. Also was surprised enough blood came out from only the 2nd prick with no rice sock warming it up, just my fingers but since it did and she meowed like it hurt, Im going to try going up from 28 gauge lances.
 
David, now you are seeing some blue BGs, you need to stay at the same dose for at least 10 cycles unless Mochi drops under 90 in which case you would reduce the dose.
Well done David and Mochi:cat:
Ty! I was gonna wait until the rest of the week was over to see if I should hold that dose with how fast she hit blue numbers so Ill wait at least 5 days then (that's 10 cycles right?). I just am sooooo thankful I found this place. I don't want to know what could've happened if I started at a full unit while also not having the info on how to test/confirm and just flew blind. I don't blame the vet, they were fantastic, but I feel like without everyone here, I would've had zero clue what I was doing. And if she drops under 90 I immediately reduce the next dose right?
 
TY! It just seemed so unexpected by day 5 to see dips that low so I wasn't sure at first if something was off or it could mean something else. She only stays there a few hours so will have to see how it goes over time. Also was surprised enough blood came out from only the 2nd prick with no rice sock warming it up, just my fingers but since it did and she meowed like it hurt, Im going to try going up from 28 gauge lances.

Understandable! Since it's safe lows and she's reacting in the dips and rises way that insulin works I think it's just helping already!

It's not the same because I'm referring to syringes, of course, but when I switched from 29 gauge needles to 31 the difference in how Xander reacted to the poke itself was night and day, so I think it's a great idea to try smaller lancets. :)
 
Back
Top