4/9 Minnie PMPS 337 0.5uR +1 332, +5.75 182 +8.5 112, +10 150

Split the difference with 0.75 u R? I am leaning to a lighter touch of R given mid cycle than at PS. Her cycle is naturally going up now before onset, so might need more R than later when Lev is taking her down.
 
Ugh, sorry I was not patient! I gave 4.75uL + 1uR, didn't even remember that you'd suggested 0.75uR the other day. Doh. At least it's easy to monitor with the Libre and it will give me more data to build a dosing scale. Lower R dose mid-cycle makes complete sense - start with 0.25u less than the PS dose?

So far I've got
4/10 PMPS / BG 388 / +4 BG rise 48
4/10 PM+7 / BG >500 / +4 BG drop 70
4/11 AMPS / BG 432 / +4 BG TBD

I realize I am posting my questions without enough advance warning to give you chance to reply...I'd hoped to bring shot earlier then fell asleep, then was in a hurry to give it to her. Scanned to see when you'd last posted and guessed you were not online!

Thank you!
 
Start with posting a +2, and +4. It's time to build more data points about what happens with R at preshot. It's an ideal time to give it - hopefully the R action stops the rise to onset, and maybe drops her a little bit giving the Lev a better number to work with. I also want to fine tune the R dose to the preshot at the time it's been given.

Remember that if Minnie is bouncing and on her way up, you can "get away" with more R than if it's a regular cycle. If she's breaking a bounce, you want to stay away from R. You want to have a rough idea what Minnie would be doing on the L alone, and layer the R action on top of that.
 
Start with posting a +2, and +4. It's time to build more data points about what happens with R at preshot. It's an ideal time to give it - hopefully the R action stops the rise to onset, and maybe drops her a little bit giving the Lev a better number to work with. I also want to fine tune the R dose to the preshot at the time it's been given.

Remember that if Minnie is bouncing and on her way up, you can "get away" with more R than if it's a regular cycle. If she's breaking a bounce, you want to stay away from R. You want to have a rough idea what Minnie would be doing on the L alone, and layer the R action on top of that.
This is great, thank you.

Dropped 60 after 2h, and things are looking a bit better. She came out of hiding by the front door (did try to sneak under the bed but I got her out of the bedroom), and just ate 3 oz of food. Probably helped that I banished Sam. His karaoke song is 'jealous guy'. Oh, and I got a ketone sample - 1.8! The best in a good while.

On the big plus side, I think we were getting close to the right insulin dose just before all this hospitalization kicked off so if/when we can get her well again we can get back to business.

I'm going to need help spotting when she's breaking a bounce please!
 
Great news on the ketones results, especially since she was so high last night.
I'm going to need help spotting when she's breaking a bounce please!
If you see a bounce happening, numbers high and wobbling around, then there a couple ways to spot a bounce breaking. If you see cycle where they are sliding down the entire cycle, like PM cycles of 4/01, 4/02 and 4/07 that's a sign of a breaking bounce. Then there are complications. Sometimes the cycle before the bounce break, a cat will do an unexpected rise, sort of a "high before the low". Another thing that's good to do is to try to spot how long it's taking Minnie to break a bounce, and just count that number of cycles past the last low.
 
If you see a bounce happening, numbers high and wobbling around, then there a couple ways to spot a bounce breaking. If you see cycle where they are sliding down the entire cycle, like PM cycles of 4/01, 4/02 and 4/07 that's a sign of a breaking bounce. Then there are complications. Sometimes the cycle before the bounce break, a cat will do an unexpected rise, sort of a "high before the low". Another thing that's good to do is to try to spot how long it's taking Minnie to break a bounce, and just count that number of cycles past the last low.
Thanks. Will take a few re-reads to digest and be able to recognize them myself (sleepy brain already). In the meantime I'd be grateful if/when anyone spots her breaking a bounce to point it out to me! (I will also continue to ask for help of course!)

How do you know the bounce was breaking on those days and it wasn't the R causing the drops? I am sure when you explain it will seem obvious :rolleyes:

Looks like 1uR at a PS >400 gave us the BG drop of 100 at +4! So on the dosing scale I can say BG>400 @PS = 1u?

I'm anticipating she probably needs another R dose mid-cycle - how much and when? (guessing 0.5uR but no idea when)

Thank yewwwwwwww
 
How do you know the bounce was breaking on those days and it wasn't the R causing the drops?
R action happens for about 4-5 hours, so you'd see numbers go down for that length of time, then possibly level off, or just see the Lev action by itself.
Looks like 1uR at a PS >400 gave us the BG drop of 100 at +4! So on the dosing scale I can say BG>400 @PS = 1u?
For the moment yes on R dosing, but I'd like more than one data point at PS to confirm. As for mid cycle, I'd check to see what she's doing at +6-+7, if she's dropping at a good clip on just the Lev, then wait until you see her flat or heading up.
 
R action happens for about 4-5 hours, so you'd see numbers go down for that length of time, then possibly level off, or just see the Lev action by itself.

For the moment yes on R dosing, but I'd like more than one data point at PS to confirm. As for mid cycle, I'd check to see what she's doing at +6-+7, if she's dropping at a good clip on just the Lev, then wait until you see her flat or heading up.
Heading back up at +6. Time for R? 0.5u or 0.75 or other?
 
Success on a couple of fronts, she has come out to sit with us. This is success #2, resulting from success #1 - her first #2 since coming home (I'd left an extra private tray for her out there). Big and stinky. So stinky, she drove herself out of her own hiding place.

The midcycle 0.75u gave a drop of 75 @+4. I am appreciating the ease of the Libre so much right now.

Noticed today she is sneezing while she is eating. Could this be something to do with the feeding tube? It's not when I'm using the tube, just her eating. Her appetite has been so good today I haven't needed to feed by tube anyway, now I think about it.
 
We're at 301 @+11. PMPS in 20-ish min (915). What R dose guidelines do you suggest?

I'd prefer not having to monitor through the night if possible, I am wiped after last night with little sleep - though obviously I will if I need to!
 
All good news on Minnie right now. You nailed it on the R today ... this morning just perfect. Get some sleep tonight. I'm about to go test Darcy one last time since I am awake... I worry he will do some surprise drop on me (even though he probably won't). He's had a great night so far in this cycle... we're half way through it... it's almost midnight her. Got to rest! Kisses to Minnie!
 
All good news on Minnie right now. You nailed it on the R today ... this morning just perfect. Get some sleep tonight. I'm about to go test Darcy one last time since I am awake... I worry he will do some surprise drop on me (even though he probably won't). He's had a great night so far in this cycle... we're half way through it... it's almost midnight her. Got to rest! Kisses to Minnie!
Thanks. April has been quite the month already for lots of our kitties. Good luck and sleep well. You have certainly earned it!
 
Back
Top