4/9/-Luci-AMPS235,2+118,3+66,4+35,4.5+40-5+65,6+65,6.5+58,7+67,8+79,9+85,10+102PMPS 205 2+217

Status
Not open for further replies.
Be good to your beans today!! :cat::cat:
And there she goes! I had a 'feeling' when I saw her 2+ at 118 - lower than it's been in DAYS! That she was headed for the lagoon...and now she's in...I'll be testing this girl hourly today - hope I can keep her away from the sharks!

On a more serious note, since Lantus is a long-acting insulin - why does Luci seem to respond so dramatically to dose increases? Is this from her depot? Does the extra tiny amount trigger something?

She sure acts like she's feeling her oats this morning - running and playing with her toy wine bottle (stuffed with cat nip)...wanted to play 'bite the hand under the blanket this morning'. She's a little comedian today!
 
Good catch and good job giving her some food at +3 to slow her down some. I don't think that the increase today had anything to do with this drop as it takes 4-6 cycles for the depot to fill. She was probably going to drop this cycle on the 1.5 dose anyway. She just decided to make it work on cycle 10.

I think the only thing I would have done differently would have been to give her some LC food at the +2 when I saw the big drop. Let's see how the rest of the cycle goes.
 
Good catch and good job giving her some food at +3 to slow her down some. I don't think that the increase today had anything to do with this drop as it takes 4-6 cycles for the depot to fill. She was probably going to drop this cycle on the 1.5 dose anyway. She just decided to make it work on cycle 10.

I think the only thing I would have done differently would have been to give her some LC food at the +2 when I saw the big drop. Let's see how the rest of the cycle goes.

Not so good...she's at 35 now. Fed her HC at 3+....will test again in 30 minutes.
 
Good catch and good job giving her some food at +3 to slow her down some. I don't think that the increase today had anything to do with this drop as it takes 4-6 cycles for the depot to fill. She was probably going to drop this cycle on the 1.5 dose anyway. She just decided to make it work on cycle 10.

I think the only thing I would have done differently would have been to give her some LC food at the +2 when I saw the big drop. Let's see how the rest of the cycle goes.
Of note, on 3/31 at 2+ I fed her MC FF and she kept right on plunging...this girl...:banghead::banghead::banghead:
 
Yes, I have plenty of syrups on hand - if you think it's time for that - she looks well just ate a tablespoon of HC FF - 21%.
Let's see what the HC does. Whenever they go under 40, I would go right to the HC instead of the MC especially this early in the cycle. Get a test in 20 minutes to see what that did.


ETA Glad you gave the HC.
 
Let's see what the HC does. Whenever they go under 40, I would go right to the HC instead of the MC especially this early in the cycle. Get a test in 20 minutes to see what that did.


ETA Glad you gave the HC.

I have always fed her HC FF whenever she dips below 50 - today when she was at 66 I fed her MC - hoping to slow things down - she ate it all up...but it did't slow her down a bit. She just cleaned her plate of the HC food - so she's got that gravy working in her tummy as we speak. I will be checking in about 10 mins (30 min from HC feeding)...will post immediately with results.
 
I have always fed her HC FF whenever she dips below 50 - today when she was at 66 I fed her MC - hoping to slow things down - she ate it all up...but it did't slow her down a bit. She just cleaned her plate of the HC food - so she's got that gravy working in her tummy as we speak. I will be checking in about 10 mins (30 min from HC feeding)...will post immediately with results.
Hope she is a good eater. You need to make sure she doesn't fill up in case you need to steer some more. A tsp or so of just gravy mixed in some LC food. The HC gravy brings them up fast and the LC hangs with them a bit longer.
 
I don't think that the increase today had anything to do with this drop as it takes 4-6 cycles for the depot to fill. She was probably going to drop this cycle on the 1.5 dose anyway. She just decided to make it work on cycle 10.
So.. with the 35, does that mean Sue has to go back to 1.5u and wait for Luci to work out the bounce.. or if you think it was the depot that had a part, then would it be safer to go to 1.25u??
 
Hope she is a good eater. You need to make sure she doesn't fill up in case you need to steer some more. A tsp or so of just gravy mixed in some LC food. The HC gravy brings them up fast and the LC hangs with them a bit longer.
She's at 40 now. Eating another tsp of HC mixed with LC. Luci never passes up a gravy meal...she may snub some of the LC food offerings...but has never snubbed gravy. She thinks she graduated to the delux banquet at this point...she's getting foods that aren't given routinely...and she's loving it...
 
So.. with the 35, does that mean Sue has to go back to 1.5u and wait for Luci to work out the bounce.. or if you think it was the depot that had a part, then would it be safer to go to 1.25u??
Good question. Today's increase would take 4-6 cycles for that depot to fill completely but perhaps a bit of the increase depot was just enough to put her over the edge. Or was she just going to hit the lagoon today anyway without this big of a splash? I am guessing here and hope that some one else will weigh in.

She is probably going to bounce so maybe take her back to 1.50 and let the bounce clear with monitoring her like Sue always does. And maybe giving the bounce time to clear and then start getting +1's to see if they will be more telling as to how she is dropping and give food accordingly. It seems like whenever she goes to swim with the sharks, she has huge drops at +2. Maybe the +1's will be helpful.

@Wendy&Neko or @Jill & Alex (GA) or @Sandy and Black Kitty .
 
She's at 65 now - just ate a bit of LC + MC mixed together. Hoping she'll continue to rise a bit - but not soar to high places...
I can certainly get some 1+'s but previously when I got those they were not telling. Check 2/26 - 3/2 - I'd just increased her dosage to 1.75 and she sat and sat...for days...she visited the lagoon briefly one night - but that dose just didn't seem to do much for her - I am here in the a.m. and can get some 1+'s for the record.

Hoping to get the PM dose sorted out with help from other experts today...

Thanks to all for being there to help us along :D:D:cat::cat:
 
She's still at 65 - tested 30 minutes after the 5+, but it's a different time of day - DH is going to test her as I have an appointment for the next 1.5-2 hours. He will not be posting - but I'll catch up as soon as I return (not far away)...fingers crossed she's had enough HC and MC food to keep her steady for a while; DH has instructions on feeding until I return.
 
So here we are and she's surfing along - should I go back to 1.5 tonight? Not excited about being up all night checking her every half hour - but I'm happy for any time she gets to spend in the healing lagoon. Thank you!
 
So here we are and she's surfing along - should I go back to 1.5 tonight? Not excited about being up all night checking her every half hour - but I'm happy for any time she gets to spend in the healing lagoon. Thank you!
I think you may want to go back to 1.5u, but you might have to monitor a little tonight.
 
Per TR you would reduce to 1.5 tonight. She’s had previous increases where she got to work right away when she wasn’t in a bounce and had a lower preshot like today. Maybe it’s just the kick in the pants she needed to work the 1.5 dose. No bouncing, Luci! :D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top