I've searched, but I'm not finding guidelines/directions/info for ketones and testing for ketones. I'm home testing bg, but I'm also reading that I should be testing for ketones. Thanks!
Hi Marielle
We recommend testing for ketones if your kitty is unregulated. Also if your kitty is unwell and not eating.
Ketones can form if there is not enough food and not enough insulin.
To test for ketones you need to buy a bottle of Ketostix from Walmart or a pharmacy. Follow the directions on the bottle for testing.
I would test a couple of times a week if the tests are showing no ketones. If there are any ketones test daily and report them to us even if there is a trace and to the vet if more than a trace.
I can see you have swapped to Lantus. Have you decided on a dosing method yet. I see you got BG 84@+5 today. If you are following SLGS, that means a reduction in dose as the BG went under 90. So your new dose would be 0.25 units.
Here is the link to TR and SLGS dosing methods
I would also recommend you get at least one test in every pm cycle as cats often drop lower at night.
Keep asking questions and if you could let me know if you are following TR or SLGS dosing methods please, that would be helpful.
Thank you for the information on ketones. Jude is eating and appears to be feeling well. When he was first diagnosed, he was no eating, was quite unwell, and had fruity breath. I'm not sure if he had ketones--the doctor did not mention this to me at the time. I'm only learning about it now.
Regarding the .25 unit dose, I'm not sure how to measure that on my syringe. I see the .50 line, but there is not .25 line.