4/9 Gracie PMPS 101 +2 42 +3 88 +4 111

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Yesterday

Recap:
AMPS: 116 2nd cycle 1u
+2: 145
+3: 103
+4: 123
+5: 183
+10: 309
PMPS: 311 3rd cycle 1u
+2: 320
+4: 327


Happy Caturday LL! We are still sending our condolences to those who have lost their beloved sugarbabies and healing vines to those who are ill. We hope the KTSS made Simon feel better last night.

Gracie is doing great this morning and breaking her bounce pretty quickly!! dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat She's running and diving through the crepe paper with Tobey this morning. Although she has eaten her first 3 breffis's, she isn't enamoured with the menu but looks like I'll have to change it anyway since she is coming down a little faster than I expected.

On another note: being a member of the newly formed "Glucometer Addicts Annonymous" (GAA), I purchased a Freestyle Lite meter and strips from ADW and got them yesterday. Last night when Gracie's PMPS was 311 on the One Touch Mini, it was 213 on the Freestyle. Whoa!! That is a HUGE difference and much larger than the 20%. What bothers me is that one would do different things based on those numbers. In other words, if Gracie had nadirs in the 200s with the Freestyle, following the protocol, I'd probably not increase a dose very quickly but if her nadirs were in the 300s, I would. I tested both meters on me and even at much lower numbers (below 100), there was a 10 "point" difference. That is within the 20% variation. Any thoughts? I don't know if my OT is reading high or if the FS is more reliable. I'm not that crazy about the way the FS draws blood.

It's cold and rainy here today. A good day to curl up on the sofa with a blanket, hot chocolate, and cats and catch up on my TIVOs.
For your amusement, Gracie would like to share a video Mike took of her last year before GA Max crossed (hence the dry food....he loved it. Hope you enjoy this classic Gracie video (in fact, we now keep all the food in glass containers and she shoved one into the sink trying to get it open the other day).

http://s1089.photobucket.com/albums/i346/spikeb62/?action=view&current=052.mp4
 
Re: 4/9 Gracie AMPS 308 +2 175 +3 90 NEW METER ??

I wouldn't get too comfy, looks like Gracie has plans for the day. What's the crepe paper for?

ADW looks like a great resource and the Freestyle Like seems to be popular. I've thought about it but I've got to admit I really like the price of the Maxima strips. I liked using the Infinity meter, it had a lot of nice features, I just didn't like the results. I was getting differences like you are seeing here. I think though, as long as you use one meter consistently you are OK. Me? I picked the one that read lower! :lol:
 
Re: 4/9 Gracie AMPS 308 +2 175 +3 90 NEW METER ??

Quite the dive, there Miss Gracie!!!

I absolutely love the video... Gracie is just such a cutie. The meter thing is interesting... Technically, they are within the 20%, just barely (low end of OT range, high end of FS range), but I too would be concerned. Rather than go with a snapshot in time, I'd suggest getting several readings with both to compare. Please let me know when the next GAA meeting is... I'm still using my advocate, but just bought backup strips for the FS, and have had to close the browser three times now, stopping myself from buying the Arkray strips on ADW to see if they will work in my Relion meter! I'm outta control!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

ETA: I would especially be interested in seeing the difference between the OT and the FS in the lower ranges.

ETA (last time!): Making crockpot black beans today!! I'm an experimenter, so I used homemade veggie stock instead of water, and threw in a can of diced tomatoes. I'm nervous, because my little baby crockpot is totally full. I used to have a nice large digital one, but it turns out, you can't just put the crock on the stove to reheat whatever is in it. ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 4/9 Gracie AMPS 308 +2 175 +3 90 NEW METER ??

Looks like Gracie means business today. nice Dive Gracie! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: You been reading Mannie's manual on the key to success dives? :lol: :razz:

On the meter - I think Beth wrote in one of her condos that she experienced the same thing with the freestyle lite. It apparently does read lower. The variance though - well it is what I went through, and Ann, with the Infinity. Nice meter and all, loved the features, but it was always 20% higher than my other meter. It ditched it, as I just could not stand seeing Mannie posting reds and blacks with a meter that would over inflate what my other meters were reading. bye bye infinity. I know what you mean on making dosing decisions - it was the same for me. I think one just has to pick the meter that they like, and stick with it, know how it reads, and go from there. If you use one meter consistently then you should be OK. It is difficult when we make a change - It was for me and the Infinity.

GAA - :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :cool:

LOVED the video - very cute, very Gracie. What a character!

Gracie - what's up today? do those pool dudes need supervising? Do we need to some and keep them in line, make sure they do it right? we need to chillax someplace.... I here Tess has SUN! Willie too! See you? ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 4/9 Gracie AMPS 308 +2 175 +3 90 +3.5 43 +4 65 DOSE ???

Question for the dosing wise ones: Jill said we will never know if Gracie can hold a reduction when she goes below 50 one time without trying it so we tried it and not only did she hold it, but we started the fourth cycle on the 1u and she's already dropped below 50. Should I reduce tonight to sk1u or should I worry about her coming down the dosing ladder too fast?
 
Re: 4/9 Gracie AMPS 308 +2 175 +3 90 +3.5 43 +4 65 DOSE ???

Whooo Gracie, you're diving like a champ! Happy Caturday guy's! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/9 Gracie AMPS 308 +2 175 +3 90 +3.5 43 +4 65 DOSE ???

Hi, I am not one of the wise ones.. but of course I will offer my opinion & I also know it will not help you.. because there is no right or wrong answer.. impossible to predict what will happen.. you either take it & it results in a failed reduction or you don't take it. I do know that they do not reccommend taking 2 reductions in one day, so technically Gracie is good to go on a reduction for pm.. it is totally up to you. There are not many yes(s) or no(s) just *sometimes* predictable patterns.. which is why it is sooooooo frusturating!
Good luck with whatever meter you decide to use.. always exciting testing this one & that for some.. I personally don't understand or have that desire :lol: I just stick with one or I would end up more confused than I already appear to be. Congrats on a beautiful cycle & thank you for sharing the video.. super cute!
 
Re: 4/9 Gracie AMPS 308 +2 175 +3 90 +3.5 43 +4 65 DOSE ???

WHERE did my morning go??

Ann: oh....we have crepe paper on the floor of a guest room because Gracie and Tobey LOVE to play in it. We discovered it at Christmas when we were unwrapping gifts so we just put a bunch of it down in there and they have a blast. Yes...I'd love to pick the FS but on the other hand, the Contour I have read about 20% over the OT so it seems that the OT is in the middle!!

Christie: yum on the beans!! You sound like Mike; he's always dumping stuff into the food to experiment. I'm a purist :lol: :lol: :lol: although I like my food spicy. On the meters, you're right. I was just looking at 20% less than 311 which was 248. But 20% higher than 213 is 255 so there is overlap. But still....big difference. I'll check the FS at Gracie's numbers today and see what I get.

Michelle: yup...don't know where that diving came from EXCEPT she was being picky about her food so I might not have gotten enough food in her as early as I normally do; when I gave her something else, she ate really well but by then, she was falling. But I'm so happy to see her holding this reduction. Glad you liked the video...might do one every Sat. I have some funny ones of her and of Tobey.

Maria: oh yeah...my crazy little girl. Life is full of surprises but gosh I adore her!

Here's my question repeated for dosing suggestions:
Question for the dosing wise ones: Jill said we will never know if Gracie can hold a reduction when she goes below 50 one time without trying it so we tried it and not only did she hold it, but we started the fourth cycle on the 1u and she's already dropped below 50. Should I reduce tonight to sk1u or should I worry about her coming down the dosing ladder too fast? ETA: After I got the 90 at +3, I gave her 6% food plus 2 tsp 13% gravy AND a drop of karo and she still fell to 43 in 30 mins. And I did retest that to be sure.
 
Re: 4/9 Gracie AMPS 308 +2 175 +3 90 +3.5 43 +4 65 +6 63 DOS

On another note: being a member of the newly formed "Glucometer Addicts Annonymous" (GAA), I purchased a Freestyle Lite meter and strips from ADW and got them yesterday. Last night when Gracie's PMPS was 311 on the One Touch Mini, it was 213 on the Freestyle. Whoa!! That is a HUGE difference and much larger than the 20%

Oh no, :lol: I can see I have been a bad influence here with my meters history. While I am away at a meters intervention meeting, I come back and find another Bean addicted. :lol: I am seven days meter sober!!!
Okay, on the serious side, that is a big difference in meters, I never had that large a difference on the Relion and ATrak. A lot of Beans love the Freestyle. Are you thinking of ditching the One touch Mini? I just love the Gracie video? She is so adorable.
 
Re: 4/9 Gracie AMPS 308 +2 175 +3 90 +3.5 43 +4 65 +6 63 DOS

No...I won't ditch my One Touch Mini. It's reading right in between the FS and the Contour and I've been using it a long time. In fact, I hate to admit this because you'll probably do an intervention here with me but I have TWO OT Minis....after I scorched my first one in the microwave, I decided I better have two that I can count on to read the same number :lol: :lol: And they do...very reliably within 2 or 3 of each other consistently. I can see why people like the FS...it is small and quick but I also like my OT. I just thought the FS would be closer to the OT.
 
Re: 4/9 Gracie AMPS 308 +2 175 +3 90 +3.5 43 +4 65 +7 48 DOS

I've been checking her on the hour and she's been surfing in the mid 60s since +4 but dropped at +7. I fed her some 6%/13% gravy to see if she'll come back up and surf again. Sk1u looking better by the hour for tonight but still would appreciate thoughts.
 
Re: 4/9 Gracie AMPS 308 +2 175 +3 90 +3.5 43 +4 65 +7 48 DOS

FWIW, IMHO: Personally I agree with Nicole. I would also hold this dose, or you are going to be back in the boat of dose reductions too close together. If it were me, and this were Mannie (granted these two are very different) I would go for the three less than 50 before reducing, make sure he has earned it. Good luck with whatever you decide - hopefully one of the guru's will be along soon.


yep on the videos - I would like to do some of Mannie.... little butthead decides though that he will sit still, rather than perform. :roll:
 
Re: 4/9 Gracie AMPS 308 +2 175 +3 90 NEW METER ??

Michelle and Mannie said:
On the meter - I think Beth wrote in one of her condos that she experienced the same thing with the freestyle lite. It apparently does read lower. The variance though - well it is what I went through, and Ann, with the Infinity. Nice meter and all, loved the features, but it was always 20% higher than my other meter. It ditched it, as I just could not stand seeing Mannie posting reds and blacks with a meter that would over inflate what my other meters were reading. bye bye infinity. I know what you mean on making dosing decisions - it was the same for me. I think one just has to pick the meter that they like, and stick with it, know how it reads, and go from there. If you use one meter consistently then you should be OK. It is difficult when we make a change - It was for me and the Infinity.


I look at this way with now knowing that the FreeStyle Lite reads lower vs. Relion or even against the Alpha and Fructosimine test Attie had....that 46 I shot the other morning was likely a bit higher and safer to shoot than normally perceived.

I had at the vet 258
Vet alpha 358

Fructosimine 520 = 330BG :?:

I asked here the day I got the results, but no one answered other than to say they didn't really know.

Part of me is inclined to call Abbott and complain as I ran right out and bought a new meter...in case my old one had fritzed ...only to find the reading similar. My old relion reads higher, but within the 20% variance.

I'm still inclined to discuss the matter with Abbott.
 
Re: 4/9 Gracie AMPS 308 +2 175 +3 90 +3.5 43 +4 65 +7 48 DOS

Beth: Interesting on the meter; while I like the lower high numbers, I also think it's better to be conservative.

Nicole: we must have cross posted and I just saw yours when Michelle referred to it. I appreciate your input. I don't think I will change meters; I just wanted a backup different than the Contour which I'm not that crazy about.

Michelle: Thank you...I don't know what I will do. Jill said I could try to give her reductions when she earns them instead of doing three times below 50. And she was just starting to kick in on sk1u when I raised her too quickly. I don't want to give her reductions too fast that's for sure but if she wanted to be at .5u and I took her up when I shouldn't have...maybe she's just trying to get back down there.

I certainly appreciate you both checking in with your thoughts. Because the last time she was on 1u (two weeks ago), she threw me a 29 out of nowhere so I'm so undecided.

Dunno....Jill, Libby, Sienne, Laurie????? :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 4/9 Gracie AMPS 308 +2 175 +3 90 +3.5 43 +4 65 +7 48 DOS

oh I understand - good luck. Study your SS and go with what your instincts tell you. You know her better than anybody. :-D :-D :cool:
 
Re: 4/9 Gracie AMPS 308 +2 175 +3 90 +3.5 43 +4 65 +7 48 DOS

My inclination is that you had given enough carbs to bring Gracie up and she still dropped to a 43. I'd shave the dose.

As for meters, I did a ton of research before I bought my Contour. I now have 3 of them!! Have you seen this Consumer Reports rating?
 
Re: 4/9 Gracie AMPS 308 +2 175 +3 90 +3.5 43 +4 65 +7 48 +8

Sienne: Thank you so much. Given that I have carbed her at +7 AND +8 and she still wants to be in the 40s, I think you are right. And it has been 4 cycles...not like it's b2b. Thanks for the consumer info stuff...am going to read now.

eta: just read the Consumer Report. I'm sticking with my OT Ultra Mini since it got the highest scores and I do like it. WOW...and the Contour was right behind it so think I'll return the FS Lite and just buy new strips for my Contour as my backup. Thank you Sienne!!! As always, you are an amazing wealth of knowledge.
 
Re: 4/9 Gracie AMPS 308 +2 175 +3 90 +3.5 43 +4 65 +7 48 +8

Actually, I think it was Ronnie who first had the link to the CR ratings. There's a site for juvenile diabetes that I came across early on that also discussed meters. I figured that kids and cats probably had similar issues -- want a meter that uses a small amount of blood, doesn't take forever to give you a reading, is accurate, etc. and they gave the Contour, along with a couple of other meters, high marks.
 
Re: 4/9 Gracie AMPS 308 +2 175 +3 90 +3.5 43 +4 65 +8 49 +9.

Wow, look at Gracie.....woohoo!!! :-D
Marjorie, I am dying to see your baby girl in action. I have to click on the link and wait an hour or so, for it to load.
Oh yeah, I love dialup. :lol:

I drove ten miles to my DD's house, the other day, just to see Bink's OTJ party. :roll: Had to see Mocha's over there too.
 
Re: 4/9 Gracie PMPS 101

Took the dose reduction to sk1u tonight....just a shave. Gracie spent most of the afternoon between mid 60s and 40s. At +10 she was 63 and I've had her drop 20 on me in those two hours so I fed her a little to bump her up. She was 103 at +11. I'd love to try again and see if she could surf through those two hours between +10 and PMPS but when I've tried, I get a really low PS number so.....at least now I'm not shooting a dropping number with a kitty who will not get a food spike when she is dropping. And that keeps me from having to carb her dramatically from the get go. So now we'll see if she can continue a nice cycle tonight. Go Baby girl go!!!

Trying to catch up on several things I've been procrastinating on....will check in from time to time. Have an awesome evening.
 
Re: 4/9 Gracie PMPS 101 +1.5 50

Marjorie and Gracie said:
:shock: A little early on the onset there Gracie!

Looking good Gracie! Other than some NDW, she's doing really well. I hope it continues, and at some point, you can sleep through the night! It doesn't look like tonight!

Jason
 
Re: 4/9 Gracie PMPS 101 +2 42

Hey Jason: sleep through the night? :lol: :lol: :lol: We're in a pcpcpcpcpc mode...PJ Party for sure.
 
Re: 4/9 Gracie PMPS 101 +2 42

I think Garcie's middle name is pcpcpcpcpcpcpcpcpcpcpcpcpcpcpcpcpcpcpcpcpcpcpcpcpcpc..... all. night. long. there would not be enough coffee for me. WOW - a little shed action maybe? I do hope she levels out soon.

Gracie - rgab your stuff! I am on my way top picks you up - we are going for a midnight fountain splash at Willie's - in KC! SWEET! They had fuds places nearby that we can crash, and a PARK ! Willie says we can play kitty croquet! See you soon! and Bring Tobey! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 4/9 Gracie PMPS 101 +2 42 +3 88

Michelle: yes it's been a long day and now I'm thinking I might should have taken her down to .75u instead of just shaving her dose. We'll see....guess I should have gotten that nap today!
 
Re: 4/9 Gracie PMPS 101 +2 42 +3 88

Wow! BTB cycles! Much better +3 there! This could be residual shed action from the last dose too. I think you need to give the shave a chance.

I did get a nap this afternoon, and right now I'm not sure it did that much good. :roll:

Gracie, you coming to KC? Kitty croquet in the park! Woot! -- Tess
 
I think I overcarbed trying to get up from that 42 before real onset. Headed for bed...will check at +6. Night night All.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top