4/9 Faith ambg 43

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vegetable (GA)

Member Since 2015
Saturdays Condo
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-7-faith-pmps-133-3-198.193819/#post-2167153

This morning i get up to give Faith her insulin & she surprised me with a 43! I thought my eues were playing tricks on me so i retested & i got 44. The high carb food came out & Faith gladly gobbled that up.

Just rechecked her 15 minutes after her first test & she is up to 59. I gave her a teaspoon of her regular low carb food for now since shes starving to death. Next recheck in 15 minutes.

I will be skipping her shot this morning since i can't be home to monitor her today.
 
So far this morning Faith has been 43, 59 & now 94. I fed her a teaspoon of high carb food when i discovered the hypo then she was still starving so i gave her a teaspoon of her regular low carb food.

She is now content & sleeping on her chair like nothing ever happened.
 
Since Faith is recently DKA, skipping insulin is not a great idea. Next time she gives you a low preshot (she will, she's a cat!), try stalling 15-20 minutes without feeding and test again. It's possible she would have come up on her own to a safe number to shoot, or at least let you get some insulin in her if not the full dose.
 
Since Faith is recently DKA, skipping insulin is not a great idea. Next time she gives you a low preshot (she will, she's a cat!), try stalling 15-20 minutes without feeding and test again. It's possible she would have come up on her own to a safe number to shoot, or at least let you get some insulin in her if not the full dose.

I know she needs insulin but i wasn't home to monitor today, i had to work so i thought it would be safer to skip.

I klnow its not ideal but not much choice especially when I don't know allot about how she reacts when she is low.

When i checked her just before i had to leave the house she was still not high enough to give insulin then be gone all day. Tonight i took the skipped am shot as an opportunity to move her dose to a new time that will work for my schedule better.

Tomorrow is a new day & hopefully a better day for both of us.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top