? 4/9 Elizabeth AMPS 110 , +8 145, PMPS 109

Status
Not open for further replies.
If she were mine, I'd keep giving her the drop until she goes under 68AT.

I'd like to see more green numbers instead of almost all blue, personally.
 
I thought with AlphaTrak many of the numbers would be green that are showing as blue? Is that not correct? Just curious....
 
Human meters read lower than pet meters. See my signature link Glucometer Notes for feline reference ranges.
 
Human meters read lower than pet meters. See my signature link Glucometer Notes for feline reference ranges.

From Glucometer Notes:
50 - 130 mg/dL (2.8 - 7.2 mmol/L) {71-83 to 186-217 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- On insulin - great control when following a tight regulation protocol.
- Off insulin - normal numbers. (May even go as low as the upper 30s (1.7 mmol/L){60s for an AlphaTrak}; if not on insulin, this can be safe.

From the TR Protocol Sticky:
Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.


I assume one doesn't always reduce the dose after seven days if they are at the lowest dose possible and it would mean no insulin? I am confused because I Liz has low numbers which I thought would be green if they were colored correctly for AlphaTrak?

Are there differing opinions on whether I should try a trial, or do all y'all think Liz should remain on her one drop dose?

Thank you!!
 
Liz just at +8 145, so I guess I shouldn't be considering an OTJ trial after all?
 
Take a look at page 4 of the actual protocol that came out of the Rand/Roomp study:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/Roomp_Rand_2008 dosing_testing protocol.pdf

When the cat regularly (every day for at least one week), has its lowest blood glucose concentration in the normal range of a healthy cat, and stays under 130 mg/dL (7.2 mmol/L) overall Reduce dose by 0.25-0.5 IU depending on if cat on low or high dose of insulin

That part is referring to AT numbers, so they are giving the upper boundary of normal numbers as 130.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top