4/9 Darcy PMPS 182, + 2 141, +3 100, +4 103, +4.5 105, +5 107

Testing every 15 minutes... I know some people say wait until 20... but I can't wait.
Couple more minutes now until next test.
 
He's at 73, so I definitely think he's flattened out. These greens (even a little lower than day before yesterday) are new for me. I didn't he's only just a little past +4 so I don't want him going any lower. Funny thing is that he doesn't really jump up from the HC FF gravy lovers... he's just flattened out.
 
He's at 73, so I definitely think he's flattened out. These greens (even a little lower than day before yesterday) are new for me. I didn't he's only just a little past +4 so I don't want him going any lower. Funny thing is that he doesn't really jump up from the HC FF gravy lovers... he's just flattened out.
Ohh Suzanne, these are very nice green numbers :woot: they are still not dangerously low, so just enjoy them :):)

He might not be having spikes from the HC food because maybe he would still be on a downward trend if no intervention or he might just be less sensitive to carbs. Do you have previous history of his reaction to HC food?

Yu are doing a great job monitoring and helping him surf :bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks, Elise. Were Max and Tiffany litter mates? What color was Tiffany? When did she pass away?
They weren’t litter mates but I brought them home from a pet adoption together. Tiffany was about 5-6 months and Max 2 1/2 or 3 months. Tiffany was my healthy cat until she wasn’t. She got intermediate cell lymphoma when 10 and I lost her to CKD at 12. That was due to the incompetence of the oncologist who missed a UTI and destroyed her kidneys. She was a tortie, full of personality but no tortietude!
 
They weren’t litter mates but I brought them home from a pet adoption together. Tiffany was about 5-6 months and Max 2 1/2 or 3 months. Tiffany was my healthy cat until she wasn’t. She got intermediate cell lymphoma when 10 and I lost her to CKD at 12. That was due to the incompetence of the oncologist who missed a UTI and destroyed her kidneys. She was a tortie, full of personality but no tortietude!
Oh, that's so sad about the CKD. I was just explaining to my daughter last night how a urinary tract infection untreated can travel up to the kidneys and do severe damage. I have never heard of intermediate cell lymphoma (only small and large cell is what I have read about... have had a cat with small cell, too.) I love torties... they are so beautiful. I have a pretty calico here and she is very sweet, but can have a feisty personality at times (she does NOT want to be bossed around, and she will get vocal... but she never holds a grudge after she gets mad at us!)
 
Torties are great. She was my soul kitty but then Max was too. Tiffany was easy to handle and so playful. She played fetch better than any of our dogs ever did.
Feeling better about the bg now?
 
Torties are great. She was my soul kitty but then Max was too. Tiffany was easy to handle and so playful. She played fetch better than any of our dogs ever did.
Feeling better about the bg now?

What a special kitty!

I am feeling like I can finally go take a shower now! I didn't want to before. Like I said, it's a good thing I didn't have to do anything or go anywhere today. He got up to 110 at +6... I wonder if that is still from the few teaspoons of HC food and how long that could last. I guess I'm wondering if he will keep going up this afternoon or may drift back down again (I haven't fed him any more food).
 
She was a tortie, full of personality but no tortietude!

Now Tiffany was a special kitty!! I'm so sorry about the oncologist she experienced. It hurts so much when doctors fail us. Thankfully some save us and our babies too.
Many years ago, I had such a cat. That was before I knew about the tortitude which I have only seen in my calicos!


I love torties... they are so beautiful. I have a pretty calico here and she is very sweet, but can have a feisty personality at times (she does NOT want to be bossed around, and she will get vocal... but she never holds a grudge after she gets mad at us!)
I also have a little long hair calico with CH (wobbly). She is the 7 lb. boss of the house, including of my 45 lb dog! She is lovely sweet, until I do something wrong (90 percent of the time, I don't know what I did). She also pre-hisses as a warning to others that she is wobbly bouncing through! Sweet part, she kisses my face and likes to sleep curled around my neck. She does not like her sister.

Suzanne, I'm in awe of the amount of insulin Darcy is getting. Just wow. I'm so glad you love Darcy. (I am currently at 15u Lantus daily with some fast acting along the way. I know Darcy and I are quite different, BUT . . . I just thank God (and Banting and Best) we have insulin!)
I hope the Cabergoline will help keep your boy stable:)
 
Now Tiffany was a special kitty!! I'm so sorry about the oncologist she experienced. It hurts so much when doctors fail us. Thankfully some save us and our babies too.
Many years ago, I had such a cat. That was before I knew about the tortitude which I have only seen in my calicos!

I also have a little long hair calico with CH (wobbly). She is the 7 lb. boss of the house, including of my 45 lb dog! She is lovely sweet, until I do something wrong (90 percent of the time, I don't know what I did). She also pre-hisses as a warning to others that she is wobbly bouncing through! Sweet part, she kisses my face and likes to sleep curled around my neck. She does not like her sister.

Suzanne, I'm in awe of the amount of insulin Darcy is getting. Just wow. I'm so glad you love Darcy. (I am currently at 15u Lantus daily with some fast acting along the way. I know Darcy and I are quite different, BUT . . . I just thank God (and Banting and Best) we have insulin!)
I hope the Cabergoline will help keep your boy stable:)

Some of the other acros on the board get even more insulin (like Howie.) I would like to see how much Levemir that Darcy really needs, but I can't afford to pay for any more! So I'm using R to help. He does seem to be getting a little more "responsive" to insulin lately... I hope it's the Cabergoline helping him (anti-jinx as folks around here like to say).

My Calico, Ginger, does that pre-hissing thing too... but usually when she thinks were are going to do something like step on her tail. That's funny about your cat ... maybe she's saying, "Here I come. Watch out!" Ginger sleeps on my pillow most nights, or on my chest.
 
:D:D:D Nice to hear Darcy was feeling good in green. :) I think you just might be seeing some help from the cabergoline.

You might want to keep track of amount, % and timing of extra carbs given on Darcy's spreadsheet. That's one of the things I put on the Remarks column. I used that to figure out how carb sensitive Neko was, what worked/what didn't and what I needed to feed next time she was lower than I was used to. As Elise mentioned, testing sooner the 20 minutes doesn't give the carbs time to go from the plate to the blood stream. Some cats take 20 minutes, some 30 - yet another thing to learn about Darcy.

The R dose was too high at AMPS today. But night be OK tonight as there's a good chance you might see some bouncing. It'll be good to keep track of how long he bounces for and try to figure out when he'll be breaking a bounce, so you can be more conservative with the R at that point.
 
:D:D:D Nice to hear Darcy was feeling good in green. :) I think you just might be seeing some help from the cabergoline.

You might want to keep track of amount, % and timing of extra carbs given on Darcy's spreadsheet. That's one of the things I put on the Remarks column. I used that to figure out how carb sensitive Neko was, what worked/what didn't and what I needed to feed next time she was lower than I was used to. As Elise mentioned, testing sooner the 20 minutes doesn't give the carbs time to go from the plate to the blood stream. Some cats take 20 minutes, some 30 - yet another thing to learn about Darcy.

The R dose was too high at AMPS today. But night be OK tonight as there's a good chance you might see some bouncing. It'll be good to keep track of how long he bounces for and try to figure out when he'll be breaking a bounce, so you can be more conservative with the R at that point.
My remarks column has disappeared. I have no idea where it went, but all my notes in there are gone/no longer visible.
 
Yes on too much R this morning. I cut back by 1/2 a unit from yesterday, because he was a little lower with this AMPS today... but it wasn't enough. When I reduce next time I will probably do it in whole units and not halves.
 
:D:D:D

The R dose was too high at AMPS today. But night be OK tonight as there's a good chance you might see some bouncing. It'll be good to keep track of how long he bounces for and try to figure out when he'll be breaking a bounce, so you can be more conservative with the R at that point.

When do you think I will see this bounce? Tonight? Right now he's just drifting up slowly through the nice blues toward the end of the cycle.
 
My remarks column has disappeared. I have no idea where it went, but all my notes in there are gone/no longer visible.
If you just hid the column (I hope), you should see on the very top row by the column labels, a small arrow on the column before the one you hid. Clicking on the arrow with restore the column.
When do you think I will see this bounce? Tonight? Right now he's just drifting up slowly through the nice blues toward the end of the cycle.
Probably tonight, but ECID. Neko's liked to be different, and her worst bounce numbers were the third cycle after the low.
 
If you just hid the column (I hope), you should see on the very top row by the column labels, a small arrow on the column before the one you hid. Clicking on the arrow with restore the column.

Well... that did not work so I must've done something worse to the SS :-( BUT, I was able to restore it back to a previous version from yesterday. So I only had to re-input today's numbers for the most part .... whew! I didn't even know it was possible to restore previous versions of one's spreadsheet, but it is! I'm very glad. I noted down what I fed him and when today and what his numbers were each time.
 
WOW what a beautiful day you have had with Mr Darcy. Looks like he's liking the Levemir!

I share your anxiety on the dropping numbers especially when you've been used to months of pinks and reds. When I picked up Min yesterday and it was 164 I felt like I was getting palpitations on the drive home, had to keep telling myself there was no way she would go neon in 45 minutes but it doesn't stop you worrying! What excellent work you're doing. :bighug:

I would love to see a photo of all your kitties. And once you've wrangled them together, perhaps you can pose them like the posters for Downton Abbey...since I'm sure you have time on your hands. How's the little one doing?
 
WOW what a beautiful day you have had with Mr Darcy. Looks like he's liking the Levemir!

I share your anxiety on the dropping numbers especially when you've been used to months of pinks and reds. When I picked up Min yesterday and it was 164 I felt like I was getting palpitations on the drive home, had to keep telling myself there was no way she would go neon in 45 minutes but it doesn't stop you worrying! What excellent work you're doing. :bighug:

I would love to see a photo of all your kitties. And once you've wrangled them together, perhaps you can pose them like the posters for Downton Abbey...since I'm sure you have time on your hands. How's the little one doing?
Too funny! I was just watching Downtown Abby with my kids. They never saw it before. They’re enjoying it now! Oh, the little Tinkerbelle is doing so much better now. She’s healing and is no longer weeping pink tinged fluid from her wounds. And she’s starting to climb and play. She’s such a loving kitty, too. She really likes people!
 
Back
Top