4/9 Cobb PMPS 345 - test results back

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

A nice blue-tiful morning. Can he surf? Looks like he surfed nicely overnight. No huge swing in numbers, but he did ask for food a few times.

He did a great job yesterday. Even dipping his little paw into the lagoon. It was a nice steady slide from that yucky pink!

Hope your Wednesday is off to a great start. My mobile child is slipping and sliding, and definitely just fell. :cry: I think the bumps and bruises are harder on me than him, although he was screaming too, but it's naptime so his cries may have been a bit more dramatic than they needed to be. :roll:
 
Re: 4/9 Cobb AMPS 140

UGH!!! Sorry about the multiple posts!! I'm having issues with the site and my phone. I'm trying to delete the extraneous ones!!
 
Re: 4/9 Cobb AMPS 140 - sorry for the extra posts!!

Yeah for blue!

Cobb really seems to have gotten to a good dose for him! About time!!

Keep up the good work!

(and you're not the only one with multiple posts today....something's gone crazy with the message board. You can go back and delete extras if they haven't been commented on, but even then, they're still showing up but if you go to "Open" ones that have been deleted, there's nothing there)
 
Well, we have the test results back.

Cobb has IAA (60%) and based on her physical exam, she believes he is also has acro. Booooo...

But...at least we can rest easy now knowing what we know.

So what now?

We discussed switching Cobb to Lev after I go through the Lantus that I have. Probably a few months from now. She also said one thing that might bring numbers down a bit is giving him canned pumpkin, and if that does work, benefiber. She aays the fiber will slow the absorption of the carbs he is eating. She was happy with the choice of Friskies SD.
 
Now you have an answer...and I'm sure folks with the experience with IAA and acro will be of great help.

Have a great night, guys!
 
Suzanne. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

It's always hard to get this diagnosis. I'm a bit surprised his IAA is so high because he's a lot less bouncy than Neko who is IAA 52%. If Cobb is acro, then the number doesn't really matter so no big deal having that test result. The folks at CSU told me that the number has nothing to do with the size of the tumor.

Going forward - you'll do a lot of what you are doing already. You are doing a great job with his dose, you want to keep the BG under renal threshold as much as possible and you've been doing a super job with R. Wish I'd done that. :YMSIGH: The CSU vets also told me that managing the dose is the most important thing you can do. The other thing you want to do is monitor for possible acro effects. The heart is the main concern. When you have time/money, you could get a test for that. Sienne recently posted about a new blood test for cardiomyopathy. Until I heard about that, I would have recommended an echocardiogram, but that is more expensive. A cat can have cardiomyopathy with no external signs, but it can be treated with medication. I lost a Maine Coon to cardiomyopathy a few years ago. Melissa's Tarragon had that diagnosis a couple years ago and is now on meds for it.

I haven't heard the pumpkin/fibre thing for slowing absorption of carbs. Neko now gets a bit of babyfood squash with her main meals, but that's because she is now on buprenorphine daily and the squash counteracts the constipating effects of the narcotic. Neko has signs of the type of spinal stenosis (arthritis) that acro's can get so she's on cartrophen (US is Adequan) and bupe for pain. I haven't noticed any difference in her numbers since I added the squash to her diet.

I'm sure you have a million questions - ask away. :YMHUG:
 
Ok. So my main question is...I know you can break through the antibodies, which can ultimately then lower the insulin dose that is needed, correct? I know I need to be aggressive with dosing to do that.

Yesterday, Cobb had great numbers, even saw some green. Tonight he's up at 345. How much attention do I pay to the bouncing? Do I still give it time to clear? Or increase through the bounce in hopes of killing the antibodies off? How do I know if the higher numbers are due to bouncing versus the antibodies? I gave the vet his numbers from yesterday and mentioned the bounce from 85, and she disagreed that the liver kicked in at that number. Perhaps she wasn't taking glucose toxicity into account? Don't know.

I'm sure I have more questions. Just processing everything right now. Rocking the baby to sleep.
 
boo on the iaa - i'm a little surprised because he seems to be able to stay longer at a dose than i would've expected with the iaa. perhaps it's helping that you're keeping him in good numbers.

for now, you just keep on doing what you're doing - and you're doing well with it, so be encouraged. he's your same sweet cobb and he doesn't know anything about his tests, just that you're his bean and you love him.

as time goes on you'll want to watch for other symptoms and give pain relievers when needed. i agree with wendy on checking on his heart, although punkin's heart never was affected by the acro.

big hug from me!

cats-hugging.jpg
 
Hi Suzanne,
It's good that you know now. And you will have lots of support here from very knowledgeable beans. You are doing such a super job with Cobb already.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: s and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Yes, now you know and you've got great help here on what to look for. Cobb sure has an awesome bean. :-D :-D Your nonfuzzy guy is having quite the time, I'm glad you can have a sense of humor about it. :-D :lol:
Liz
 
I'm not sure what the general "rules" are for an IAA/acro combo - I can only tell you what I've seen with Neko. The more she sees green, the less she bounces. I try to find a dose that gets her nadir in the 70's, you'll have to experiment for what works for you. The 70's gives me a bit of breathing room but means she's still getting some green time. I think that switching to Lev might help. I find Neko much flatter on Lev - of course it's ECID as not all cats go flatter. But Lev is much easier on me if Neko is green, although Cobb hasn't shown himself as to be much of a diver on Lantus as Neko was. I called her the Rainbow Queen for a while. :roll:

For bouncing, I'd keep doing what you are doing with R. If you see green like you just did, give him a chance to see if he comes back to it. If not, then up he goes. At one point last year Neko was on the same dose for 2 months, cause she kept on getting back to nadirs I wanted.
 
Suzanne, I'm so sorry I can't help you with the IAA and acro. I just wanted to send lots of vines to both you and Cobb. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Shelly
 
oh, and i agree with switching to Lev when you are done with the Lantus. which, i believe, you have quite the stock of now! :lol:

lev's longer duration can help. i would've tried it with punkin if he were still alive.
 
The vet suggested a PZI insulin. We were on Prozinc, but I like my LL family too much! Plus, I think Cobb is responding well to the Lantus and I like how there's a published protocol for it.
 
this is the perry/sooty vet? why in the world would she suggest PZI? we know the longer the insulin lasts in a cat's body the more the blood sugar can stay flat. The L & L insulins work with the only published protocol.

have you read the newest version of the protocol? it's pretty interesting - there are a few changes from the earlier versions. it's in the pdf on the TR sticky, about 5 "paragraphs" down from the top. you have to download the pdf to read it.

besides, you're not allowed to leave here. i like you too much. :-D
 
A diagnosis is always hard... but you are doing a wonderful job with him. He is feeling good and his numbers have improved greatly.
 
A diagnosis is always hard... but you are doing a wonderful job with him. He is feeling good and his numbers have improved greatly.
 
A diagnosis is always hard... but you are doing a wonderful job with him. He is feeling good and his numbers have improved greatly.
 
Good to hear that at least you have the diagnosis. Boo on the IAA, but kind of comforting to at least have that one big question out of the way too!

You're doing so wonderfully with Cobb as it is, and have come such a long way from your first few weeks here!

You are expressly forbidden to leave the LL family!! We have ways to make sure you stay too (Think horse head on your pillow :lol: )

I don't have any experience with IAA, but from what I've learned here, you're doing what you need to be doing anyway, and are doing a MARVELOUS job at it!

Come on back to those pretty blue numbers Cobb....you've never looked good in pink!
 
Thanks for all the visits! Cobb and I appreciate them!

Julie, the explanation on the PZI was it is a bovine insulin so only 1 amino acid off from feline insulin whereas human insulin is 5 amino acids off. But I've seen where some PZI users shoot more frequently than every 12 hours. That's not something we want to do. Plus, I'm glad I knew the L insulins last longer so I was able to confidently say what I wanted. Yes, this is Perry/Sooty's vet.

No worries! No worries! Cobb and I are staying put! Chris, excellent Godfather reference. My husband would be so proud. He has owned the trilogy in every form (VHS, DVD, and Blu-ray). Can you tell he is a fan ?!?! :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top