4/9 Chyna PMPS 108 +2 87 +5 83 Limping bad...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rachel & Chyna (GA)

Member Since 2012
Hi guys! I had no time to do a condo till now. Chyna did not eat most of her fuds overnight, and would only give a faint purr when I got up this morning. When I got up at 1am she hadn’t eaten her 12am one so I spoon fed half. Her 3am one may have had a few bites. I did give cerenia last night. Since it didn't work past the first few days last week, I'm worried it's her teeth that I can't get near, I tried and will try again. Or it could be cerenia isn't the right product at the moment:(

I spoon fed breffis to get it all in, and she ate it easily. Then Chyna took a nap and when I went in to check her while getting ready for work she looked happier and purred a bit. She had her pepcid and a few spoons of HC fuds before I left when I saw that drop! She’s trying to kill me. So there are various MC and mixed LC/HC fuds all over, and I hope she will eat some, especially if she is going down! I hate this leaving her.

Thanks for the visits last night, Shelly, Tina, Tricia, and Elise. I do appreciate you all. Yesterday:Chyna 4/8

I called the vet office again and am still waiting for a call back while they check pricing. I’m going in to get cartrophen today, so one way or another I’m getting something! I’m so worried…
 
Re: 4/9 Chyna AMPS 119 +1.5 93

Hi Rachel,
I am sorry to hear that Chyna isn't eating so well. :sad:
But I'm glad she looked happier and purred for you.
Sending tons and tons of appy vines to Chyna.
You are such a good bean, Rachel. Hugs to you. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/9 Chyna AMPS 119 +1.5 93

Chyna....please eat for your MamaBean!!!

I'm glad you did get her to eat some, and then got better purrs out of her! I hope you get some answers from the vet...I am so frustrated for/with you!! And I hope you're able to hit the right combo of meds soon to help Chyna out. I think the cypro will help, once you get the nausea figured out. Poor girl....

Thinking of you and watching for updates!!
 
Re: 4/9 Chyna AMPS 119 +1.5 93 +6 102

Well, my sweet girl wasn't overly happy at lunchtime, no purrs but she did a nice sit and test and I spoon fed her lunch with SEB in it. She HAD eaten some of the fuds out in mini meals (the HC ones, and half of two of the LC lamb ones...yeah there were 3 bowls out along with an autofeeder for each hour...). I'm thankful she ate though. No poo yesterday or today, but she did have that giant one the night before:) She went under the corner of the bed after test/eat but I did a few ear scratches and coaxed some purrs out.

Then I went to the vet for the cartrophen, and the girl that was taking care of the prescription and pricing was ON LUNCH again. And the vet was in surgery all morning, and when I was there. SO I obviously didn't have time to wait, and I told the desk girl I'd prefer a prescription so I can get a smaller amount. They are supposed to call "SOON". I can't use the words I'd like to...so %^$*(#&*#(#)#_)!!! I wanted to get the prescription and go to Costco after work. ARGH. Then I hit the pet store quick for a few cans of BFF and NV Salmon. If fish is what she'll take right now when I'm not home, I'll try mixing it in her normal fuds. And the lady is ordering in a box of the red dog/blue kat raw kangaroo for me to buy/try a package:)

Thanks Mariko, she must have listened to you and ate a bit. I appreciate the support and hugs:)
Hi Amy, thank you, it's good I have you all to vent to, I'm going to explode in frustration soon! Or bawl...

She seems to snort sometimes...I'm thinking maybe a humidifier evening may be tried tonight! Or the little noses Tricia mentioned...
 
Re: 4/9 Chyna AMPS 119 +1.5 93 +6 102

I'm glad Chyna ate some for you today and you did get some purrs from her. I can't believe you still haven't connected with the vet to get her meds. I hope you hear back today. I wish I had some that I could send you. Vent here all you need to. We understand. Sending prayers for Chyna and hugs to you. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/9 Chyna AMPS 119 +1.5 93 +6 102

I'm glad she did do some eating for you (and on her own) today....how's she feeling tonight? Did you get anywhere with the vet?
 
Re: 4/9 Chyna AMPS 119 +1.5 93 +6 102

Thanks Amy and Carla. NO I didn't get a call or get through to them again by the time I got home, I'm beyond mad and frustrated and so stressed I can barely think. Chyna did eat her afternoon snack.

I just noticed she can barely walk and I don't know what to do! I don't know if she hurt herself getting down from her tree or on the bed, but she is limping something awful! She has been stiff the last few days I think, from arthritis. Her back toes are pink and she is purring and ate supper for me good, and she seems alert. I'd given her cartrophen shot tonight with her insulin shot, before I noticed her limp. I'm scared it's something serious, but she doesn't seem overly distressed...and I have absolutely no money for a vet emergency call...
 
Re: 4/9 Chyna PMPS 108 Limping bad...

Can you tell if the limp is coming from just one leg? Is it her back end or front end? I know it's not ideal, but could you borrow a little money from your folks? Since the severity of the limp is so sudden, I would really try to get it checked out. With that said, a couple years ago my GA civvie Mario, who was very arthritic, also had a very sudden very bad limp, but it did work itself out within about half an hour...I think he twinged something jumping off the couch. I will be sending tons of prayers that whatever is going with Chyna's limp is something like that....
 
Re: 4/9 Chyna PMPS 108 Limping bad...

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Rachel, I'm so sorry I can't help you with any of what you're going through. I said a prayer for you and Chyna on my way to work this morning. I'm saying lots more tonight.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/9 Chyna PMPS 108 Limping bad...

Oh no!!!!
I am so sorry Chyna's limping.
That is so worrying.
Maybe she's been having some pain, and that could be the reason for her decreased appetite.....
Sending vines and prayers to Chyna.
If you call your vet (if still open) or ER, they should at least tell you how soon she needs to be seen.
If they say wait and see till tomorrow, then you'd feel better too.
 
Re: 4/9 Chyna PMPS 108 Limping bad...

Do you have a heating pad? We are trying that with Zener for his anal glands but the vet thought it might help any arthritis issues with his hips and spine. Big hugs to you, Rachel, and healing vines to Chyna.
Liz
 
Re: 4/9 Chyna PMPS 108 Limping bad...

My parents are on pension so no...and the vet is closed, and we have no ER. I can't tell what she is limping from since she sat down right away both times I tried to get her to walk, back I think. Her BG is good though, wouldn't that be higher if there was pain? I do have a heating pad and I'm going to shove her on it now. My mom is coming over...I guess to watch me bawl, how fun for her :sad:
 
Re: 4/9 Chyna PMPS 108 Limping bad...

I am going to pray for Chyna now for that limp and I am expecting some good results.
 
Re: 4/9 Chyna PMPS 108 Limping bad...

Amy is right.
We are here for you, and you are not alone, Rachel. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Please let us know how Chyna does tonight.
 
Re: 4/9 Chyna PMPS 108 Limping bad...

Poor little girl. I am glad she ate a bit on her own and purred... Keep an eye on those legs, it could be a number of things but time will tell. ...
 
Re: 4/9 Chyna PMPS 108 +2 87 Limping bad...

Adding more get better vines for Chyna and hugs for you♥ :YMHUG: :YMHUG: I hope the heating pad gives her some relief. I am glad your mom is coming - you and Chyna are in my prayers tonight, Rachel~
 
Re: 4/9 Chyna PMPS 108 +2 87 Limping bad...

Thanks ladies:) My mom has gone home. I'm not sure what to say...or what to do

Chyna ate at +2 about half her meal, but is now not really happy. I was trying to give her pepcid...I tried cheese, a teensy bit of ham, pilling with it spit out...finally I had to crush it into HC gravy so I'm not sure how effective it is. We still have only one sm-med poo. She hasn't really moved off the heating pad, but I did move her litter box into the room she is in and blocked off access to her cat tree. Not that she looks like she wants up there.

I'm trying to decide if I should do fluids or leave her be tonight...mom seems to think she is bright eyed and alert looking. I'm just depressed. Thanks for the prayers, I know they can work and I pray they will tonight :YMHUG:

It's so weird that her BG is going down with all the reduced doses. I don't think I am sleeping much tonight.
 
Re: 4/9 Chyna PMPS 108 +2 87 Limping bad...

I understand that, Rachel.
I do get pretty depressed when Lucy's not doing well too.
Sending more prayers and vines she'll feel better soon.
:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/9 Chyna PMPS 108 +2 87 Limping bad...

Thinking of you and Chyna tonight Rachel. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: Healing vines and white light coming your way. I hope you can figure out what foot is affected. Civie Theo slammed into a kitchen appliance (I just heard the metal thwang) while playing and twisted a muscle. It took a couple weeks to resolve itself.
 
How do the legs feel to the touch? Are they warm or cold? Maybe check the feet. Does she growl or flinch when you feel around a particular spot?
 
They feel warm, and look pink on the pads. She doesn't seem to feel anything bad when I touch the legs. She just went to the litter box and laid in it, I tried to hold her up to help her but she got out and lumbered a foot away...now she's laying there looking sad. She's walking on her back hocks. It's just so sudden...
 
Warm is good, so are pink pads and not complaining. Not sure what else to suggest. :YMHUG: I'd definitely call the vet in the AM.
 
Rachel,
If it might be from strains or sprains, I don't think a heating pad would be a good idea.
I think cold compresses would be better.
It's hard to know whether to warm or cool if we don't know where the limping is coming from....

Do think think her limping is getting worse?
 
She's not on the heating pad anymore...I'm so scared. I don't want her to suffer, but I don't have the cash to go. I can try call the vet now but if it's not emergency...I don't think I can drive right now. Ugh. It seems to be her whole back end but it's hard to tell and I don't want to make her walk. She has barely moved since I did her shot tonight...
 
Dose she react painfully if you sort of gently stretch her legs?

My friend's cat once had a knee injury.
She was limping, but wasn't sensitive to a touch or wasn't painful unless it's stretched in a certain way....
If your stretching her legs this way or that (gently and slowly) doesn't bother her, maybe her back is sore?
You don't see anything stuck on her paws, do you?
 
So, you have a vet that you can call? But not an ER?
Is it your regular clinic, and an on-call vet will come?
How far is it?
Can you not call or ask for an opinion if it sounds like an emergency?
I'm sure they have experience with many similar cases.
 
Thanks Mariko. I'm glad you're up with me. She doesn't seem to hurt when I pull them, just wags her tail but she doesn't like her feet touched (ever). I don't see anything on her paws. It's like really bad neuropathy looking walking.

There is emergency on call at my vets office, but I'm not sure how it works, I've never used it. Any time I've called after hours you get the voice mail giving the phone number to on call vet. We don't have an ER:( It's 10 minutes away or so to the office...I can try calling.
 
How does she look around her bum? I remember someone had a cat walking weird because of a kling-on. If this is something sudden, I'd try the on-call vet. I agree that getting their advice would be good. See if they'll do a payment plan.
 
I'd try calling.
If the on-call vet doesn't think it's an emergency, he/she will tell you so.
And if that's the case, I'm sure now is the better time than, say, 2am. ;-)
In Vancouver, the going rate for an emergency fee is $200 plus the regular vet fee.
Many vets offer a payment plan option to a long-term client, so you should ask that too.
 
I think she needs to poop, but I don't see anything weird on her bum. This is more like legs wobbling or something. Unfortunately, their payment plan is for dentals pay half up front and the rest within two weeks...I don't think they have one otherwise. My boss had to clean out his savings for his dog.
 
Their answering machine says to call a different clinic for on call...one that I have no idea where it is!

Wendy, I've never even heard of that...I don't know if I'd get approved but worth a shot.
 
Yes, sorry I was on the phone with the on call vet. He said to try keep her confined which she usually is anyways, and bring her in first thing. He didn't think I needed to come now since she has the CKD/diabetes it could be related weakness that came up?...he said if my clinic wouldn't get her in to just bring her to his when they open and he'd see her.
 
I'm glad he didn't think it was an emergency. :YMHUG: And that he was willing to see you in the morning. Sounds like a good vet.
 
Yes, he was nice. I'm wondering if I should just skip my clinic and go there, lol, except mine have her records and know her...but they'd just want me to leave her there most likely and this one said to just bring her and we may have to wait but he's see her.

She just went potty. It looks like she is walking with a lumbering gait. My poor girl. Thanks so much for being here, Wendy and Mariko :YMHUG: . And everyone else that visited today. I'm a mess. I'm going to try spoon feed Chyna and scoop the litter so it's clean if she has to lie in it again...I'm still really worried and hope I'm right to wait :?
 
Yay for poo!!!! cat_pet_icon
That will make her feel better. :smile:

If the regular vet just wants you to leave Chyna tomorrow, I'd try the new vet, Rachel.
It's a good excuse to try other clinic.... you might really like this vet.
If the new vet thinks it's necessary, he'll call your regular vet to get a copy of Chyna's record.
It's not so unusual for people to be seeing more than one vet.

And also, if you think Chyna's condition worsens at any point tonight, it will be OK to call him back.
He probably gets a lot of calls in a middle of a night when he's on call.
 
I'm going to try get a few hours sleep, if I can, my head is throbbing. No poo just pee, but at least she went something. I wonder if it's no poo bothering her that would make her limp? It seems like more of a joint thing...I'm pretty sure when I call my clinic that's what they will say, to leave her. I wonder if she'll be as noisy at a new vet office. I have Feliway that I bought in the cupboard to try.

She's really not interested in eating, so I'm not forcing her anymore, she had a few bites and I held the dish of water before that and she drank a bunch so maybe she is full, and needing to poo...but I don't want to give her anything that will make her "run" right now. Maybe a touch of oil...Thanks again, Mariko.
 
{{{Rachel}}}:

I just read your condo for today. I'm so sorry Chyna is hurting, which is hurting you. If she is peeing and has been eating, albeit just a little, I think you are okay to wait till morning. I like the sound of this new vet. Maybe, if you take her to see him, you will be able to get your prescriptions you've been wanting, too. I'll be praying for her and you and watching for an update in the morning. I hope you are able to get some sleep tonight. Sending many healing vines for Chyna and calming vines for you, and lots of hugs. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Sending prayers and tons of vetty vines...I'm glad you were able to speak with someone last night. I'd try the new clinic, too...they seem more responsive than your regular vet. I'll be watching for updates :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: ...
 
Rachel :YMHUG: I'm sorry Chyna is limping, I hope she is doing better this morning.
I hope the new vet clinic is better than your other one. I will be keeping Chyna and you, in my prayers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top