4/9 Bananas AMPS 378 +2 275 +4 92 +5 57 +6 53 + 7 65 +9 128

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nanaskitty

Member Since 2015
I new it would be up again, since no PM. She was up and about most of the night again. At least she only woke me up four times instead of the numerous times she normally does, so I was able to get a bit of sleep. She had breakfast FF classics liver and chicken and is now resting on her scratcher.

As far as the salmon from yesterday, I meant classic fish flavors with salmon, not all flavors. There was a plain salmon and then salmon mixed with something else that she won't touch. The only one she really liked of their fish flavors was the one with the tiny little shrimp in it, but that is not a classic and no longer in her food rotation. She rotates between chicken, turkey and giblets, beef, beef and chicken, mixed grill, liver and chicken, beef and liver all classics. She has a couple of fish cans left, the whitefish is one and then there is a cod, sole and something, but she only eats a few bites and then leaves the rest, so I don't waste my money on them anymore. We stocked up a couple of weeks ago on the FF since one of the grocery stores here had it on sale. Grandma even bought her some too! Bought some gravy lovers yesterday to have in case of emergency.

Not sure if I have to work or not today now. We woke up to 1/2 inch or so of icy, snowy, slushy stuff and had a 2 hr school delay. Supposed to get heavy rain later. I can't wait for spring to finally get here. We still have good sized snow piles In most of the yard.

Have a great day!
 
No work today, so I've been pestering her again to see her numbers. We will be leaving for the vets a little after 2 to compare our meter with theirs. I have all my print outs and am bringing our meter that we use now and our back up one. This is when her numbers have been lower, so they will jump since they wanted her there too. How long do you think the stress numbers would hang around? It will be a good 4 hours from when we should be home until her PMPS and I'm a big chicken and do not want to shoot if her numbers are just high from stress. Also, since her numbers have been low at PMPS, we have been skipping her PM dose, but then her AM numbers are higher. In the future, would a smaller PM dose (.25) be better than skipping all together? We just started the .5 units this week and I don't want to mess up what she is doing so far. Thanks and sorry if there have been two many questions, just trying to straighten out conflicting information from vet and knowledgeable info from here.
 
ECID is different as far as vet stress goes, some even go lower at the vet! I think it's time to start shooting those mid-blues. Are you TR or SLGS? For TR we recommend asking for help the first few times shooting a lower numbers than usual, but the goal is to shoot even in normal numbers. You are prepared wh those gravy foods to boost numbers up if need be. Just post and ask for help and someone will walk you through it.

To get good results w/ Lantus you need to shoot consistently. Once you do you may find that the dose can be reduced, ……… all the way down to nothing???;)
 
Last edited:
I agree with Ann - what you may not know is that Lantus works best at lower numbers. When a person shoots a number that's more in normal range, the blood sugar may stay completely flat for the rest of the cycle. Here's some info you can read to psyche yourself up for doing that:

Shoot Low - Charlie
Shooting a Dropping Number, post #6
Shooting & Handling Low Numbers -
Becoming Data Ready and What to do with a lower preshot?

The 0.5u looks really good, but i'm guessing she's high in that pm cycle, and 12 hrs without insulin help isn't good for her body. If you want to change the dose to 0.25u both morning and evening i think that would be ok. It's important to shoot the same dose every 12 hrs for a while to get control of her blood sugar around the clock. Of course, it means getting a before-bed test for her safety too. For some cats, all they need after diagnosis is some insulin help to get their blood sugar back into normal numbers and a switch to low carb canned or raw food.

If you post at your pmps, one of us can look at her ss and help you figure out how to move ahead. The tradition on here is that if we encourage you to shoot, we'll also stay with you so you know you won't be on your own if you do get low numbers. You'll want to always have some of that gravy food you mentioned, something like karo syrup or honey, and plenty of test strips (at least 20) - which are supplies you should really have all the time anyway.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top