4/9/22 - KeyKey - AMPS 103 (stayed low overnight?)

keykey

Member Since 2022
Previous Post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-5-22-keykey-amps-134.261601/

Last night I skipped her PM shot for the first time in about a week. Usually I'd see her numbers go up overnight, but it looks like they stayed almost EXACTLY where I tested her at her PMPS last night.

I didn't give her her shot last night because she was already fairly stable/low, and I had to go to bed earlier than usual so I couldn't stay up through the night to monitor her levels. I can monitor them today, so that won't be too much of an issue.

I assume this is a good sign? What's going on? Should I still give her her insulin shot today?

@FrostD
 
Since you can monitor, I would shoot 0.25U this morning.

Keykey is doing really well but you want her to spend as much time in normal numbers as possible because that is the healing range for her pancreas. It's possible that they may be up and running on their own in some time. Till then you want to give them some insulin support.

ETA: even if you don't give insulin, the Lantus depot will continue to affect the first part of the cycle. So it's goog to get a before-bed test even of you have skipped the shot.
 
Since you can monitor, I would shoot 0.25U this morning.

Keykey is doing really well but you want her to spend as much time in normal numbers as possible because that is the healing range for her pancreas. It's possible that they may be up and running on their own in some time. Till then you want to give them some insulin support.

ETA: even if you don't give insulin, the Lantus depot will continue to affect the first part of the cycle. So it's goog to get a before-bed test even of you have skipped the shot.
I went ahead and gave her her morning shot. I'll be able to check +1 and +2, but it may be a little difficult for me to get +3 and +4 because I have a zoom conference for school I have to attend (I might be able to go idle and sneak a quick test).

I may just be over analyzing it, but her breaths do appear to be kind of rapid and shallow sometimes. I read this could be a sign associated with hypo, but these numbers she's showing are in the okay range correct? So I shouldn't really be too worried about that should I? I've just been very super observant of her ever since her diagnosis. She's been very sleepy lately, I guess that's because before she was more hyperactive because of the higher BG levels? Does that explain it?

She also has become very skittish over the last couple of nights. I usually watch a show before bed, and she'll hop up on my bed and cuddle while I watch. She's usually pretty apathetic to the sounds of the TV, but a night ago she got startled by a loud noise from the TV, and she ran out of the room. She became almost afraid to come back into the room, looking at the TV as if it were alive.

Is this kind of behavior change normal? Again, I'm likely over analyzing everything...but I just wanted to ask to see if anyone had any similar experiences with behavioral changes.
 
I went ahead and gave her her morning shot. I'll be able to check +1 and +2, but it may be a little difficult for me to get +3 and +4 because I have a zoom conference for school I have to attend (I might be able to go idle and sneak a quick test).
The skip yesterday may keep her in higher numbers today. If she is much lower at +2, you could try to sneak in a +3 or a +4. She seems to be in safe numbers on this dose...for now.


I may just be over analyzing it, but her breaths do appear to be kind of rapid and shallow sometimes. I read this could be a sign associated with hypo, but these numbers she's showing are in the okay range correct? So I shouldn't really be too worried about that should I? I've just been very super observant of her ever since her diagnosis. She's been very sleepy lately, I guess that's because before she was more hyperactive because of the higher BG levels? Does that explain it?

She also has become very skittish over the last couple of nights. I usually watch a show before bed, and she'll hop up on my bed and cuddle while I watch. She's usually pretty apathetic to the sounds of the TV, but a night ago she got startled by a loud noise from the TV, and she ran out of the room. She became almost afraid to come back into the room, looking at the TV as if it were alive.

Is this kind of behavior change normal? Again, I'm likely over analyzing everything...but I just wanted to ask to see if anyone had any similar experiences with behavioral changes.
Her numbers are within the normal range and I don't think there has been any danger of a hypo. When a cat starts seeing normal numbers there do feel sleepy and low energy. Theor bodies have gotten used to high sugr levels and the removal of the sugar is like a caffeine wihdrawal. Once they get used to lower numbers, they become very energetic and playful in them and go back to their "old selves".
 
If her breathing continues to seem off a vet visit to check for any other issues would be a good idea. I hope it’s not necessary. Are you feeding all fish? That’s not a good diet for cats. Iwould look fir other foods she will eat.

Her bg has not been close to hypo levels. Remember pet meters read higher.
 
If her breathing continues to seem off a vet visit to check for any other issues would be a good idea. I hope it’s not necessary. Are you feeding all fish? That’s not a good diet for cats. Iwould look fir other foods she will eat.

Her bg has not been close to hypo levels. Remember pet meters read higher.
No, I need to update my signature. I was told early on in my postings to not feed exclusively fish, it's just the first wet food I had bought when I started my account here. I'm feeding a mix between that fish variety I bought and the regular FF classic.
 
Oh good. I think I was the one that mentioned it but some cats are stubborn. So I wasn’t sure if yours was. That’s good.
 
Back
Top