4/8 Xander AMPS 146 +3 87 +5 88 PMPS 104

Albert & Xander

Member Since 2025
Yesterday's post

I thought with the passing of the large hairball yesterday and him reaching target calories by the end of the night that we would be in a better place today, but today's eating is worse.
I gave an ondansetron and he ate ate every meal, just lower amounts but I think he just hit a fullness wall ending the AM at 65% of his usual. I ended up giving a reduced dose this morning because of the appetite troubles.

I'm exhausted and not sure what to do. He's in good spirits and purring on me like usual, just not a good appetite despite the meds.
 
Yesterday's post

I thought with the passing of the large hairball yesterday and him reaching target calories by the end of the night that we would be in a better place today, but today's eating is worse.
I gave an ondansetron and he ate ate every meal, just lower amounts but I think he just hit a fullness wall ending the AM at 65% of his usual. I ended up giving a reduced dose this morning because of the appetite troubles.

I'm exhausted and not sure what to do. He's in good spirits and purring on me like usual, just not a good appetite despite the meds.
Have you tried doing a topper for him? Maybe see if it entices him to eat more? Come on Xander, what's going on?
 
That makes sense. Poor buddy. Funny how we don't notice things when they are healthier. Have you weighed him to see if he is maintaining his weight?
Yep, he's the same (maybe still gaining slightly) at 13lbs.
Despite all the troubles, he's been hitting his usual calories. Today looks like he'll probably be a bit short though, we'll see how he does tonight.
 
Could it be a return of the p-itis?? I sure hope not. Poor Xander! I hope he starts feeling and eating better soon.
 
Could it be a return of the p-itis?? I sure hope not. Poor Xander! I hope he starts feeling and eating better soon.
I'm having trouble distinguishing what could be what 🫤 I thought that's what he had when he started with the lower appetite about 2 weeks ago, but then he started making progress after getting off the cerenia. This may now be a separate hair digestion issue?

He had a long one 4 days ago and the hairball he had yesterday morning was much larger than the ones he usually has. Maybe he could still have some lingering irritation from that and the ongoing shedding? Combing him with the furminator twice a day but he's still grooming away a good bit.

I'm hoping this will just resolve once the intense spring shedding stops, but ill see how tonight goes. I'll continue the daily mirataz and ondansetron when his eating is low like the past 2 mornings.
 
Other than the low appetite, he seems pretty comfortable today

20260408_1606421.jpg
 
Annnnd he stepped in his poop by accident and made a big mess. Today is not a good day.

At least he was eagerly asking for his +9 snack from the mirataz.
 
Back
Top