4/8 Trixie PMPS 174 +2 108 +4 90

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy&TrixieCat

Very Active Member
Yesterday:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=44945

For starters, I've got my very own pair of patience pants on :lol: ! Still, I want to toss a few questions out there, because I'm interested in everyeone else's take.

I actually did get up during the night last night and grabbed a +9.25 - it was 99. After seeing that, I was hoping she was headed for a low blue AMPS, but obviously that did not happen. With the higher AMPS, was expecting a +2 drop...also obvioulsy not the case either - but at least she kept her promise and stayed off the yellow floor.

Questions:

What do you guys think is going on here - bouncing off the green surfs she's had the last few nights?

Do you think it's too soon to tell if the Wellness is causing these higher numbers?

I was planning on holding steady with both the dose and the food for 10 cycles (this morning is her 6th cycle on this dose). If the trend continues, then my first plan was to ditch the Wellness (yet again), see what that does, and if that doesn't change anything, look at the dose. Does that sound like a reasonable plan, or should I ditch the Wellness sooner rather than later?

Any other thoughts or inputs?


Have a wondeful day, everyone!

Amy
 
Re: 4/8 Trixie AMPS 177 + 2 186 - Thoughts?

Good morning Amy! No advice on my part. However, I did want to tell you that the pants are lovely and I hope you have a great Wednesday!
 
Re: 4/8 Trixie AMPS 177 + 2 186 - Thoughts?

First, your AMPS and +2 are pretty much the same number. Remember, there's +10 - 20% variance in any number due to the inherent measurement error in the meter.

As for food, some cats will respond to a new food with slightly higher numbers. It can take a couple of days for them to adjust.

I don't know that I would call your PS numbers "bounces." I just think this is the end of the cycle and Trixie's numbers are rising. You'll want to give this dose the full 10 cycles given the green nadirs before you contemplate a dose change.
 
Re: 4/8 Trixie AMPS 177 + 2 186 - Thoughts?

Thanks, Sienne. The food thing was what I was initially wondering about...if we should "hold the food" as long as we "hold a dose", to see if things settle out.

She has definitely given us some lovely numbers, and I just wasn't sure if there was something to be "interpreted" by this current trend, or if all of it was just the whole "her being a cat" thing.

We'll keep holding everything - food and dose - as-is for the full 10 cycles and see what happens.
 
Re: 4/8 Trixie AMPS 177 + 2 186 - Thoughts?

glad you got an answer! trixie's got a nice start to the day - hope it gets down into some greens for you!
 
Re: 4/8 Trixie AMPS 177 + 2 186 +4 115

She may or may not make it to the greens for the daytime cycle, but she has been loving her green evenings lately.

Been procrastinating all morning...have to go exercise now!!!
 
Re: 4/8 Trixie AMPS 177 + 2 186 +4 115

Hi guys .. no advice on food/dosing but wanted to say I think trixie is coming down nicely today, just might see green! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/8 Trixie AMPS 177 + 2 186 +4 115

Trixie will probably be green at your next test, she's so close to it right now.
Come on little girl you can do it! :mrgreen:

(Hey, do some exercise for me too. hahahaha!)
 
Re: 4/8 Trixie AMPS 177 + 2 186 +4 115

Amy,

I'm with Sienne....I would wait and see how it settles for a few more cycles.

Would it be possible for you to put your feeding info on your SS? Sometimes the feeding schedule can be tweaked to help flatten out the cycles. Jill usually suggests putting an asterisk in the box when you feed...it makes it visually easy to see what effect the food has on the numbers.
 
Re: 4/8 Trixie AMPS 177 + 2 186 +4 115 + 6.5 153

Exercise - check
Fruit smoothie - check
Greens - Grrrrr...no check
Errands - All right, all right, I'm going already.

Man, these patience pants are sooooo annoying! Her daytime cycles were better on the S0.50 with the EVO and BG than they are on the 0.50 with the Wellness. But, I'll wait out a few more days before changing her food yet again - unless you guys give me the go ahead to switch it sooner.

Laurie - She usually eats after her pre-shot test, +2, and sometimes but not often at +4. I will start marking her eating on the SS...hopefully I'll remember to do that!

Thanks for the input...errand time!

Amy
 
Re: 4/8 Trixie AMPS 177 + 2 186 +4 115 + 6.5 153 PMPS 174 +2

...and so far tonight is looking like a carbon copy of last night. Interesting....don't know what it means :lol: , but interesting!
 
Re: 4/8 Trixie AMPS 177 + 2 186 +4 115 + 6.5 153 PMPS 174 +2

Hi there!!! Curious that we both are wondering the same thing about Wellness. I've also found out it's a high fat food which may be why Champ has gained two pounds since he was diagnosed!! I still have 23 of the 13.5 oz. size cans of Wellness in my cupboard that I don't know what I'm going to do with. It's all such a guessing game as to what can cause their numbers to fluctuate!!!

As usual, Trixie's numbers are to be envied by the rest of us!!! I hope you have a really great evening!! :-D
 
I think the guessing game aspect is the most frustrating part of this whole dance!

This is my second "trial" of Wellness, and to be honest I've gotten similar results both times...an apparent increase in BGS. But, as we know, there are so many unknowns that who knows for sure if it's the food! Trixie had been eating Wellness regularly for years until she and Frankie both got sick back in May. After that I switched to EVO 95% and BG 96% chicken...suddenly her numbers did look better and she started earning reductions, but she wasn't loving either of those foods like she did the Wellness. So I brought the Wellness back, and her numbers started creeping up. Took the Wellness away, things went down again. Brought the Wellness back, numbers are creeping up again...

I don't know...my patience pants may be wearing thin tonight on the food issue here. One thing for sure, if I take her off Wellness yet again, it will have to be for good. No more messing around, time to settle in and commit. It really bothers me that this particular food could be setting her back, when she was on such a strong green-n-blue track just last week with a lower dose.

We'll see what happens for the rest of tonight and for tomorrow's AM cycle...

AMy
 
Hi Amy:

I noticed on your SS that you had Wellness Chicken as MC but it is a LC food....4% calories from carbs as is Turkey and also the beef/chicken. ECID...no doubt about that and esp when it comes to carbs. We keep track of everything we feed Gracie on her SS. Laurie suggested a long time ago that we quit bouncing around on the foods like we were doing and try to be more consistent. So we did. We selected the WN 4% foods (unless we need to do some steering) as her regular foods. It took quite a bit of time but we actually saw the effect....she quit the crazy diving she was doing. We did recently ask Jill if the WN could be keeping Gracie from getting as low. She said it is possible but the good thing it is doing is keeping her flatter which is the goal with lantus. You manage the curve with food, get it flatter, and then increase the dose if you have to.

I think it is a really good idea to pick a food she will eat and stay with it.....it took Gracie alot longer than 10 cycles to show a difference in her curve. I think Sienne will say the same about her feeding strategy with Gabby...it took time to see a difference.

Good luck and I hope you have some gorgeous blue patience pants!!! Nice evening cycle for Miss Trixie!
 
I was sort of testing out the Wellness as an MC food for Trixie at the time I made that notation, even though it is techinically an LC food. And it seemed like it did have an MC sort of effect on her, raising that 49 to 63 in half an hour. But, again, was it the food, or was it a natural rise for Trixie?

It's frustrating, trying to figure what is causing what, but I really am suspicious that Wellness just doesn't seem to work well with Trixie, for whatever reason. I'm pretty sure we'll switch off Wellness tomorow evening, and stay put with that decision once and for all! She did do OK with the BG and EVO, but is just a bit more enthusiastic with the Wellness. Then again, if we quit switching her around, I'm sure she'll just settle in to whatever it is we're feeding her.
 
Amy, good luck with whatever you decide to do. I wish I could offer some good advice, but I'm still blundering around most days trying to figure it all out. All I know about Wellness is, it was too high in fat content for Tessie Lou because of her weight and her pancreatitis. I hope your Trixie doesn't suffer with either of those things. Tessie has been exclusively on Merrick's low carb varieties for awhile now, and she loves it. Of course, she loved FF, too, but I don't like the byproducts in it.

Anyway, wer numbers are awesome tonight! Enjoy! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top