4/8 Tessie Lou PMPS 318 Drug Reaction/Dose to Give?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tessielou

Member Since 2010
Good morning everyone,
Unfortunately, Tessie Lou's AMPS was the highest yet on the new dose. I've called the vet, and I'm taking her in at noon to get urine and bloodwork done.
What should I do about the dose? I gave her the 2.0 this morning. On the protocol, even if they have an infection do you still keep upping the dose? Her nadirs have been the low 200s. Thanks,
 
Re: 4/8 Tessie Lou AMPS 369 - Vet appt, dose advice?

With an infection, it may necessitate raising the dose. The rationale is that with an infection/inflammation and not enough insulin, there's a greater possibility of DKA. So, you want to raise the dose to counter the higher numbers. Once the infection is treated, numbers may come down in a hurry so you need to be prepared to reduce the dose -- sometimes rapidly.

Given that this has been 7 cycles at this dose, I'd consider raising Tessie to 2.25u tonight unless there's a change in her numbers today.

I hope all goes well at the vet.
 
Re: 4/8 Tessie Lou AMPS 369 - Vet appt, dose advice?

Hi guys. Good luck at the vets office Tessie Lou. I hope you start feeling better soon. Have a great day! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/8 Tessie Lou AMPS 369 - Vet appt, dose advice?

Good morning .. sorry to hear that tessie lou's numbers are still high .. hopefully the vet visit get's you the answers you are looking for and that she starts coming down soon .. have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: 4/8 Tessie Lou AMPS 369 - Vet appt, dose advice?

Thanks guys,
Sienne, ok, I'll tell the vet I plan to increase her tonight unless she changes today. Although, I'm expecting the vet visit to raise her numbers. Maybe they will settle back down by PMPS tonight.

Also, after I had posted this morning, I went to clean the LB, and I noticed she had an "accident" on the carpet in front of the LB. About an ounce or so of pee. So, that's the first sign she's had of the cystitis--this time, that is. That's probably what's going on--again. :sad:
 
Re: 4/8 Tessie Lou AMPS 369 - Back from Vets, +5 (142)!!

Aaaargh, cats!

Just got back from the vet visit, which was very, very stressful for her, so thought I should check her BG. It was 142!!!! Down over 200 points from her AMPS. That is the lowest it has been in the 10 days of 2 dose increases! Oh my. ohmygod_smile I bet if we had stayed home, she might have even been in the green. They just mess with our heads, don't they? :lol:

Vet couldn't get urine, said her bladder was empty. So, I have to bring sample tomorrow. Her bloodwork was fine though, no elevated white blood cells which would indicate an infection somewhere.

I showed the vet a video that I had taken of Tessie during one of her stomach spasm thingies. The vet said she thought it was muscle neuropathy from the diabetes, and she also said she believes she is in pain. So, she ok'd starting her on Tramadol, which I myself take for chronic interstitial cystitis. I hope and pray it helps her as much as it has helped me for the past 10 years. I just gave her one and she is lying quietly right now.

Vet also believes it's time to do an ultrasound to look at her pancreas, and surrounding areas. She said she hates to say the word, but we need to look also for "tumors." :sad: They have a specialist who comes to the clinic once a week and does them. So, next week Tessie will get the ultrasound and the full GI panel to send to Texas.

That's where we're at! I'm comfortable with the plan, and will wait until her PMPS to decide whether to up her dose or not. I'm hopeful the Tramadol will contribute to bringing her BG down, if these high numbers she's been having are stress related to pain.
 
Re: 4/8 Tessie Lou AMPS 369 - Back from Vets, +5 (142)!!

Glad the vet visit went well and you're seeing better numbers today, Sandy! I never got the chance to post on your condo yesterday, and I just wanted you to know that I had read it and actually had you on my mind much of the day yesterday. Willie is doing great now, but the first two months of our sugardance were just really discouraging. Willie had some infection issues and had a raging unidentified skin problem. If you look at his spreadsheet, you can see that the time before 2/15 (the day we got the pemphigus diagnosis) and the time after are like night and day. Hang in there, and things will come together, even if it is eventually.

If you have the time, I'd encourage you to go back and read Chaos' daily condos and spreadsheet. He took some time to really get started, almost never seeing blues, let alone greens, for a very long time. And then one day, it just happened. And then it happened again. and again. and now, he sees them regularly, if not as often as Violet would like.

Progess will happen, and we're all here to lean on until it does. ((hug))
 
Re: 4/8 Tessie Lou AMPS 369 - Back from Vets, +5 (142)!!

Hey I take Tramadol too :lol: :lol: It is pretty good & i am happy it will help Tessie L.
Moonie's numbers have been up here too, so I will have to see what's what with her--I Hope all will be well & TL Will get her good numbers groove back! Have a good evening!
 
Re: 4/8 Tessie Lou AMPS 369 - Back from Vets, +5 (142)!!

yes...i'm with your vet...it's time for an ultrasound....you need to get answers as to what is going on with Tessie Lou.....keeping you in my thoughts and prayers.....(((((to you two)))))
 
Re: 4/8 Tessie Lou AMPS 369 - Back from Vets, +5 (142)!!

Hi Christie,
Thanks so much for the encouragement! And, I really appreciate your concern for Tessie Lou. Boy, I didn't realize about Willie's unusual skin problem. That really was a turning point for him, wasn't it! That does give me hope. I really do believe something is going on with her, and at least now we'll get to the bottom of it. Hopefully it will be something treatable (not a tumor). I haven't looked at Chaos' SS yet, but I sure will. Boy, our sugarcats really run the gamit of problems, don't they? Poor, sweet things.

I was going to write back to you sooner, but wouldn't you know it, Tessie Lou has had a reaction to the Tramadol that the vet started her on today. I called, and the vet said to watch her closely for seizures, and for her BG to dive. So, I haven't taken my eyes off her. Vet said keep things quiet, not even have the TV on, so i'ts going to be a long night. Richt now, Tessie is very hyper-alert (opposite of her normal condition), keeps jerking her head around looking at things, and her eyes are super dialated. In other words, as the vet said, "she's high!" She said it should be out of her system in 12 hours, so by 2am we should be in the clear... ohmygod_smile

Thanks again for stopping by, Christie! Happy Weekend!
 
Re: 4/8 Tessie Lou AMPS 369 - Back from Vets, +5 (142)!!

Hi Roni, oh Tramadol is a miracle drug as far as I'm concerned. It's the only thing that has helped my cystitis. Unfortunately, Tessie Lou has had a bad reaction to it today. Vet says I am to watch her closely for seizures for 12 hours. ohmygod_smile Her eyes are real dialated and she's having slight head tremors. Poor girl, looks like this is not the answer for her pain. I heard Bupe is a good one for pain. Thanks for stopping by, and have a great weekend!

Hi Claudia, yes, I'm relieved that we're doing it. Didn't realize it was so expensive ($350), but oh well, that's what credit cards are for, right? ;-) I just hope whatever they find is treatable. One day at a time...as I know you understand. You and Rocket and the rest of the family have a great weekend, ok?

See ya's later!
 
Re: 4/8 Tessie Lou AMPS 369 - Back from Vets, +5 (142)!!

Just as an FYI, some cats respond to vet stress with lower numbers. I know...go figure!!

Also, there are a couple of journal articles that suggest Tramadol may lower BG numbers. I think one of the people whose kitty is now OTJ found that to be the case. It's just a heads up in case Tessie's numbers drop when you start the Tramadol.
 
Re: 4/8 Tessie Lou AMPS 369 - Back from Vets, +5 (142)!!

Sienne, that is soooo weird! Unfortunately, on the Tramadol, she has had a bad reaction. About an hour after I gave it to her, she started acting funny, nervous like. Then I noticed her eyes were really dialated and her head was having slight tremors. I called vet and she said it was a reaction and to keep her quiet, and watch for seizures and low BGs. So that's what I'm doing. Poor girl, it's just one thing after another lately..

What do you suggest for the dose tonight? Her nadir today was only 140.
 
Re: 4/8 Tessie Lou AMPS 369 - Back from Vets, +5 (142)!!

I have also been prescribed Tramadol and it doesn't do much for my back pain but does give me energy. I always feel sluggish and they wake me up but not like I'm on speed, just to where I'm feeling functional. I looked up Tramadol when I first started noticing it and some people do have those side effects. Maybe Tessie Lou is getting the energy side effect out of it too. It usually kicks in for me about 30 min. to an hour after I've taken it. I hope she will be okay. I know it must be scary watching her. Please keep us updated.
 
Re: 4/8 Tessie Lou AMPS 369 - Back from Vets, +5 (142)!!

Poor Miss Tessie Lou... hope she comes down soon!!!

Mizz Tessie Lou, u needz to relax? KTSS bus iz on de way... Mah bean haz a relaxashun CD an' we'll put dat on bus radio. We'z got eye masks too, an' lavender!! Ur spa treatment will totally help u feel better! See you in awhile!! --Willie
 
Re: 4/8 Tessie Lou AMPS 369 - Back from Vets, +5 (142)!!

Maria, Devon, Celi, Christie, thanks for stopping by! This has been a scary 6 hours. Tessie is just starting to "come down" a bit from her bad reaction to the Tramadol. She is finally resting her head on a pillow. Yikes, what will happen next?

Willie, that sounds great, but what does KTSS stand for? I'm still not feeling myself, but I bet lavender will help calm me down. I feel like I drank 10 of my bean's expresso's...Tessie Lou
 
Just checked her, and wow, back up in the 300s again. So, she had a nadir of 142 today and she's still high from the Tramadol reaction. I'm thinking it makes sense to not increase tonight. Any thoughts out there?
 
You're at home with you kitty. You have to do what seems right to you. There's no "rule" that says you must increase. If you want to wait, that's fine. Like I said earlier, some cats' numbers drop due to stress vs. other cats' whose numbers rise.
 
Thanks, Sienne. I gave just the 2.0 units tonight, and will stay up with her tonight to see what happens. I really would feel better getting the Tramadol out of her system before I increase. I'll reevaluate in the morning.

Thanks again.
 
Hey Tessie Lou, the KTSS is on the way (Kittenhood of the Traveling Soup and Spa) to help you relax with the spa treatment. We want you to feel better very soon.

Rusty
 
Rusty, oh that is so cool! KTSS coming to my house? You guys are the best friends ever! I'm watching for you at the window...Tessie Lou
 
Hi Sandy - I am just able to get to condos now - and oh my! what a day you have had. Poor Tessie Lou! I hope all is well there. Looks like it may be along night for you. I hope all goes well.

Hey Tessie Lou - the KTSS is on its way - we really want you to feel better. Tobey gives the best massages! See you soon ~~ Mannie
 
Sandy...also getting to condos late. When Gracie was having her interstitial cystitis "episodes" we also tried tramadol and nixed that pretty fast; it stopped the IC episode but she didn't react well to it. Then we went to bupe and that was MUCH better....really seemed to help her chill out and settle down. I also used Rescue Remedy with her and that helped to a certain degree. Of course, finding that she had all that aluminum in her and detoxing her was what it really took.

Tessie Lou....KTSS on the way and Tobey is getting his paws all ready for you. I brings you a hat, too!!! You likes dis one ok?? It's for Easter!!
images
 
Hi Michelle and Marjorie,
Well, it's 2:30am and she is JUST beginning to lay her head down and rest. Still hasn't closed her eyes ONCE. Poor, poor girl. I just feel awful that this happened to her. It seemed like an awful high dose (12.5mg bid), cause I myself take 50mg bid, but that was what the vet said to give. Anyway, nix on Tramadol, and Bupe here we come. Marjorie, that is so interesting about the aluminum poisoning with Gracie. Who would ever think of such a thing in our kitties' bodies? ohmygod_smile

Now, my task is to not fall asleep until she pees. I have to get a clean catch (easy with her), refrigerate it if it happens before vet opens, and get it quickly to the vet in the a.m. for testing. Usually she goes early a.m., but there's nothing "usual" about this incident. My livingroom looks funny with my makeshift couch/bed, and Tessie's LB next to it! Of course T.J. has been in and out of it just for fun, since it's such a novelty to have it in the livingroom. :roll: :lol: :lol:

I am bone tired, and have appts tomorrow to look at houses with the realtor, and a nephew coming in to town to visit and spend the night. Yikes. Marjorie, it sounds like your day today. And Michelle, you have your hands full with little grandson. By the way, adorable pictures on your condo today! Mannie's expression is priceless in that last one. :lol:

Mannie and Gracie, I'z feeling better since the KTSS came. You guys are really good! Lots of practice, huh? Tobey, you has magic paws fur sure! Thank you, my friends! And Gracie, I love my Easter hat! You so great!...Tessie Lou
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top