4/8 Tasha amps 98 pmps 146

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karisa and Tasha(GA)

Member Since 2011
4/7 pmps 83

I would just like to appologize for my attitude the past few days. I have been in denial. I did talk about the DX but I guess I really didn't admit it to myself. It took going back to the begining of this board for LL and reading all day to figgure that out.

You guys are something special, you have been trying to tell me stuff that I just didn't want to hear. I do beleive I'm ready now.

I really do understand about the meters and how they differ, about the lantus, and how to go about lowering the dose, also about hypo's which I found out the hard way. Thank goodness nothing happened to Ta because of my refusal to face facts.

I am now ready to take whatever advice and or critisism you all heap on my shoulders, and I'll try not to take it personal. I know you are just helping.

On to better things, In my opinion, and tell me if I'm wrong, I think her numbers are doing better on the reduced dose. now giving 1 unit BID, will have to update sig. I did get some LC snacks, the freeze dried chicken, and jerky, and she loves both of them.

I just want to say thank you again, and this time I really mean it, for everything you have done, all the advice you gave.

Forgot to add that I work 12 hr shifts on every Mon, Fri, and every other weekend, and this is mine to work.
I'll try to get on when I get home, at the very least update ta's ss.

Karisa
 
No worries. What really matters is Tasha. We're here for our cats. I think most of us recognize that dealing with our cats may put us in a difficult position with our vet. Likewise, finding out your cat has diabetes doesn't qualify as having a good day.

I'm very glad you reduced Tasha's dose. Can you get some spot checks throughout the cycles? Tasha's pre-shot numbers are looking very good. Since Lantus dosing is based on the nadir, you don't want to miss an earned dose reduction. With your AMPS of a 98, it's possible that Tasha earned another dose reduction.

Are you home during the day? If not, you may want to think about a timed feeder or making "catsickles." The latter involve adding enough water to canned food so that it's soupy and then freezing it in ice cube trays (or anything that will be a serving). That way, you can leave food if you're not going to be home.
 
Hi, guys!

no worries! we all get tense about our babies...it's hard not to when we love them so much!
glad to see you!

celi & binks
 
Hey Karisa,
I'm glad you've decided to stick around! You will find that the LL group is very concerned about all of our kitties and that we try to help each other. I'm very glad that you dropped Tasha's dose to 1 unit. You will have to continue to monitor her carefully. Even 1 unit might be too much at this time. But please wait until you hear from one of the more experienced dosing people. Don't forget that Lantus dosing is based on the nadir, not on the preshots (we get preshot tests to determine whether or not it is safe to shoot). So it is really important for you to try to get a test in at mid-cycle or thereabouts. Also, it is important to do a test at bedtime, to see how Tasha is trending and if it might be necessary to check her again during the night. That's a minimum of 4 tests per 24-hour day, but you'll be surprised at how easy the routine becomes.
Good luck, and we are happy for you and Tasha that you are here. Welcome to LL!

Ella & Rusty

p.s. My post crossed with Sienne's. She always gives terrific advice.
 
Kinda stuck at the moment on testing, not only because of work, (12 hr shifts in a hospital out of state), but lack of strips. Am going to get a bean meter, but can't at the moment due to finances.

Thank you all for understanding

Karisa
 
Hi again,
The Walmart ReliOn meters (the Micro or the Confirm) cost $9. The strips for them are $20. for a box of 50. The meters are very popular here.
 
I know, I priced them the other day, however we need to get our daughters meds which arent cheep.

I'm gonna sign off for tonight, not sure if i'll be here tomorrow. will update the ss at the least.

Night all\

Karisa
 
Hi again,
Just a thought, but have you asked for one of the newbie kits? See the "Sticky" in the group at the top of the Lantus forum. You will get at the least a meter and strips.
 
karisa, no worries!!!! i'm glad Tasha's doing ok - none of us wants this, really. it's just one of those things you deal with when you love your cat.

i know i'm posting on yesterday's condo, so you'll want to start a new one today - i just couldn't get on last night.

hugs! you'll get her stabilized and it will be easier!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top