4/8 Simon PMBG 232 back from vet +4 102 +5 83

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
Today Simon is getting his dental. I was able to feed him a little food at 5:30 AM, per vet's instructions because they won't be doing the dental until late morning or early afternoon. He did not get his insulin but I have to bring the insulin with me to the vet. I am a nervous wreck over this, although I am confident in how the vet's office performs the dental and what they use. Just in case, I wrote them a letter this morning, detailing what I don't want used (Metacam), Simon's temperament and nervousness, and info on his blood glucose the last few days. I know they are going to think I am a crazy person, but I would rather detail everything I can think of instead of worrying about what I should have told them. I think I am also going to ask if I can see where Simon is going to be this morning while he is waiting for the procedure. At least this is a feline specialty vet so there will be no barking dogs around to make Simon extra scared.

Thanks for all your supportive words and I'll update later when I hear from the vet's office. Please keep Simon in your thoughts today (and me, because I don't know how I'm going to work being this nervous!).

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=40658
 
Re: 4/8 Simon AMBG 103 Dental Today

Fingers & paws crossed that all goes according to plan and that Simon is rockin some sparkling pearly whites tonight
Hi Simon! I'z hear u gots to go to de vetty tuday! I'z gotz no teef, but I bet it won't be so bad! De KTSS will be stoppin by tonite fer spa treatments an' stuff!! See ya soon! --Willie
 
Re: 4/8 Simon AMBG 103 Dental Today

I shall keep Willie in my thoughts today. Sending good dental vines and a quick recovery.
Keep us updated when you can
 
Re: 4/8 Simon AMBG 103 Dental Today

Sending good thoughts y'alls way. Simon will do just fine and will be home with you before you know it. I know how you feel though. It can definitely make for a nervous day. Happy Friday to you guys! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/8 Simon AMBG 103 Dental Today

Good dental vines!

Remember to get a test as soon as you get home so you'll be able to compare Simon's test with his PMPS. You might want to get some baby food in case there are extractions and his mouth is sore (Beechnut Stage 1 or Gerber Stage 2. The Gerber is higher in carbs due to cornstarch but both are only meat and broth.) When you feed, go slow. The anesthesia slows gastric motility and if Simon eats too fast, he'll scarf and barf.

Anesthesia can also lower BG. So it may be that your PM dose will need to be adjusted.
 
Re: 4/8 Simon AMBG 103 Dental Today

Hey Georgia & Simon,

We're sending good vetty vines for your dental today, Simon, and good "calming" vines to you Georgia! I'm sure it will all go well, and you are very wise to put down everything in writing so that they know your concerns.
Rusty will be over with the KTSS later to get those vetty smells off.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/8 Simon AMBG 103 Dental Today

Good luck with Simon's dental today; everything will be fine. I'll be sending vines and prayers for Simon and you, too. That's a great idea to ask where Simon will be waiting until the dental. Maggie will also be along later with the gang in the KTSS with her magic wand to help remove the Vetty smells,
 
Re: 4/8 Simon AMBG 103 Dental Today

Good luck to you with Simon's dental. We have one today too. I full understand your trepidation and fears.
 
Re: 4/8 Simon AMBG 103 Dental Today

Good luck!! I applaud you going with instructions - it is a good thing. I agree too with what Sienne wrote: those things did happen to us. Try not too worry! He will be fine. I look forward to your update. :-D

Happy dental Simon! you will have such a happy mouth when all is done. Good luck there buddy!

Simon - don't worry - it will be OK. I've been through lots of dentals, and hey it's cool when you get home cuz your bean fusses over you lots. The KTSS will come and pay you a visit when you get home. See you! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 4/8 Simon AMBG 103 Dental Today

Good luck Simon! I hope it is an easy cleaning and you will be ready for your close-up with a big smile tomorrow.

Sending calming vibes to Georgia. :-D
 
Re: 4/8 Simon AMBG 103 Dental Today

Thanks, guys for your calming words. I dropped Simon off and the vet tech actually spent a 1/2 hour with me in an exam room to talk to me and help calm me down a little. He went over all my instructions I had written down, including the info on the insulin. I think it is really hard for them to understand the micro dose I am giving him. They are so used to dealing in whole units, not .25 so I kept saying, please do not give him 2 units. The Vet tech had me show him on the syringe just what I was talking about so that was good that he wanted a visual.

Sienne, thanks for the advice on the anesthesia and bg and food. I already bought Simon a few cans of the baby food so it is ready in case he needs it. I'll get a test when I get home before the PMPS.

The vet should be calling around noon or so, so I'll send an update then.
 
Re: 4/8 Simon AMBG 103 Dental Today

Good morning guys ... Awww .. I can just feel your nervousness through your posts .. I KNOW simon is going to do just fine ... I don't blame you for being nervous, I was the exact same way .. everyone here kept telling me she was going to be fine and I kept telling peter "They don't know, they don't know her, they don't know that" But you know what? She was totally fine .. a little stoned on the way home but by the next morning she was puuurfect ... and that included 8 extractions!
 
Re: 4/8 Simon AMBG 103 Dental Today

praying for a good dental for Simon....((((Georgia)))) i know how nervous you are....i think we are all on edge lately....but stay positive that all will go well with his dental.....

will be looking later for an update on Simon....
 
Re: 4/8 Simon AMBG 103 Dental Today

The vet just called to give me an update on Simon's teeth. Apparently, he has 4 teeth that need to be extracted!! They have holes in them (I guess that means some kind of decay?). Poor Simon, I can't imagine what he has been feeling with all those teeth bothering him. They finished with the cleaning and are now getting ready to do the extractions. Simon will be coming home with pain meds and antibiotics. He just got through taking antibiotics for the UTI! I'm glad I went ahead and bought baby food because it sounds like he might be needing that tonight instead of regular food. It sounds like he is doing ok but I'll be glad when they call me to let me know he is awake.

I'll post once I get him home.
 
Re: 4/8 Simon AMBG 103 Dental Update

so glad you took him in and it went ok!!!! one of punkin's had a hole in it too. Simon will no doubt be feeling a lot better after he has recovered than he was before.

i hope after you give him baby food you give yourself some chocolate and wine, or whatever your particular "feel comforted" vices are!
 
Re: 4/8 Simon AMBG 103 Dental Update

Hi, Georgia.. thinking of you & Simon.. ouch on the extractions.. but the good news is you have an update & he will be home soon.. well wishes for a speedy recovery from us to you & wishing you both a wonderful weekend!
 
Re: 4/8 Simon AMBG 103 Dental Update

Hi Georgia .. did they say the holes were from FORL's? That is what they said mocha had .. that's why she needed so many extractions .. in a few days simon is going to be feeling better then ever! You are such a good bean!
 
Re: 4/8 Simon AMBG 103 Dental Update

Hoping Simon comes through his dental with flying colors!! He will be so much more comfy & his numbers will be better!--Moonie had 2 dentals, with 4 extractions 1st time & 5 the second--She came home & was just fine.. I did give her buperenex the second time for a few days, but she ate & recovered very quickly!..
Not to worry, I'm sure he will be Great!! Comforting Hugs to you & Simon!

Simon, your Toofs will be feeling & looking so so good!! You could eats better, and we will see you in a crowd of kitties, you'll be the one with the white shiny teefs!! Hugs from Moonie! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/8 Simon AMBG 103 Dental Update

Sending mega healing vines to Simon. I would also ask about getting some buprenex for him (if someone hasn't already mentioned). Good job on the metacam warning and instructing them on his microdosing!!!
 
Re: 4/8 Simon AMBG 103 Dental Update

he'll be groggy coming home....so make sure he doesn't jump on stuff and falls....i always worry when they have been under....

poor guy....yes that would be a lot of teeth missing....

((((Simon)))) (((((Georgia)))))

continued prayers for you two....and keep us updated
 
Re: 4/8 Simon AMBG 103 Dental Update

We are finally home!! Simon certainly doesn't act like he had 4 teeth out. When we got home, he ran up the stairs and then demanded food. I started with the baby food thinking it would be something he could eat, but he didn't like it. I put a little Fancy Feast down and he gobbled it up. I'm not going to give him anymore for a little bit until I know his stomach won't get upset. He doesn't even seem that wobbly to me, especially when he took two stairs at a time.

The vet did use the FORL terminology (forgot what it stands for) and his teeth were basically down to the exposed roots (ouch!!). The vet said he was suprised that he needed that many extractions because he didn't think they were that bad when he first examined them a few weeks ago. Poor little Simon and what a bad bean I have been for ignoring his dental. I was just so scared to have him undergo anesthesia.

I am to start Simon on bupe tomorrow for 4 days every 12 hours and also he is back on an antibiotic, only this time is is liquid Clavamox. They did not give him any insulin today and his bg was not that bad at the vet's. The last time they checked it before I picked him up, it was 211. I checked him immediately when I got home and it is now 232. We didn't get home until 1 1/2 hours after his normal scheduled insulin. Is it ok that I skipped the entire day of insulin and start over tomorrow? I'll test him again tonight and see where he is once he has calmed down some.

Thank you to everyone for all your well wishes! It is so nice to have such support because apparently no one else in my family thought to call me (except of course my DH). Not even my mom called to see how Simon was doing. Y'all are the best!!! Now I am going to take Julie's advice and have dinner, wine, and chocolate!!
 
Re: 4/8 Simon PMBG 232 We're back from vet!!

And don't forget to invite a pint of Ben & Jerry's to dinner, too!

I think it's fine to skip Simon's shot tonight.

FORL = Feline Ordontoclastic Resorptive Lesions
 
Re: 4/8 Simon PMBG 232 We're back from vet!!

I am so glad that all went well! Poor guy: minus 4 toothies. But I do bet that he feels so much better! YAY!!!!

I think I would skip tonight too. Be sure to watch his BG's for a while too - With Mannie after his last dental we ended up needing less insulin. The cleaning made a big difference for him.

Simon!!!! You survived - we are all so happy for you. I am sorry that you lost 4 toothies, but I bet it feels better without them... The KTSS is on its way to give you a massage, and help with that vetty smell. Tobey gives the bet massages.... See you Soon! ~~ Mannie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top