? 4/8 Phobos - dosing questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Raechel

Member Since 2015
We're finally seeing some good numbers on his dose of 4 units (which he's been on for 7 days/ 14 cycles). I recorded a nice stretch in the greens on the 4th cycle. I was going off the advice of holding the dose for 5-7 days if nadirs are under 200, but would that be 5-7 days after the greens or after the most recent blues? His numbers are still unpredictable enough that I'm nervous increasing his dose, but I wanted to get more experienced eyes on it.
Dosing right now at 4 units for his AM shot...would rather increase his dose with an AM shot than PM so I'm able to monitor his numbers better. So I could increase tomorrow, if needed.
Thank you!
 
I think you could have increased to 4.25U today, but tomorrow will be fine. According to the protocol, we hold doses for 3 to 5 days if seeing numbers under 200, except for the first time when you see green when you hold for 10 cycles. After that green, Phobos cleared the bounce, but only got down to blue, so it's time to go up again. From the TR protocol:

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
Good luck with the increase.
 
Thank you both for your replies! I feel silly second-guessing myself constantly. I appreciate your more experienced advice.
 
The only silly question is one that isn't asked. There's a lot to learn and when they start hitting green you do want to be more careful.:bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top