4/8 Petey AMPS 424 +2 463

Laurie&Petey

Member Since 2024
4/7 Post

Oy vey! We haven't seen the red zone since January, just after diagnosis. :arghh::nailbiting::(

I have a few possibilities, the mini vaca is more stressful than it appears, I did not give Gaba yesterday, or he dropped too low last night? Also, the last few cans have been different (RAWZ consistency sucks) but I would hope the carbs havn't changed. I guess we may never know the cause.

Should I increase tonight?
 
Does anyone think he could be having withdrawals from 35mg of Gaba per day? I didn't even think it may be a possibility but just in case I gave him a dose this morning.
 
Oh no! :eek::eek::eek:
Sorry to see this Laurie.
Is there any chance he could have found and eaten something he shouldn't have? It is hard to make sense of.
Hope he comes down soon.
 
Oh no! :eek::eek::eek:
Sorry to see this Laurie.
Is there any chance he could have found and eaten something he shouldn't have? It is hard to make sense of.
Hope he comes down soon.
Thank you, Helen. Absolutely nothing he can get into here. But I oddly woke up from having a dream that he was being fed a sugary snack! Maybe I was sleep walking and made him pancakes hahaha. <sigh>
 
4/7 Post

Oy vey! We haven't seen the red zone since January, just after diagnosis. :arghh::nailbiting::(

I have a few possibilities, the mini vaca is more stressful than it appears, I did not give Gaba yesterday, or he dropped too low last night? Also, the last few cans have been different (RAWZ consistency sucks) but I would hope the carbs havn't changed. I guess we may never know the cause.

Should I increase tonight?
Hi Laurie, I guess anything is possible, maybe he dropped lower, and he did see greens a few days ago. Guess we really will never actually know. (I wish we could get specific answers, wouldn't that be nice?)
He will come back down, let's go Petey! Let your Mom enjoy the vacation and you all can have a rest from the regular routine!
Wishing you a stress free time, Laurie :bighug::bighug:
 
Does anyone think he could be having withdrawals from 35mg of Gaba per day? I didn't even think it may be a possibility but just in case I gave him a dose this morning.
Hi Laurie

I don't know, really but I do know that when I give certain meds I taper back rather than stop. I do that with Ondansetron form example. I think @Wendy&Neko and @tiffmaxee would be good to ask this question.

I can imagine it must have been scary to see red again and I think that any change can trigger BG reaction. Might be too soon to determine. If it was me I'd wait at least one or even two more cycles.

Good luck with the increase if you decide to do it.
Wishing you a lovely Teusday :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I did a trial of gabapentin with Neko - it didn't work. I stopped it without tapering and there was no impact. She even got up to 50 mg/day.

To add to your list of possibilities on the numbers is a fur shot last night. Did you sniff the injection area? What made you think a FS on the 6th?

And final possibility is some glucose toxicity due to holding the dose too long. When following TR, we hold a dose seeing green nadirs (note the plural) for 10 cycles, unless they are tightly regulated. Which Petey is not. His body is getting used to higher numbers. Time for that increase.

Finally, don't sweat it if they see a cycle or two of higher numbers. Our older kitties are allowed an off day. Of more concern is if this is a beginning of a trend.
 
One more thing, if you are wondering if you should change the dose, put "dose increase?" and the "?" icon on your thread - that will make it more likely that someone will answer you. I see you asked that question previously in your thread too. Those of us checking out kitties look for the subject line prefix "?" and questions on thread titles. Once your question is answered, remove the "?" prefix. Thank you.
 
Hi Laurie

I don't know, really but I do know that when I give certain meds I taper back rather than stop. I do that with Ondansetron form example. I think @Wendy&Neko and @tiffmaxee would be good to ask this question.

I can imagine it must have been scary to see red again and I think that any change can trigger BG reaction. Might be too soon to determine. If it was me I'd wait at least one or even two more cycles.

Good luck with the increase if you decide to do it.
Wishing you a lovely Teusday :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you for tagging them. Certainly at a loss for those high highs. Never even gave tapering a thought. :banghead:

He seemed very comfy and relaxed yesterday. So I'm really hoping it's not stress related.
 
One more thing, if you are wondering if you should change the dose, put "dose increase?" and the "?" icon on your thread - that will make it more likely that someone will answer you. I see you asked that question previously in your thread too. Those of us checking out kitties look for the subject line prefix "?" and questions on thread titles. Once your question is answered, remove the "?" prefix. Thank you.
Thank you. I will increase tonight.

I thought FS the other night cause of the high evening numbers... but that was also the afternoon we came to the lake.... so I guess while he doesn't seem stressed it may be causing higher numbers. But he was still due for an increase I think.
 
Uh, I'm so sorry Laurie :( Red is a really hard one to see on the SS, especially when it's out of nowhere like this. I understand the need to understand where things like this come from, makes it so difficult when we can't figure out the reason.
Regardless, I hope Petey comes back down safely and soon :bighug: Sending hugs!!
 
I'm sorry, Laurie! Like Briana said, it's really rough to see red, especially after so long and out of nowhere. :(

I definitely don't have nearly as much experience as Wendy, obviously, but FWIW I was told to definitely taper Xander if I ever take him off of the Gabapentin (he's on 50mg twice/day). I have no idea if that would cause BG rises other than maybe increased stress because the Gabapentin is calming?
 
I'm sorry, Laurie! Like Briana said, it's really rough to see red, especially after so long and out of nowhere. :(

I definitely don't have nearly as much experience as Wendy, obviously, but FWIW I was told to definitely taper Xander if I ever take him off of the Gabapentin (he's on 50mg twice/day). I have no idea if that would cause BG rises other than maybe increased stress because the Gabapentin is calming?
I wish I knew! He doesn't seem stressed here, I've always thought he loved it, especially being an only child here haha.

If it was cause he dropped too low... I'll know soon enough with the increase.
upload_2025-4-8_19-50-56.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-4-8_19-50-56.jpeg
    upload_2025-4-8_19-50-56.jpeg
    77.3 KB · Views: 139
Uh, I'm so sorry Laurie :( Red is a really hard one to see on the SS, especially when it's out of nowhere like this. I understand the need to understand where things like this come from, makes it so difficult when we can't figure out the reason.
Regardless, I hope Petey comes back down safely and soon :bighug: Sending hugs!!
Thank you, :bighug::bighug: we need a lot of hugs with this disease.
 
I wish I knew! He doesn't seem stressed here, I've always thought he loved it, especially being an only child here haha.

If it was cause he dropped too low... I'll know soon enough with the increase.
View attachment 73481

Well obviously you know him best, so if he doesn't seem stressed it must not be that! Which is great. Hopefully you're right and it's just a bounce. :)

That picture is so cute!!! I love his soft colors. He's like a gently baked cookie!
 
Well obviously you know him best, so if he doesn't seem stressed it must not be that! Which is great. Hopefully you're right and it's just a bounce. :)

That picture is so cute!!! I love his soft colors. He's like a gently baked cookie!
Hahaha, cooookies! I certainly don't want him to be stressed here it is my peace and serenity... I'll know next time if his numbers do the same thing. He's extra cuddly here and I've wondered if it's cause he's anxious?? Wish I was a psychic!
 
Hahaha, cooookies! I certainly don't want him to be stressed here it is my peace and serenity... I'll know next time if his numbers do the same thing. He's extra cuddly here and I've wondered if it's cause he's anxious?? Wish I was a psychic!

Everything would be so much easier for all of us if we were psychic, at least when it came to our cats! I feel like with him being halfway upside down he sure doesn't seem anxious! He seems relaxed as can be!
 
Back
Top