4/8 Nonnie AMPS74 no shot +1 89 +3 129 +5 120 +7 147

Status
Not open for further replies.

Phyllis

Member Since 2012
I will continue testing and posting but would appreciate knowing from you experienced LL members how to handle it tonight. I probably should have given him a low dose this am, but too late now and I'm pleased that he has not skyrocketed. He's been on 1.5-1.75 (hard to tell for sure on my needles which are the smallest increments I could find.) I'm thinking if he's still in the blue, give him 1 unit???
 
We use a BG below 50 as the indicator to lower the dose. Nonnie had a rather nice PS number, although lower than you are used to shooting. I would continue on with the 1.75U dose. Shooting lower is harder, but if you delay, without feeding for 20-30 minutes and see that Nonnie is either surfing or rising, then it's a good time to start learning to shoot low - provided that you are home to monitor, have high carb food and plenty of strips.

When cats start the cycle lower, they often have a very flat cycle with little movement in numbers. The saying is to shoot low to stay low. The more time in those normal numbers, the more healing happens. Take a look at the latter part of Davidson's SS. Shawna started shooting green PS back at 2.75U and he's been regularly earning deductions by spending a week in normal numbers.
 
One other question which may sound stupid. How critical is it to give the shot immediately after food. Sometimes I could stick to the 12/12 better if I could wait 30 minutes before injection. I was always told that the shot should be immediately after eating, but that was by vets who I've learned don't always have the knowledge and definitely the experience of LL members.
 
There are no stupid questions here - only answers you don't know yet! Most people here give the shot while the cat's head is still in the food bowl. My Neko inhales her food, so I shoot a couple minutes later. Can you delay the testing and feeding until closer to shot time. If Nonnie is at high numbers it's not that big a deal, but if in the morning you are faced with a 74 like today, a lot can happen in 1/2 hour. It's best to test and feed just before shooting.
 
i agree with all wendy said. shooting a lower number can really improve blood sugar numbers overall and it can flatten out a cycle into more of a line than a curve. it can also really help with reducing bouncing. i think of it as a gift!

but you do have to be able to monitor and have supplies.

we also shot while punkin was eating. he was distracted and it was easiest for us. i wouldn't worry about varying your shooting time by a few minutes here and there. we've learned that Lantus can be more flexible than we used to think, but we also know Lantus likes consistency and shooting every 12 hours is helpful for that.
 
Hi Phyllis,

I just wanted to stop in and see how you and Nonnie were doing. It looks like you've been seeing some really great numbers. Great job!

Shelly
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top