4/8- NO more black, Sam is 139 for his amps

Status
Not open for further replies.

NadjaAndSam

Member Since 2012
So last night I was able to get some numbers, he tested 283 +3, and 128 +6.
He tested 139 for his amps (actually 30 min earlier) I'm trying to bring him back to a 9am/9pm schedule instead of 10am/10pm but I guess this isn't happening quite yet.
I'll wait a little bit and test again. I still plan on giving him a fat 1u when he is a little over 200 or just a 1u. I've noticed in the past when he tested low 200s I have reduced the dose because he wasn't too high but he ended up on red 12hrs later. I want to see if I can keep him on close to normal numbers.
I'm also going out of town in 1 month and I'm getting very nervous :/
I found 2 possible people to come by and give his shot (although I don't know yet how much they charge yet) and I will ask a downstairs neighbor to feed him in the middle of the day but I'm still worried. :-| How about if he isn't high enough for his shot? i doubt this person will wait until he is 200 specially if it's in the morning when they have to work. Ughh I don't know what to do! I don't know if taking him to a kennel at a hospital will be better in the sense that people will take a better care of him but he will be freaked out. :sad:
Taking him out of state is out of option, he gets nervous just by stepping out at my porch :-|
 
Well, Sam is settling into this dose. That test last night tells you exactly why he's been so wonky lately, he's been bouncing. Nadir isn't so low you need to reduce, hopefully you can deal with long cycles in your schedule
 
Thanks Cathy!
Depending on the day I can deal with a long cycle :-| he ate a little bit, tested him 30 min later and he is 151.
So you said because his nadir wasn't too low this means the dose is too high. I thought if his nadir wasn't too low I would have to raise the dose? so complicated!! :-|
 
No, you are correct and maybe I wasn't clear, hard to type on phone. Dose is good for now, running too long can be a sign of pancreatic function returning.now that bounces are clearing nadir may drop a bit a you are not fighting liver dump, but you want to see greens.think you'll be fine. Check out holly and Josie to see what they are up to, similar to you right now. I would stick to your dose both cycles and see how it goes. You can try feeding about half ounce and testing in an hour to see if pancreas wants to play, number should hold or fall if it does.
 
Thank you Cathy! I ended up giving him 1u instead of a fat1.
I fed him a little bit, 30 min later he was 151, then waited another 30 min and he was 215. I gave 1 u then.
So is the pancreas playing if the bg levels don't go up? How do I know if the pancreas is working? by saying "number should hold or fall" do you mean that the pancreas is working if he doesn't go up, just remains flat or goes down?
thanks again for your patience and I will look up holly and josie :D
 
Yes, if you are later than nadir in a cycle and you feed and numbers hold steady or even better they drop then the p is active, more impressive at plus 12 when you know the insulin is totally gone than at plus 8.hope you start seeing this soon. Lots of discussion of pertinent info in Holly Josie previous thread from couple days ago, wish could type more but takes forever.you're doing good!
 
Mann Sam tested 346 for his +6 ughh. I left for about 3 hrs, left food for him but maybe my other cat ate it.
I will look for that thread!!
 
So he's still a little bouncy during the day, hopefully that will settle down soon. Got my computer back, so I don't have to be so short anymore and hopefully won't be as confusing to deal with. And punctuation and spelling should be improved, that swype text just kills me.

Here is a good ss to look at, this is kphowe's Mya and she looks super similar to Sam at this point and is also on 1u. She is seeing the same thing currently, nice long surfs of blue at night and resistant cycles during the day. She was trying reducing from 1u during the day since she was having to shoot blue amps, but it didn't work so now she is shooting 1u BID again.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/pub ... utput=html

And here's the thread I was talking about for Holly and Josie, there's a lot that was covered here on longer than normal cycles, shooting lower numbers, and Mr. P.

viewtopic.php?f=24&t=67845
 
Thank you Cathy for taking your time to send me those links! I will read them tomorrow since I'm past my bed time lol
He tested 368 for his pmps, and once again gave him a fat 1u.
I'm curious to know if he will have a black number tomorrow morning , I hope he doesn't!
have a great night!
 
A lot of cats do that
one cycle they do great and the second cycle they are flat..
hopefully that will not continue for you!
Good luck :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top