4/8 Minnie home PMPS 388, +1 413, +2 376, +3 381, +4 436 +7 HI 0.5uR, +9 414 after a green afternoon

Liz & Minnie

Member Since 2021
yesterday

Picked her up at noon, right in time for the next (now doubled) potassium dose so she got that a bit late. Insulin was all over the place while in hospital.
home 4/5 AM 4.75uL, +5 0.5uR hospital 4/5 AM +6 0.5uR, PM 5uL
4/6 AM 4uL, PM 4.5uL
4/7 AM 4uL, PM 4uL +4 1uR
4/8 AM 5uL

They said back to 5 tonight but I'm inclined to revert to 4.75. She's on 10am/10pm so I think will bring it to 9:30pm tonight.

She's got another Libre so that will make it easier and internist said it's tracking closely with their glucometer (I think I already said that!).

BG dropped pretty fast on the way home, 30 in 30min so I gave her some AD 1/4 oz at a time. When it got down to 75 I did give 1/4 oz of the HC w/d. Looks like a pj party tonight.

Appetite good since coming home though she only had 1/2 of a potassium via pill pocket. Ate around the other 2 quarters. She is pretty quiet still so I'm giving her a bit of space, though I did bring her back from sitting as far away as possible by the door. That was where she was when really really sick.

Her K already down 0.1 this morning since yesterday so I am waiting for her to call back. We have a follow-up appt Mon but I'm not happy waiting that long for a re-check. Still waiting on the aldosterone results. She's on Orbax for high WBC/possible infection.

Discharge notes: "her ongoing declining potassium despite supplementation suggests there is a component or loss of potassium through the kidneys. This could be due to renal tubular acidosis or hyperaldosteronism (Conn's syndrome). I suspect that since her vomiting gets worse when her potassium is low, the vomiting is secondary to gastric stasis associated iwth low potassium. She may also still have a component of pancreatitis."
 
Last edited:
Well, if I am nervous about her being home, then you REALLY must be very anxious. I hope she can hold her potassium with the extra, otherwise I think you will have problems. Monday does seem like a long time. Do they have Saturday hours to they could check K on Saturday. Will you give the potassium through the feeding tube? Is it a pill that you crush and mix with water, or what?
 
Well, if I am nervous about her being home, then you REALLY must be very anxious. I hope she can hold her potassium with the extra, otherwise I think you will have problems. Monday does seem like a long time. Do they have Saturday hours to they could check K on Saturday. Will you give the potassium through the feeding tube? Is it a pill that you crush and mix with water, or what?

It's a 24/7 hospital so I can take her, I just want to schedule it for Sat. They also sent her home with a bag for subq w/potassium but that's no use to me without the numbers.

I have potassium pills, powder and gel! 2 pills or 2 scoops or 1tsp gel. She ate 2 pill pockets which take 1/4 pill each so she had 1/2 pill then refused. Refused food with gel in it, so I will continue taking the powder that you put on food but instead dissolve and give via the etube. Right now my panic is dropping BG. Hopefully we are close to nadir now. Luckily she is eating, less stress for us all.
 
Neko wasn't particularly happy with her food with potassium powder in it either. Good to have the tube as a backup way to get meds in Minnie.

Just took a look at the SS. Last night they gave 1.0u R then did no more testing? :eek: Good plan on the HC to give you a break.
 
Neko wasn't particularly happy with her food with potassium powder in it either. Good to have the tube as a backup way to get meds in Minnie.

Just took a look at the SS. Last night they gave 1.0u R then did no more testing? :eek: Good plan on the HC to give you a break.
They may have tested but didn't give me the results. I will ask for them. She has the Libre so easy enough but they were using a monitor and the data doesn't transfer to the app on my phone. And I am using the app on an old phone which won't sync up with the website (still trying to figure that one out).

She does not seem to be responding too fast to the HC. I am mixing up HC and MC. Normally I would be thrilled with these numbers but there are so many other things going on!
 
Neko wasn't particularly happy with her food with potassium powder in it either. Good to have the tube as a backup way to get meds in Minnie.

Just took a look at the SS. Last night they gave 1.0u R then did no more testing? :eek: Good plan on the HC to give you a break.
Oh, and what do you think for her dose tonight? They have her on 5u but we had dropped her to 4.75u just before she went in the last time. Thanks.
 
So glad to hear Minnie is back home with you:joyful:. This is wonderful news!! You're doing an awesome job taking care of her.:bighug:
Thanks so much. At least this time I feel a bit more prepared. Still super anxious but better prepared. And she is eating, which helps my state of mind...though it hurts my heart that she is hiding away as far away as possible - in the corner by the front door.

And I'm still super anxious about the potassium levels, I am not convinced even the increased oral dose is enough since the numbers dropped. Only by 0.1 but still...wrong way.
 
I think beginning a little boing at +10. She's sleeping so I'll wait til shot time to feed. She does look relaxed sleeping this time even if still as far away as possible! No purring for me yet.

Dr called and gave me yesterday's BG so I updated her s/s. I would say 4u is definitely not enough for her right now. Dr said not to worry about re-checking potassium, wait til Monday unless she starts acting poorly again then take her to the ER. They think the potassium numbers between yesterday and today are essentially the same (4.2 down to 4.1). "Read the animal and not the numbers".

I don't think they appreciate what it does to me while I'm trying to figure out if I need to take her back!
 
If she is zooming up at PMPS, you can consider a little R. But the data yet again shows 1 unit R is too much. I think after she got into the 30’s at 5 units a few days ago, I would be reluctant to take her back up there on her Lev dose. Maybe a bit of R to help keep her lower.
 
If she is zooming up at PMPS, you can consider a little R. But the data yet again shows 1 unit R is too much. I think after she got into the 30’s at 5 units a few days ago, I would be reluctant to take her back up there on her Lev dose. Maybe a bit of R to help keep her lower.
@Wendy&Neko Scheduled shot time is an hour away but I'd like to bring it up 30min to get back on our schedule. She's at 337 now. I'm also hesitant with their recommendations. What dose do you suggest for tonight, both L and R?

Back to where we were on 4/5 before last hospital admission - 4.75uL + 0.5uR? Or something different?

thank you!

ETA - I can do this! Woke her up to give 4.75uL + 0.5uR 15min early, and she's troughing down 1oz AD in a lot of water. Will give her more. I know it's MC but don't want to mess with too many variables right now, plus I know she is happy to eat this right now.
 
Last edited:
Good job with the dosing. If you are up, a +4 will help decide if 0.5 units R is a good amount fornthisnsituation.
 
@Wendy&Neko Scheduled shot time is an hour away but I'd like to bring it up 30min to get back on our schedule. She's at 337 now. I'm also hesitant with their recommendations. What dose do you suggest for tonight, both L and R?

Back to where we were on 4/5 before last hospital admission - 4.75uL + 0.5uR? Or something different?

thank you!

ETA - I can do this! Woke her up to give 4.75uL + 0.5uR 15min early, and she's troughing down 1oz AD in a lot of water. Will give her more. I know it's MC but don't want to mess with too many variables right now, plus I know she is happy to eat this right now.
Oh yes. AD is popular with my cats. They all love it and will try almost anything to get it away from the sick kitty who is eating it. It has a lot of calories. The only problem with it is that it’s very high fat and can give diarrhea to some cats. But I am so glad Minnie is enjoying it.
 
Oh yes. AD is popular with my cats. They all love it and will try almost anything to get it away from the sick kitty who is eating it. It has a lot of calories. The only problem with it is that it’s very high fat and can give diarrhea to some cats. But I am so glad Minnie is enjoying it.
Basically anything I put down for Minnie is popular with Sam, even if it's the same thing. Good tip on the diarrhea, will try and transition her back to everything else which is all ultra-low fat after the extremely temporary hyperlipidemia diagnosis. So temporary that it was reversed by the time the meds arrived!

She is still not feeling too great though I think Sam is part of the reason she's hiding. At 530 I woke to discover she'd sneaked out to the kitchen and BG was through the roof, so gave her some more R and she happily ate a bit of the peking turducken. After a while I put her in the bathroom to get some peace. Got her potassium and a bit more food through the tube at +10ish.

I think the insulin dose needs some tweaking. Looks like 0.5uR was not enough at PMPS 388 and rising, first data point for the R scale. Curious what her AMPS number will be like.
 
Basically anything I put down for Minnie is popular with Sam, even if it's the same thing. Good tip on the diarrhea, will try and transition her back to everything else which is all ultra-low fat after the extremely temporary hyperlipidemia diagnosis. So temporary that it was reversed by the time the meds arrived!

She is still not feeling too great though I think Sam is part of the reason she's hiding. At 530 I woke to discover she'd sneaked out to the kitchen and BG was through the roof, so gave her some more R and she happily ate a bit of the peking turducken. After a while I put her in the bathroom to get some peace. Got her potassium and a bit more food through the tube at +10ish.

I think the insulin dose needs some tweaking. Looks like 0.5uR was not enough at PMPS 388 and rising, first data point for the R scale. Curious what her AMPS number will be like.
Yes, I don't understand what happened with the hyperlipedemia diagnosis anyway... I'm very glad she was back to normal blood fat levels... but the whole thing is so strange. Poor Minnie.... I forgot that she and brother Sam do not get along well.
 
Oops... I'd better post on your new day's thread (if you've made one for 4/9) Not sure what time you are shooting these days since the vet hospital changed everything around.
 
Back
Top