4/8 Lovey PMPS +4.25 83 HC+ 5.25 93

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/8 Lovey PMPS 158 +3 108 +4.25 83 HC

Hi Catherine!!

You don't want to pull out the big guns (the HC) unless Lovey were to drop below 50!

I know it's kind of scary when you see those lower numbers, but the only way they "Earn" their reductions is to either drop below 50, or stay in normal numbers for a week. By pulling out the HC too soon, you have no way of knowing if Lovey may be earning a reduction because you're artificially keeping her numbers up

Hopefully she'll hop on her surfboard and stay in the upper greens or low blues the rest of the night!
 
Re: 4/8 Lovey PMPS 158 +3 108 +4.25 83 HC

Hi Chris and Nikki's mom,

I am still using the alpha trak. I need to switch over. It is pretty costly, but I keep postponing since I don't like change. I bought the relion micro, but I haven't tried it yet.
 
Re: 4/8 Lovey PMPS 158 +3 108 +4.25 83 HC

We started with the AlphaTrak too and were reluctant to change. Once we did, we were very happy. It is actually easier to use the human meter and soooo much cheaper. You could use both meters for a few tests and see how they compare. I would agree not to pull out the HC until Lovey goes below 80 on the AlphaTrak. Let her earn that reduction. :mrgreen:
Liz
 
Oh yeah...Totally missed that you're using the alpha!

At this point, I'm lucky to remember how to type :lol:

Keep creeping up a little higher Lovey! No need for a pajama party tonight!
 
Catherine, when you get a moment, you might want to read a new document Jill posted in the Tight Regulation Sticky. The document is called Management of Diabetic Cats with Long-acting Insulin, the link is just above the red text near the top. It's an updated document by Roomp and Rand. They suggest using human calibrated meters, and also say that the difference at the low end is not as far apart as we used to think. The document shows that the difference with an AlphaTrak is 18 instead of 30. So, Lovey's not quite as low as you might have thought.
 
Thanks Wendy. I am going to check it out. Interesting. I wonder what the difference is at the higher end?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top