4/8 Logan AMPS 328, +6 387, PMPS 320

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kelly & Logan

Very Active Member
Yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=11302

Logan ate very well last night and this morning. DH2B fed him around +6 but didn't test him so we didn't get the spot check I wanted! Oh well...he ate a whole can for DH2B. This morning, he ate about 1 1/4 cans along with 1/4 chicken breast and 1/4 turkey breast. He's still drinking tons of water. We gave him about 50ml sub-q fluids last night. His ketone test was somewhere between negative and trace, so hopefully, the fluids took care of them. We'll try to get another test in today to see if they're negative.
 
Re: 4/8 Logan AMPS 328

Good Morning Kelly....so happy to hear about Logan's menu of things he ate! wow! That is so good that he is eating better now. Hoping that he continues! Thinking of you all.... :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/8 Logan AMPS 328

(((Kelly))) This is FANSTASTIC news indeed!!! flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat Thank goodness he ate for you all. Maybe he overheard our discussion of syringe feeding and didn't want to have any of that. :lol:

I hope the rest of the day is good and he continues to eat for you all. Give him a big squeeze and a kiss for me and Webber okay? cat_pet_icon You can take a breathe for today.
 
Re: 4/8 Logan AMPS 328

Yay for appy increase!! He sounds like he ate really well so far today!! I'm so happy for you guys. I hope this continues and he will soon be his happy purry self. He (and you guys!) have been through so much lately...you all deserve a major break!
 
Re: 4/8 Logan AMPS 328

Great news to hear Logan was a little Piggy today.
Hoping his tummy will have more room later.
So happy to hear.
Hugs.
 
Re: 4/8 Logan AMPS 328, +6 387

Ugh, he went the wrong way! :-x

He didn't eat especially well for DH2B at lunch time, but he finally managed to get 3/4 can of FF, 1/4 turkey breast and 1/8 chicken breast into him.

The vet is faxing me a recipe to try with Logan. It's chicken based. We don't want to put him on raw since he's on the pred but we are hoping he'll take to a home-cooked food better than commercial canned food. The FF has a lot of things in it that can't be good for IBD. it's worth a shot!
 
Re: 4/8 Logan AMPS 328

I'm so glad he's eating better. Maybe he ate less at lunch time because he was not used to eating so much and was full.

Good luck with the new recipe!
 
Came back down a bit for PMPS. He ate 1 can of FF tonight. There was quite a bit of liquipoo in the LB (perhaps b/c of the FF???). I went ahead and gave him the mirtz tonight. We might as well keep the stimulant on board for now.
 
I am glad to hear he's eating well and the pmps is lower; let's hope the poo firms up a bit.
Hopefully tomorrow will be a better day for poo and numbers!
 
Logan seems to feel ok, but he's been breathing heavy tonight. This happened the last time he was on this dose of pred (5mg bid). He also has trace ketones. I gave him some sub-q fluids. I only got about 60 ml in him, though - he gets squirmy! He does not like getting the fluids. He's at 7 units - tonight was cycle 7. I'm going to take him up to 7.5 in the morning. I'm afraid he's going to develop more ketones if not. UGH!

And this is why we can't keep him on pred long term....not at this dose, anyway, and the lower dose doesn't control the inflammation. His internist wants us to try the Leukeran again in a day or two assuming he's eating well and feeling well. We don't think the Leukeran caused any of his issues last week, but we want to make sure he's feeling ok before we start. If something similar happens again, we'll assume it is some sort of reaction to the Leukeran. The first couple of doses will be 3 days apart instead of 2 to slowly introduce it to his system. Hoping it will work since the pred does not seem to be the best option for him. His internist wants us to decrease the pred as soon as possible. These damn ketones!
 
Kelly & Logan said:
Logan seems to feel ok, but he's been breathing heavy tonight. This happened the last time he was on this dose of pred (5mg bid). He also has trace ketones. I gave him some sub-q fluids. I only got about 60 ml in him, though - he gets squirmy! He does not like getting the fluids. He's at 7 units - tonight was cycle 7. I'm going to take him up to 7.5 in the morning. I'm afraid he's going to develop more ketones if not. UGH!

And this is why we can't keep him on pred long term....not at this dose, anyway, and the lower dose doesn't control the inflammation. His internist wants us to try the Leukeran again in a day or two assuming he's eating well and feeling well. We don't think the Leukeran caused any of his issues last week, but we want to make sure he's feeling ok before we start. If something similar happens again, we'll assume it is some sort of reaction to the Leukeran. The first couple of doses will be 3 days apart instead of 2 to slowly introduce it to his system. Hoping it will work since the pred does not seem to be the best option for him. His internist wants us to decrease the pred as soon as possible. These damn ketones!

Perhaps you could ask your vet about trying 1 mg of leukeran instead of 2mg. How big a kitty is Logan? Quincy was probably about 14 lbs when he started on leukeran, but his dose was only 1mg. I can't remember if it was every day at the very start, but we backed down to every other day relatively quickly and currently are at MWF. There are many different leukeran protocols... I am wondering if something a little lower/gentler could be used to start Logan off on since it's for IBD not lymphoma.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top