4/8 Kaz AMPS 351 - Why is there such a swing in the numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Claire and Kaz

Member Since 2022
Kaz had to spend 5 days in the hospital with DKA and I would like for this to not happen again. I am trying to get the hang of this we are still working on ear pricking but will have to resume this once the Libre button stops working.

In the meantime can someone please look at my spreadsheet and tell mw why I am having such large swings in the BG level?

The insulin dosage is the same and the food (Tiki) has zero carbs and Purina DM is for diabetic cats.

I need to figure out what I am doing wrong to cause these spikes and how to stop them. I don't want another DKA episode.

Ketones are negative tested today.

Thanks Claire
 
Thanks for starting new one!

So what you're seeing is bounces (when they drop lower and/or faster than they're used to, the liver perceives it as a threat and dumps stored glycogen and counterregulatory hormones that spike BG):
  • 4/6 - we don't know how low he went but green is very possible. Those 400s overnight are a bounce
  • 4/7 - he broke the bounce. Bounce breaking cycles are often a long slow slide down with a later than usual nadir. He then had a nice stretch of blues overnight and I suspect was heading into a bounce with the AM shot -
  • 4/8 - I think the shot hit at just the right time to flatten the early part of the bounce, but then the insulin fizzled out and 400s again
Its all very normal, he's just not used to the blue numbers. If I had to guess, tonight will be a bounce break with another later nadir
 
I know how you feel Claire, I had such a hard time understanding why I was seeing the numbers I was seeing when I was starting out with Hendrick.

it's a bit to wrap your head around, imo. Melissa does a great job explaining but I struggled to grasp it to be perfectly honest. It took me a while. Hang in there you're doing great!
 
Yes I think right now the key point, especially post-DKA, is that it is normal, and there's nothing more you can be doing at the moment. Without knowing how low he was on the 6th I can't recommend an increase at the moment.

I was looking at notes is he back on low carb? Or are you still having to give other stuff to get him to eat?

I'd like to see him with about 3 days of nearly normal appetite before thinking about an increase.
 
You are doing well Claire. That is great there are no ketones.
As long as there are no ketones and you are feeding lots of food and making sure he is drinking water, and you are not skipping insulin doses …….he is on the right track. These are the things that will keep him from getting ketones again.
It is normal to have bouncing, so don’t worry about that. I know it is frustrating but keep posting and we are keeping an eye on the dose and everything else.
How is his appetite?
Can you put no ketones in the remarks column of the SS please each time you test?
 
Thanks all
Early evening yesterday his number obviously went so high that it did not register simply said hi. Not going to lie this really scared me.

Yes he is 100% back on the right food.

Just as an observer and someone that is watching this with nowhere as near knowledge as all of you this is what my brain is telling me (1 of 2 things)

1) For his morning meals he is getting Tiki 1 small can half the calories needed. (usual food) 100% zero carb. Last week I was coming home early from work at around 1pm every day and gave him a second small can. During this period his numbers seemed ok and this totaled 150 calories (give or take) which is half of what I was told to give him.

Now the second meal is not Tiki its this Purina select DM that the vet wants me to give him. Basically 1 can is 150 calories. So I give him 3/4 can at 5.30pm before insulin and the rest a couple hours later. Now I think this second food even though its supposed to be for diabetic cats may be the cause. I don't think its zero carbs like Tiki.

NOW MY SECOND THOUGHT

2) He's less active during the morning cycle as I am not home and he probably sleeps more but then I come home now he's awake more active he's wanting food all the time and his levels go up but after we go to bed and his activity level decreases again it seems to right itself.

So my brain would tell me that in the mornings he needs to stay at 1 1/2 units but maybe the evening insulin should increase to 1 3/4 or 2 to compensate for the extra activity before bed.

Again this is just my observation and if I had no one else around to ask this is probably the conclusion I would draw.

I think its one of these two.

Right now just happy he's eating, that the button is still working, his coat is less greasy.


One other thing my cat smells different now is that normal or is this because of the insulin?

Thanks All

Claire
 
Yes the BG swings will alter their activity levels and such.

Not sure about the smell....insulin has a distinct smell if you happen to do a furshot, other than that not sure...

Yes the DM is relatively high in carbs (10%) definitely higher than the tiki. You don't have to target zero carbs, I'd just say something around 5% ish https://catinfo.org/chart/index.php
 
Thanks FrostD I have actually been studying that chart I printed it so I have a copy to reference when needed. Quite eye opening.
I just wanted to see if my theory was right which was why I have gone back to all Tiki for a few days.
 
Kaz's BG has dropped to 51 just gave him some food but am a bit worried as this is only 2 hours after the insulin shot.
Do I need to do anything else. Do I need to take him to the hospital?
 
Thanks I posted new thread with 911 as I'm freakin out. Just got out of the hospital really don't want to go back. Have just fed him some kibble (about 10 minutes ago) increased to 73.

Thanks for responding.
 
Test again 30 mins from last test. He usually nadirs pretty early so hopefully won't have to keep this up long.

New dose is now 1.25U...that was a drastic change just from food, so normally I'd recommend a 0.5U reduction...I am hesitant to do that due to recent DKA.

It is your choice. If you can keep an eye on him, and you can do the manual tests in case the Libre gives you trouble, do the 1.25U. He will likely bounce overnight and give you a similar cycle to 4/7 tomorrow
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top