4/8 Harry - Dose advice Day 5 still not below 350?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harrycat

Member Since 2012
Hi all,

Please see s/sheet attached. We are now on day 5 and I haven't seen him drop below 350 (19) in the last 2 days :(

He is eating OK, if anything, he is eating LESS than what he was when he was high previously (he is not 'starving'). He is well in himself. I am just concerned that we are not getting low enough readings. I have been getting up at night a few times to get night readings too - hubby has tried twice but it not as good at getting blood (he needs more practice!)

I would appreciate your advice, I know it's early days :)

Jax
 
It does look like it's time to increase, but let's see how the rest of the day goes.
I can't tell what BG numbers Harry has from your spreadsheet because the US sheet of the spreadsheet isn't working. I just have to go by the colors you have. Can you work on that today?
 
If you scroll down the US one is working further down where the latest info is - for some reason it doesn't like the old data at the top which I think was pasted in as someone else helped me set it up. Will see how I get on but the lastest info since the Lantus is on there :cool:

Thanks so much
x
 
Good Morning Jax ~O) Welcome to the Lantus Land Family!!! I didn't introduce myself; my name is Kat and Gobbles is my awesome sugar boy. He just turned 11 and is an adopted dump, neutered gray tabby. He was dx'd in November of 2012 and we've been doing the sugar boogie ever since. Patience, patience, patience; we'll get those high numbers lower. Wonderful job with the testing!!! Have a great week.
 
Morning Jax, and Harry, and DH, kids and horse!!!
It's always a busy day at your house! You're doing great and i'm sure DH will get his practice sessions in and he'll be great at testing also.
The US spreadsheet is working. No dose advice from me.. i'm still asking for advice! take good care.. mary and ollie
 
I concur with Dyana about the increase, and waiting to see how the rest of the day plays out. As you increase in dose amounts, it'll take time for the #s to start coming down. How much time it'll take, however, will depend upon Harry's system, and how he reacts to the insulin. You just need patience, and a whole of it. :lol: Welcome to the board! :-D
 
[b:z0h1snq3][url=http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581:z0h1snq3]Tight Regulation Protocol[/url][/b] said:
Increasing the dose:

  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Given that Harry's nadirs have generally been above 300, I'd suggest increasing his dose to 1.5u.
 
Hi guys .. no dosing advice from me .. I know it's hard seeing our kitties so high and feeling like we aren't doing anything about it .. but there's a protocol to be followed and eventually those numbers will come down .. in time, I'm sure there's a pair of patience pants floating around here somewhere you can use! Have a great day guys!
 
Hello Harry and Jax! I'm fairly new also, so I don't have dosing advice, just wanted to stop by and say welcome! I know how overwhelming things can seem at the beginning but thankfully there are some amazing people here to help you through everything! Harry is a lucky kitteh to have caring beans to help him feel like a happy, healthy sugarcat!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top