? 4/8 Fistuk AMPS 74, +3 94, +7.5 83 PMPS 74, +2.75 81, +9.75 158 ::painkiller

Fistuk & Shelly

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-92-3-25-79-7-76-pmps-97.299881/#post-3262453

Hi everyone :)

I've got a trippy cat :p:banghead:

Last night he looked off. Didn't want to eat so supper was all syringe fed. Also didn't want snack @+3pm and breakfast was all syringe fed.

He looked in pain last night but I didn't give him painkillers, I thought it might be ok by morning. When it wasn't I called the vet first thing.

We're almost out of painkiller. According to what I've described, she said it's probably pain. She suggested I'd come by to pick up more painkillers and she'd give him another type and Mirtazapin.

The stronger painkiller is opiod based (says Bupaq P on the label but I'm not sure if it's english or german). After half an hour that I gave him the med i tried food. Not only that he doesn't want to eat just the sight or smell of food gets him completely off.

And then he just sits there and stares at mid-air:p:p:p He's completely trippy since. He's rolling over with just a bit of touch.

Normally he'd sleep but for the last two hours he's just looking around, listening to the birds sing and who knows what else goes on in his trippy mind.

I also gave him the Mirtazapin. Just a waste of money. i tried it before and it didn't work. She said maybe it'll work this time. Nada.

We'll see if he's even willing to touch food or that he thinks that drugs are just enough :joyful::joyful::joyful::joyful: I hope he at least enjoys it. I'm def not giving him more of that stuff.

Wishing everyone a joyful day/evening :bighug:


In the pics: Ntes from the journal of a trippy cat :p
upload_2025-4-8_18-30-31.jpeg


upload_2025-4-8_18-32-7.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-4-8_18-30-31.jpeg
    upload_2025-4-8_18-30-31.jpeg
    78.8 KB · Views: 130
  • upload_2025-4-8_18-32-7.jpeg
    upload_2025-4-8_18-32-7.jpeg
    71.1 KB · Views: 134
Loving all the green!:D

What dose of Bupaq P did you give? Like Karen, sounds like buprenorphine to me too. It was a game changer for Neko, she was on it for a couple years for her arthritis. Bupre is often overdosed. I had to give some to Neko's buddy, and he had the same dose as Neko, but I hadn't noticed the concentration was way more - it was a liquid. It was not his regular vet - and ER vet on a Sunday. He walked around like a drunken sailor until I lowered the dose.

You could reduce the dose or split it amongst more frequent dosings.
 
Hi Shelly, I hope the meds help Fistuk feel much better. And hope he's less trippy soon. He looks pretty relaxed on his pretty blanket in the sun. Hugs to you both! :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Well, he certainly looks relaxed.:p The opioid painkiller must be buprenorphine. It was the only thing that helped my other cat, who had a painful oral cancer. I remember the dose being tiny, like a drop applied to his gums. I found this:

https://www.webmd.com/pets/cats/what-to-know-buprenorphine-for-cats

Maybe a smaller dose would make him not quite so loopy while still providing relief?
Loving all the green!:D

What dose of Bupaq P did you give? Like Karen, sounds like buprenorphine to me too. It was a game changer for Neko, she was on it for a couple years for her arthritis. Bupre is often overdosed. I had to give some to Neko's buddy, and he had the same dose as Neko, but I hadn't noticed the concentration was way more - it was a liquid. It was not his regular vet - and ER vet on a Sunday. He walked around like a drunken sailor until I lowered the dose.

You could reduce the dose or split it amongst more frequent dosings.

It looks like 0.3ml. According to the link you attached, Karen looks like it's too much.
Poor Neko.It's very unpleasant to go through this. Fistuk looks at us as if trying to understand what happened to him. He's so alert, he hasn't closed his eyes now for 5 hours!

I hope it wears off soon. I hate the thought that he trusts me so much and lets me do whatever to him and then I overdose him.
 
I can't say he's relaxed, Marielle. He's looking as if he's not sure what's happening to him, he's wide alert and I can't say that he's necessarily enjoying it
Awwwww...no more of that nasty stuff (or at least not so much of it) for Fistuk! He does look relaxed in the photo, which is why I commented, because I've given drugs to animals before when the effect left them fearful or confused, which was definitely disturbing to me (and them). I hope it wears off soon!!
 
While he is so so cute, he does look a bit wobbly in those photos. Trippy boy for sure. It must be an unpleasant feeling not having control or awareness for him.
Hope a lesser dose will be right for him and bring him back to normality! Lots of hugs :bighug:
 
Aww, I'm so sorry that poor Fistuk is in pain and now won't eat! :( I can imagine that he's feeling very weird and confused. I hope the drugs wear off and that he's feeling better soon. :bighug:
 
Poor sweetie ... I sure hope it wears off soon. As distressing as it is, it's not your fault, Shelly -- you are doing your best every day, listening to expert advice, and learning as you go, just like the rest of us. This too shall pass, and I know you are doing everything to reassure him in the meantime.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Awwwww...no more of that nasty stuff (or at least not so much of it) for Fistuk! He does look relaxed in the photo, which is why I commented, because I've given drugs to animals before when the effect left them fearful or confused, which was definitely disturbing to me (and them). I hope it wears off soon!!
Thanks, Marielle xx He was confused and fearful but I'm aware it wasn't easy to spot from a pic. And TBH at first I didn't pick up on it myself
 
While he is so so cute, he does look a bit wobbly in those photos. Trippy boy for sure. It must be an unpleasant feeling not having control or awareness for him.
Hope a lesser dose will be right for him and bring him back to normality! Lots of hugs :bighug:
Thanks, Briana. It was very unpleasant for all of us. It continued all night... I'm not giving him another drop of that stuff :bighug:
 
Poor sweetie ... I sure hope it wears off soon. As distressing as it is, it's not your fault, Shelly -- you are doing your best every day, listening to expert advice, and learning as you go, just like the rest of us. This too shall pass, and I know you are doing everything to reassure him in the meantime.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
I know you're right, Karen and I'm still feeling guilty. I should have asked about it in the forum before giving it to him and that's what I'm going to do form now on. No matter how great this vet is, and she did an amazing duregry, she's still a vet and when it comes to meds I'm afraid they're way too light handed on meds and dosing. It's been a nightmare of a night here. And at some point I started fearing that it won't pass and that it's created a damage I won't know how to handle myself
I appreciate your kind words :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
As you can see by the hour ( a wee one for me ) it was a rough night. Fistuk kept on walking around the house restlessm walking heavy, drunken like, thumping his steps, not knowing where to place himself.
At some point I heard he stopped moving around and I thought he might have finally processed that awful stuff and it's out.
When I woke up to the toilet I just checked on him and he woke up immediately. I turned on the light and saw that his front paws were covered by brown-red stuff. I wasn't sure at first what it was but I saw the pile of crap on a carpet in the living room which he probably stepped on.

He is now finally rested, on bed next to me (DH fled to his room so he can get some rest to take care of Fistuk tomorrow morning before going to work).

I was wondering about giving him half a capsule of gabapentin to relax - thoughts?

I have metamizole, which has helped him so far and has not caused any side effects. Should I probably give him one in the morning?
@Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee @Angela & Cleo would appreciate your input
 
I'm not sure he was relieved of pain, Laurie. I really don't. What I am sure of is that it made him trippy and that it made him very uncomfortable to have this altered state :bighug:
:( I'm so sorry, I know you feel terrible for him. :bighug::bighug::cat:

When Petey was admitted for possible DKA, his discharge papers were at least 3 pages of meds, mostly narcotics including methadone! I was mortified for the little guy. It looked like a drug experiment there were so many.

They are amazingly resilent and trusting.
 
Back
Top