4/8 Doodles AMPS 471 PMPS 367 (2.5R) +2 289 +5 326

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doodles & Karen

Member Since 2015
Doodles 4/7 Gave Doodles 3u R this morning. He's vocal and bossy which is his new thing these days. He's bird and bunny watching, also continues to steel water from any cup unattended. Once he claims it we leave it out.

We actually got rain last night and maybe more today...first time since Jan. 30th! Need to help DH in the shop in between Doodle duty and run a few errands.

Vines and prayers to all the kitties and beans :bighug:
 
Glad for the rain and that Doodles is bossy and still stealing water from the cups! Prayers for a good day for you and the Dood!
 
A friend down the street had a Bobcat visit his yard yesterday...he was just passing through:)
 

Attachments

  • Bobcat.jpg
    Bobcat.jpg
    67.9 KB · Views: 111
Feeling good is great. Better numbers surely to follow. It's supposed to rain a lot here this weekend. I expected that since I have a hair appointment. Yikes in tge bobcat!
 
We are discussing maybe a larger increase (maybe 2u) with the next lantus dose increase. Will get back to you but think about it so you can be prepared to make a decision when the increase time comes.
 
Thanks. Too bad you blink again and he's rising up again. The R only lasts a few hours. Sorry, just frustrated and not seeing much good here today.
I totally understand. But as long as he's feeling okay, that's what matters. I get what you're going through. My kitty Marshmallow had lung disease, CKD, and IBD/lymphoma and it was exhausting trying to juggle all the meds and paying attention to her every behavior and trying to analyze how she was feeling hour by hour. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

After a while I decided my mantra was "one step at a time, one paw at a time." One day I looked at her and said, okay, all 4 paws can't move forward at once. So we'll take it one step at a time, one paw at a time. That was my way of trying to keep my analytical mind calm and to remind myself to enjoy her while I could. Hang in there. The experienced folks here will help you find a combo of treatment that works best. I know it's hard. Hugs.
 
Kitten steps in the right direction. I like that 302. :) Sort of peach coloured.

You can hang onto that rain for a few days yet, don't let it go north until after the weekend. We get the odd bobcat around there, though I haven't seen one (neighbors did). And fortunately the cougars are even rarer though at least one a year we get an alert.
 
Wow that bobcat is cool! I've never seen one in real life, I'm pretty sure we don't have them here in Australia, well maybe in zoos I guess. I want one to live in my backyard too! As long as s/he doesn't eat chickens or ducks, that is...

Wishing you and Doodles a lovely day today, kinda cute that Doodles has decided he's Mr Boss :-)
 
I think we're going to let him ride this cycle out. He'll probably be close to 400 if not over @ PMPS but fingers crossed he coasts and stays pink. He'll get another 3U R @ PMPS. Is that a good decision?
Was it a good call? I honestly dont know. I was thinking you could throw 1u or 1.5u at a mid pink number around +6 or so, just to try and keep him on the third floor. However riding it out has merit too. Many were the times I let things ride rather than grab the R, so I could get a better feel for what was going on without it. Whichever way it goes you will get valuable data, which will help you with future decisions.

There will be many days when you are operating on a "one shot at a time" basis; with IAA you have to learn to trust your gut and go with the flow - a skill that develops over time.

You are doing great!
 
Was it a good call? I honestly dont know. I was thinking you could throw 1u or 1.5u at a mid pink number around +6 or so, just to try and keep him on the third floor
When I got the +8 and he hadn't moved for +5 I was on the fence. Probably would've given him more R but he was pretty flat and DH wanted more help in the shop. Fingers crossed for a decent PMPS..under 400 would be a nice gift. Thanks Sandy and hope you're doing OK.
 
Definite progress today!!! Good job Doodles!!!

Sandy, Wendy, Julie, and I think after six cycles, if you aren't seeing yellows, we would suggest you raise the Lantus dose to 10u bid. It was Julie's idea after some info she read about giving increases of 20-25% in high dose kitties. It's your call.

This dosing suggestion is only for Doodles. Please do not copy dosing.
 
Our thinking on the larger L increase . . . following the Tight Reg protocol, a cat getting 1.0u would increase by 0.25u - a 25% increase of the original amount. There is lots of evidence that most cats do better with larger (but appropriate) dose increases, rather than skootching up in dose. Skootching up in dose is best done when a cat's blood sugar just needs tweaking.

With an 8u dose, 25% would be 2u. An increase of 1u is 12.5%. So . . . that's the rationale behind it. Sandy, Marje, Wendy and I all think that has potential to be helpful - assuming nothing changes in the meantime. It's good to see what the 3u is doing as well.

oh - hahahahaha i see Marje just posted. So at least you have some ideas to consider. The choice is always yours, but it can be helpful to know why people are suggesting x or y as you move ahead.
 
Thank you all for the continued support! I was driving this morning thinking we might need to do a 2u increase next time. Hopefully 10 will be the magic number. I chickened out on giving 3u R tonight (gave 2.5 instead) so fingers crossed he at least stays pink. Will be getting a PM +2 shortly.

If I see any reason to question raising to 10u tomorrow night will let you know. R is helpful but it still works my nerves a bit :eek:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top