4/8 DC AMPS=320 +7.5=250 PMPS=270 +3=259 bupe question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Noreen&DC&Frisky

Member Since 2010
Happy Easter everyone.
DC is having a much better day today than yesterday. I really thought it was the end last night.
The vet started him on Bupe yesterday, 0.4ml every 8 hours for 4 days.
Up until I gave him his first dose @ AM +6 he was eating a little at a time of EVO kibble (I know, it's dry but it was the only thing he would eat, about 8 pieces every 1 1/2 hours or so).
After the Bupe, he wouldn't even look at any food, not even his favorite people food (bacon). I finally was able to syringe feed him about 10cc @ AM +9.
He hid under the covers and wouldn't move. By the time I gave him the second dose eight hours later, he just sat in the same spot with a dazed look in his eyes.
He wouldn't move and every time I went near him he just laid there and cried. I gave him some SubQ fluids right after his PM shot.
He looked so sick and scared when I took him to bed with me. He just laid above my head whining most of the night.
By this morning when it was time for the third dose the vet was open. I spoke to the vet and she told me to skip the next 2 doses and see how he was.
An hour later he was starting to look a little better and was drinking water. He even ate a few treats.
But he still didn't look good. He looks much better now, almost normal.
He was sitting at the front door wanting to go outside, so I took him out in the yard for 10 minutes and he ran around playing.
I'm terrified to give him another dose of the Bupe.
What amount do most people use for pancreatitis? DC weighs just under 10 pounds.
Should I even consider giving him another dose? I have no clue what to do next.
Any feedback would be great. If I give another dose at the time the vet suggested, that's 5 hours from now.

4/6 condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=68119
 
Re: 4/8 DC AMPS=320 +7.5=250 bupe question

Hi Noreen. Did you join the FPS group?
I feel as without a clue as you must. I know when I was giving J.D. Bupe recently, he was acting out of it. I gave him 0.05cc at a time. I was told that was an itty bitty dose.
Right now, I feel like I am giving J.D. so many pills, it's hard to keep track, and he has pretty much laid around all day. How is DC now?
 
Re: 4/8 DC AMPS=320 +7.5=250 bupe question

Noreen....that seems like a HUGE dose of bupe to me and I've been using it a long time. Gus was about 10.5 lbs when we started and the max dose my vet would let him have was .25ml every 8 hours. His maintenance dose is .1ml bid.
Even when he had tooth extractions, they didn't give him that much!

There is a pretty wide dosing range but my vet told me for a 10 lb cat, she would not prescribe over .25mls every 8 hours. I can give it to him every 6 hours if needed, but I have to decrease the amount.

I hope he will start feeling better soon! Poor DC!
 
Re: 4/8 DC AMPS=320 +7.5=250 bupe question

Dyana said:
Hi Noreen. Did you join the FPS group?
I feel as without a clue as you must. I know when I was giving J.D. Bupe recently, he was acting out of it. I gave him 0.05cc at a time. I was told that was an itty bitty dose.
Right now, I feel like I am giving J.D. so many pills, it's hard to keep track, and he has pretty much laid around all day. How is DC now?
I did try to join the group but I haven't received the approval back yet.
DC is much better now. It's been 18 hours since I have given him the last dose of Bupe.
 
Re: 4/8 DC AMPS=320 +7.5=250 bupe question

I'm glad DC is feeling better. J.D. seemed to feel a lot better once he was off the bupe, but I was only giving it to him at night. I was told to give him 0.1ml and gave him half of that and he is close to 14lbs, on such a small dose, and he was tripping down the stairs, and wobbling and I felt for him.
As far as the FPS group, I think I got the approval back within about a half hour or an hour, so if it been a day, or so, then maybe you should try it again.
I hope both our kitties eat well and keep eating well, and get over this soon. Fingers crossed.
 
Re: 4/8 DC AMPS=320 +7.5=250 bupe question

Keep in mind that the dose will differ depending on the strength of the bupe.
I have had bupe that is .3mg/ml, .4mg/ml, and .6mg/ml..... there is a calculation that includes the cat's weight and the strength of the bupe and the amount your vet feels is needed. Ask your vet for the calculation, may include taking the cat's weight, applying the formula, then the strength of the bupe, and the vet comes up with your cat's dose. I was given a range for each cat... something like 0.12 - 0.25 ml as needed. Quite often I would be giving maybe .05 or even less because sometimes just a few drops would be enough to take the edge off the pains.

Look at the strength of your bupe as well as the dose you are to give.

It seems that some cats can be allergic to bupe, and I know that some cats are just not good on bupe. My Ollie was always like a drunken sailor on bupe, no matter how tiny an amount I gave him and he was over 30lb. I could give double the amount of bupe to Shadoe and she was over 17lb, and she did just fine. Bupe was good for her, but Ollie was better with gabapentin and tramadol.

Ask your vet about trying another pain med because the bupe is turning your cat into a loopy drunk who won't eat.
 
Re: 4/8 DC AMPS=320 +7.5=250 bupe question

Gayle Shadoe & Oliver said:
Keep in mind that the dose will differ depending on the strength of the bupe.
I have had bupe that is .3mg/ml, .4mg/ml, and .6mg/ml..... there is a calculation that includes the cat's weight and the strength of the bupe and the amount your vet feels is needed. Ask your vet for the calculation, may include taking the cat's weight, applying the formula, then the strength of the bupe, and the vet comes up with your cat's dose. I was given a range for each cat... something like 0.12 - 0.25 ml as needed. Quite often I would be giving maybe .05 or even less because sometimes just a few drops would be enough to take the edge off the pains.

Look at the strength of your bupe as well as the dose you are to give.
I didn't know there were different strengths. This one is .2mg/ml and I'm supposed to give DC .4ml every 8 hours.
I still don't know what I should do tonight. If I should cut the dose in half like the vet suggested, give an even smaller dose, or skip it altogether until I can talk to her again tomorrow?
 
Re: 4/8 DC AMPS=320 +7.5=250 PMPS=270 bupe question

I just gave DC his PM shot and pepcid.
He is much more alert now and he's even been playing and cleaning himself.
He hasn't done that since I started with the Bupe.
It's still a struggle to give him the pepcid. He doesn't like the pill pockets at all, even without the pill in it he won't touch it.
I'm still having a hard time getting him to eat much. He licked some gravy from the MC food but won't eat the food.
I've put out 4 different LC food, so I'm going to wait an hour to see if he eats any and if not, I'll have to syringe feed him some.
I'm still undecided about the Bupe for tonight. I'm thinking maybe cut it back by 75% and only give him .1ml instead of the .2 the vet is recommending.
I have about 2 1/2 hours to make up my mind.
 
Re: 4/8 DC AMPS=320 +7.5=250 PMPS=270 bupe question

For the bupe, if he is better without it and acting perfectly fine, then maybe he is not needing any pain meds. Because the strength of your bupe is low, that would explain the dose you were told to give. I'd still ask the vet about getting something else for pain, like gabapentin which could be easier to give if in a syrup.... draw up into syringe and squirt into the side of his mouth.

For the pepcid and all other pills, I had pretty good luck with laughing cow soft cheese. I had to be tricky with Shadoe.... I would give her one tiny piece of cheese with nothing, then put the pepcid in a 2nd piece, and then give her 3 more tiny pieces of cheese. She may not have liked piece 2 with the pepcid, but she forgave me when she got her 3 more pieces.
The cheese is sticky so it made it harder for her to spit out. Oliver loved the cheese as well and was no problem because he just inhaled the cheese and didn't care what was inside.
Neither of them were big on the pill pockets.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top