4/8 Chyna PMPS 99 +2 105 +4.75 103

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rachel & Chyna (GA)

Member Since 2012
Good morning, LL ~O) @-) ~O) . Back to tbp today I go...and I really hope Chyna eats nailbite_smile . She ate most of her fuds overnight, but seems uninterested in them this morning so spoon feeding breffis was done. She ate, but wasn't enthusiastic and did turn her head a few times to get away, and wouldn't touch her treats. I wanted to try the cypro, but not when I have to leave when she's never had it before, and I wanted to mention it to the vet first but of course I won't hear from them till today. It will probably be the tech calling and leaving a voice mail...and will probably want to give me any supplies ordered by them again :roll: .

I gave another reduced shot today. I don't know if the lows are from the cerenia, the giant poop, her working the juice, or the extra fluids or all! but I'm trying to keep her safe while I'm gone and her appy is iffy. She's purring, and came towards her testing spot and plunked down on the floor near the bed :-D . It will be two weeks tomorrow since her cartrophen and she seems stiff, I'd mentioned that in my vet email too.

Thanks for visiting last night, Tricia and Amy. And to all of you yesterday, thanks :YMHUG: . Chyna 4/7 I know she has CKD and diabetes, and have read about all the various symptoms, but it still drives the bean crazy scared sometimes :sad: so thanks for the support. I'd better get ready, I'll be trying to visit at least some of you today hopefully :-D . Have a good one!
 
Re: 4/8 Chyna AMPS 106

Hi, guys

Hoping that the reduced dose doesn't make her too wonky on you. I agree with you regarding the cypro and being there to see how it reacts instead of giving it to her, and then having to leave and not knowing how it'll affect her while you're gone. Best to be safe than sorry.

Have a great day! Beautiful # this morning! :-D
 
Re: 4/8 Chyna AMPS 106

Maybe she's not interested this morning because she ate all of her overnight fuds? I know how worried you are...it is so stressful when our babies won't eat. Between the allergies, CKD< and FD, I know your hands are seriously tied, but I do wonder if it's more that she's not loving her options right now than it is her appy itself. I know you mentioned she was happy to eat HC the other day...that's what was making me think that thought. And, I've seen Trix do that, too, when she was eating Wellness. Hopefully getting the cypro will help...so many people her have success with using it.

Surf safely for MamaBean today!!!
 
Re: 4/8 Chyna AMPS 106

Good appy vines coming your way. Those low numbers are nice to see but I know they make you a little nervous too. Have a great day Rachel!
 
Re: 4/8 Chyna AMPS 106

Chyna! What's with you two today? China went cliff diving and you're being a picky eater? Do you two realize what you're doing to your mamabeans??

Hopefully she'll surf safely for you Rachel...I know when I have no choice but to leave, it's always such a relief when I walk back in the door and China walks up, stretches and gives me that "Hey mom, what's up? I've been hanging out today, moving from sunbeam to sunbeam but now that you're home, where's the fuds?" look

Hope the cypro works it's magic on your Chyna as well as it has on mine. I only had to give it two days and her appetite is much better now. Good choice not to give it if you're not there too! I swear it worked almost too good on China...she was going after the dog's food!

Be a good girl Chyna. Your mama loves you so much! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 4/8 Chyna AMPS 106 +1.75 84

Thanks for visiting guys! Of course Chyna went down at the before leaving for tbp test. So she has a variety of fuds out that I hope she avails herself of...if she needs them. Or surfs!

-Hi Angela, me too on the dose...although she's still going down at the moment...I hope you have a great day too:)

-Hi Amy, thanks:) I wondered about the fuds...but it seems when she's nauseated she licks it and leaves after a few bites, or turns her head from the spoon or trys to leave and refuses even treats and hunches into herself, even going to hide under the bed:( And when shes not she eats or even laps it up happily looking relaxed. It's so hard to figure out, yesterday I even tried the steak frites she loves and was refused along with every flavor in the house, lol. Yesterday afternoon after the SEB at noon she lapped up her usual lamb fuds really well 3 hours later even lunging for the spoon. Tuna seems to be the only thing she never refuses so I use that for HC flavor, and even then it takes coaxing sometimes. Maybe because it smells stronger? Ugh, I'm just babbling now. I wish I just knew...

-Thanks Melissa, I hope you have a good day too...and that she is eating while I am gone!

-Thanks Chris, I don't know what they are trying to do, but it's stressing me out...hopefully I can try the cypro but I don't want to if she is nauseated:S

I'm trying to think good thoughts, but my stomach is a bit in knots. Eat, Chyna cat, please:)
 
Re: 4/8 Chyna AMPS 106 +1.75 84

Lovely numbers again this morning! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Good luck w/ trying the cypro, you could get it without a Rx in Canada? Great! On the Miralax (or Canadian version) most pharmacies will also have a generic house labeled brand, lots cheaper!

:-D :-D :-D On the big poo last night! We all know that relief! :lol: :lol: We are all obsessive/compulsive here! But the little things do matter! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/8 Chyna AMPS 106 +1.75 84

As Ann just mentioned, we do use generic Miralax here with civvie Frankie...it is very cheap and the bottle lasts a long time!

You are right to not give cypro if she's feeling nauseated....one of the many awesome things we've learned here in LL! Since she is hunching a bit, I wonder if maybe she does have a low-grade sort of "smoldering" p-titus going on? Just tossing ideas out there again. I can't remember if she has a fish allergy...I'm assuming not since you mentioned she'll eat tuna...can you get the B.F.F. foods there? They're all fish-based which I know is not ideal for a full-time diet, but a girl has to eat! They are all LC/low-phos.....

Continuing to send prayers and vines!!
 
Re: 4/8 Chyna AMPS 106 +1.75 84

Hi Ann, yep no prescription for the cypro, but they did put it under my name etc like a prescription. It wasn't as cheap as they said on the phone, but I will look around next time. I got 30 pills for $20. I did also get the Canadian "restoralax" yesterday...I saw the generic brand but was worried that it may have something the name brand didn't and I couldn't see on the label the ingredients...oh well, I only bought a small bottle, so next time! It's good to know, so thanks so much:)

Thanks Amy, I love that people toss ideas at me, since sometimes I am too close and emotionally invested! We do have the BFF, and the funny thing is, she doesn't really like them, after the first or second try...but I am considering trying some of them again even with fish since they are lower phos so thanks for mentioning it:) I think I'll ask for the pancreatitis test next bloodwork, but right now there is no extra money so unless we have some major flare that I need to get pain meds for (which they won't give without seeing her) I have to wait...I know hunching can be nausea too. Ack, and ugh, lol.

I know nausea can be from multiple things...one is high phos which she has above normal so I'm trying my best to get that down, the binder was just increased to the amount I talked to Marje about (I thought I had, but got my new mini measuring spoons the other day and measured them properly with a ml dropper etc) so I hope that helps too. And I'm searching for fuds...I still have to ask the store for kangaroo raw. I didn't know if starting raw with nausea was the best choice but I suppose it isn't really different? I'm also hoping if I perservere with the 100ml subqs to grumpy kitty instead of wimping out that will help too:)
 
Re: 4/8 Chyna AMPS 106 +1.75 84

Just another thought...I don't know what you are using as a phosphate binder, but if it's aluminum hydroxide, I wonder if she's getting too much now and the aluminum aspect is bothering her?

I know there are some other binders out there. My vet was telling me they just got a new one that the cats seem to like, but at the moment for the life of me I can't remember what it was. I did find this one that doesn't have aluminum, but I don't know how well it works:
http://acerlux.com/productsyoushouldknow/epakitin.html

But maybe try looking into different types of binders, just in case that may be something????? Also, I'm sure you know that the binders can cause constipation, too...which obviously you are addressing, but maybe you are seeing more constipation because of the increased binder....

Again, grasping at ideas....
 
Re: 4/8 Chyna AMPS 106 +1.75 84

No worries, throw and grasp away, haha. Yes, we use ALOH. For the first three months we used Epakitin, and it didn't do anything either, the only thing that brought down her levels was IV. The vet likes Epakitin and wants me to use it but apparently it's "old school". If there is a newer one and you find out the name I'd love to know about it:)

I've been reading the stuff on Tanyas site over about binders recently. According to Chynas weight and (I think crea?) we should be using 1tsp of ALOH (over 24 hours) but that is at risk for too much, I was using 1/2 tsp and we went up to 3/4 after Marje looked at her labs and advised/discussed with me. But I've only been using that amount for a few days as the spoon I was using was smaller than it was marked and I just figured it out by using lab stuff at work to measure mls into them. Everything seems to be constipating, lol, I hope the increased fluids help.

I just don't know anymore, there are so many conflicting answers. It could be multiple things bothering her...I wish there was one magic pill that solved it all with no side effects;)
 
Re: 4/8 Chyna AMPS 106 +1.75 84

Rachel, you must be in information overload by this point! What a lot to try to juggle in helping Chyna. Let's hope it's something simple that will just clear itself out.

Sending good appy and good tummy vines to Chyna and hugs and good workday vines to you! :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/8 Chyna AMPS 106 +1.75 84 Metoclopramide (Reglan)?

Thanks Tricia, for all the vines and hugs...a little bit of info overload for sure, lol.

So the vet tech left a message saying they can order the ondansentron but I'd have to pay for the bottle up front (no cost given). I will ask AGAIN if there is a prescription I can get instead. WHY is this such a hard answer. I know they want to gouge me, but geez. Anyways they said in the meantime they also have "Metoclopramide (Reglan)" that I can try instead of the cerenia. So if they won't give me an Rx and I have to get the ondansentron from them and wait for it to come in...has anyone used it? I'm trying to quickly check Tanyas site but am leaving to go home for lunch!
 
Re: 4/8 Chyna AMPS 106 +1.75 84 Metoclopramide (Reglan)?

Reglan is another drug used to control acid in the stomach, not necessarily for nausea!

Have you tried really putting your foot down with your vet? I know we all try to work with them, but some just don't seem to want to work with us! Sometimes you just have to get mad!

I know there are problems with other vets in the area as far as getting in to see them, but it sure seems like this one is taking you on an unnecessary ride...both with requiring you to get something from them and being so obstinate about it in the first place
 
Re: 4/8 Chyna AMPS 106 +1.75 84 +6.5 110

Thanks Chris, I try but I'm really not good at confrontation! This IS me being pushy, lol. I did call them back and ask for pricing on pills (which I'd have to by a bottle of 100) and injectable (which I read stings but if it's cheaper...), as well as if I can get a prescription instead so I can get it asap instead of waiting...but the girl looking after it was on lunch so I am waiting, again.

I did call Costco, and they quoted around $4.50 a pill (4mg) for the (generic) ondansetron!!! Is it gold? They can do them by whatever quantity though, so I could buy (ie) 10. They said the 8mg is about a dollar cheaper a pill but that would be even harder to split...is the dose 1mg? Blech. Now I don't know what to do. Yes, I've seen it on US sites for cheaper, but they don't do Rx to Canada. Anyone have cheaper ideas for here? I'm trying to skim Tanyas site now.

Chyna had eaten some fuds this morning (the HC/MC tuna ones, naturally, and half the salmon and most of one LC lamb). So I am glad she had some but she was hiding under the bed again. AND that could just be a new "spot" and I shouldn't worry. Maybe I need to read the dear mom letter again...she did purr and let me do a test, and clean her watering eye. She didn't appreciate being picked up to get kisses, but she never does, lol...she looked so fluffy and cute I had to!
 
Re: 4/8 Chyna AMPS 106 +1.75 84 +6.5 110

Rachel & Chyna said:
She didn't appreciate being picked up to get kisses, but she never does, lol...she looked so fluffy and cute I had to!

:lol: :lol: :lol: I know the feeling!! I did that to my civvie Petey earlier today. He LOVES attention, but is not so fond of being picked up or kissed, but I couldn't help myself. The look on his face was priceless :lol: !

I'm glad she ate some fuds. Good luck with the odansetron...sometimes they make it SO hard for us to care for our babies.... :roll:
 
Re: 4/8 Chyna AMPS 106 +1.75 84 +6.5 110

I'm getting information overload just reading your condo! :shock: :shock: You have so much to juggle Rachel, but you are doing a fabulous job. Chyna's SS is looking GREAT! Remember how you felt back when you had her on 5.5U? These lower doses are obviously agreeing with her. :mrgreen:

Too funny on picking up the cute fluffy ones and not having it appreciated. :lol: :lol: I'm still "training" my civie that it's OK to be picked up and hugged. He's OK with lying on my chest, neck, face, whatever, but only if he goes there. :roll:
 
Re: 4/8 Chyna AMPS 106 +1.75 84 +6.5 110

I'm sorry you're having such problems with the vet getting you what you need. I hope Chyna will eat better for you this evening. She seems to be surfing nicely today.
 
Re: 4/8 Chyna AMPS 106 +1.75 84 +6.5 110

Wow, definitely info overload! I hope you are able to sort it out (with everyone's help, of course :-D )

Sending feel better vines/appy vines for Chyna and less stress vines for you, Rachel. :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 4/8 Chyna AMPS 106 +1.75 84 +6.5 110

Well poop on the vet for not giving you all the info you wanted. How many times do you need to ask? and how many different ways do you need to ask the same question to get one answer. :-x No, you don't want to buy all this stuff from them. You'd like to have the option to find it cheaper, dangit. Well, I'm sorry she wasn't excited about fuds. Apparently, Chyna and Shasta have been in cahoots lately. :YMSIGH: As as result of Shasta's lack of appy, I have been eating in excess FOR HER! :sad: I hope you get some better information and prescriptions and answers and kitty snuggles...in no particular order! :-D
 
Re: 4/8 Chyna PMPS 99

Thanks Amy, Wendy, Deborah, Jane and Carla :-D Sorry about the info overload! Some day I will try have a condo that says Chyna is fine, have a good day :lol: . I'm happy to know that so many others have kitties that get kisses and held whether they appreciate it or not.

She is refusing pill pockets now, no matter what it's rolled in, so I attempted pilling with the pill popper. She got the water...but I'm not sure about the gel cap with the pepcid, she had it pushed back in and I can't find it so I assume its in, ugh. She got a spoonful of food to wash it down, in case. I need 4 hands and arms! I know she'll eat it in cheese, but I don't want to give her much of that either and we have 3 pills a day now (5 if you count vitamins).

The vet tech didn't get back to me, and I got off late so by the time I got home and they were closed and I had to do Chynas shot. She still doesn't want fuds and is licking her lips. I'm SO frustrated! I wonder if she even got my message. I guess I get to call AGAIN tomorrow :evil: . Not that I can afford the ondansetron! But if I can even get 10 pills to try...to see. Or the liquid if it's cheaper! I'm so tierd, and I'd better go get fluids ready :?
 
Re: 4/8 Chyna PMPS 99

Hi Rachel - wow, alot of great info here. WIsh I could add some, but most is out f my experience zone. I will offer support instead. take care, have a great night. and wonderful numbers for Chyna.
 
Re: 4/8 Chyna PMPS 99

Rachel, Sending prayers for Chyna to feel better and increase her appetite. I don't have much experience in these area.

You are such a wonderful caregiver for Chyna.
 
Re: 4/8 Chyna PMPS 99 +2 105

Thanks Michelle and Catherine, it's nice to just have you visit here, no advice needed :-D

Appy seems ok so far tonight, paws crossed. All fuds by spoon feeding but that may be my fault since I wanted to do it all at certain times so the pepcid and cerenia were apart from each other and fuds. Kitty made appropriate "you are killing me" noises for the end of subqs (100ml accomplished!) when I picked her up to take her to her hidey hole to pout, so that my downstairs tenant thinks I'm some sort of cat torturer :roll: :lol: . No, really, I hope he doesn't think that...

I did get some purrs during ear scratches initiated by reaching under the bed ;-) We are done the cat torture of pills and fluids for the evening, just pokie(s) and fuds left to do before bed. I hope you all get some sleep tonight :razz:
 
Re: 4/8 Chyna PMPS 99 +2 105

That's good news about the appy tonight, Rachel. The fluids, too! Chyna's numbers are looking so great lately; I really hope her appy gets back on track.

I know there's not a darn tootin' thing (another DH expression) I can do to help you with the meds questions, the irritating vet, etc., but you have my thoughts, prayers, encouragement, support....whatever you need. :YMHUG:

Come on, Chyna....help your bean out!
 
Hi Rachael,

It's a lot of work to take care of a CKD kitty, and add to that the diabetes.. and then comes the difficult part of not knowing the 'cause' of a bad appy, nausea, vomiting.. You then ask yourself- is it constipation? Is is too much stomach acid? Is it dehydration? The best one can really do at that point is to treat all of the symptoms to maybe give some type of relief from feeling pain.

I think you are doing all of that and that is all you can do.. Of course the loving on Chyna helps so much too. There were times when I was trying to make my Emma feel better when I wondered if she knew how much I loved her, or if she just thought that I was experimenting on her like some kind of lab animal. In those moments I would break down and cry, and hold her and hug her and kiss her, and thank her for coming into my life. Then, I would snap out of it and do my best to talk to her as if she was not a very sick kitty, but instead treat her as if she was still my little racer girl who would run circles around the house in play chase with me, even though she had stopped doing that. Emma really hated for me to give her the fluids. She always tried to jump off of my lap. Jomo, on the other hand, acted as if she couldn't even feel the needle. I don't really know what the difference was there..

Sending you both prayers, love, and light.
 
Hi fellow cat torturer! I'm so glad Chyna is eating more. Purrs are a good sign.

Sending you stiff spine vines so you can stand up to the vetty people and get what you need. More appy vines for Chyna, too, and hugs, of course! :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Hi Rachel. The lip smacking is definitely nausea. Darn that vet. What does he/she have to lose by helping Chyna feel better? Nausea medication can't hurt and could help. My friend sent me the dry matter phos numbers for Wild Calling. I added them to the post Mariko wrote on it in case you are interested. Her cat has been on it for several months but isn't liking it as much lately and it is not as low carb as other foods.

Someone mentioned Reglan. Cats don't have the receptors for it to work well for nausea. I tried it for my tortie that I told you about and it didn't work. Then I read about ondansetron which did work and works for Max too. Reglan can work for GI motility though if that is what is causing the nausea.

I'm liking the green though.

Elise
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top