4/8 Boops amps 375 +4-447 +6-398 pmps-HI NEED ADVICE

Status
Not open for further replies.
I agree with Rhiannon. I'd decrease Boops' dose to 0.1u.

Erin, I want to encourage you to put the most recent blood sugar tests in the subject line as you get them. You can see how others do it by looking at the main page. Doing that means that people will see what's going on and be able to help you. Sometimes they'll even catch an issues that you don't know you had! I had that happen when I was new and like you, i caught a 32 with Punkin - someone saw it from the main page and helped me move ahead.

Boops is making great progress! Everything's looking good!
 
WOO-HOO! It's a tiny dose, but it can make a difference.

To edit and update your subject line, go to the top right of this page (the one that you're on to read this post i'm writing now). Look for it to say "Thread Tools" Click that, then there is an option to edit the title, or edit the subject line, something like that. Click there, and then you post the newest information.

Right now, it would be

4/7 Boops pmps 280

He's bounced big from the 30's or lower this morning, but i wouldn't assume he will stay high for very long. His body is pretty used to green numbers and once that happens, the bounces get shorter and shorter. I would make sure and get a before bed test tonight, say around +4.

The next time he goes below 50 he'll need another dose reduction, and from 0.1u there isn't anything smaller to go to. :D It'll be time for a trial at that point, unless someone with experience thinks there is a reason not to. So definitely keep posting with your BG tests so we can keep an eye on him.
 
This is definitely a bounce. There are a couple of ways that I can tell. One is that he hit a pretty low number this morning and then he's gone straight up since then. There's no normal Lantus curve that's lower mid-cycle than the preshot numbers.

The other is the "height" of these high numbers. The quarter unit was consistently getting him into green numbers. If he wasn't getting enough insulin, the low point of the cycle might only be in the 100's instead of the green numbers. A bounce just looks different on the spreadsheet than "not enough insulin." Lantus dosing is based upon the low points, so if there wasn't enough insulin then the lower numbers would be higher. If that makes any sense at all. :D

I'd just continue with the 0.1u and let this bounce clear and see where he is when it does.
 
OK, he is topped out again. Is this still a bounce? Does he need more insulin? I hate him being so high. We are still giving .1 as suggested.
 
A bounce can take up to 6 cycles to clear. He got pretty low yesterday and he took a big dive to get there, both can contribute to a bounce. The numbers can wobble around while they are bouncing. He will come down. Time for patience, and maybe a good nights sleep.
 
Would you start a new thread tomorrow, Erin? This one has gotten pretty long and we try to have everyone open a new one every day so they aren't so unmanageable.

Enjoy a good night's sleep tonight!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top