4/8 Bailey uk do i hold this dose or up .25 on next?

Status
Not open for further replies.
It can 3 days for the depot to fill with the latest dose increase. I think I would give it 2 more cycles.
Come on Bailey, work that juice.
 
I would go ahead and increase the dose before long anyway, anna. He's so high that I don't think you're suddenly going to see low green numbers and find him in danger. we don't want him to stay high any longer than necessary. I'd increase by 0.5u tomorrow, even though he'll have only had 4-5 shots at this dose. When we see sustained high numbers we refer to this option in the protocol:

Phase 2: Increasing the dose

Most cats need to have their dose increased. Do it in 0.25 IU or 0.5 IU steps (0.25 IU if the cat is getting a low dose and/or relatively low BGs, 0.5 IU if the cat is getting a higher dose and/or relatively high BGs). Hold each dose for 5-7 days. However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU. Alternatively, if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose). From this point onward test for ketones once per week, or more often if the nadirs are still >=200 mg/dl.

I think that Julie was saying that it was ok to "fast track" Bailey since his numbers don't seem to be budging, so I might go ahead and increase the .25 and re-evaluate in a couple of days Anna. We don't "fast track" too many cats, but until Bailey starts to get some better nadir numbers, I think you're perfectly fine to go ahead and increase today if you want to.

None of us want him staying in those higher numbers too long, so as long as your able to test, I'd go ahead and increase.

Just my opinion!

Whatever you decide to do, I hope you start to see some action soon!
 
That's what I'd probably do too Anna

And the other nice thing about it is that since you're getting into those higher doses, by doing this one time adjustment of .25, if you end up doing .5 increases (IF they're necessary) you'll always have a line on the syringe to line up to!!

The .25 and .75 unit doses are a bit of a pain, so going to 5.5 will at least give you a line...LOL
 
i wouldn't use 0.25u increases anymore anna, unless you've got blue numbers going. i would use 0.5u increases from now on. the 0.25u increase is too small of a percentage to get on top of really high numbers like this. save the smaller increases for when you're fine-tuning a dose because it's getting him in great numbers and you're just tweaking a little bit. that's what i'd do at least.
 
Hi Anna - first I want to say how cute the new pic is of Bailey. He looks likes he's very good at snuggles. :-D :-D :-D

I agree with Julie on the .5U increases. We also got to the higher doses and I only used .25U increases if we were tweaking nadirs that were already green. The .5U increases will safely get you faster to a dose where Bailey will feel better. Good luck with the increase!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top