4/7 TR Jenks AMPS 133 +6 87 PMPS 65 +4 65 +7 73

Status
Not open for further replies.

AZJenks

Member Since 2014
4/6

First cycle at the new dose. Overall, not bad. AMPS was elevated over the last few days, but he coasted down all day without the need for any food intervention and spent most of the day in the greens.

My biggest concern is that the two dose reductions in a row might risk his numbers getting away from us. Once he goes low and insulin can grab hold, he tends to be well-controlled. But once his numbers take off, it seems like we're perpetually chasing. His nights tend to be uneventful, and his daytimes merely point down until PMPS. What I've observed is that he starts running out of gas about PMPS+8, so if any noticeable changes happen, it will be in that four hour window leading up to AMPS. That's why today's 133 has me on edge.

Other than driving us nuts, he's doing great. When I was going to bed last night, I couldn't find him. After frantically searching, I found him proudly sitting at the top of the staircase (thanks Zobaline!). Jenks is a ground kitty, so despite much protesting, I brought him down and went to bed. Apparently he really wanted be upstairs, because that's where OH found him just a few hours later when she had to go looking for him. Today he spent some time out in the yard eating grass, pointing his face into the wind, and getting dirty by rolling in a gopher hole mound.

@julie & punkin (ga) - Thanks for the advice in yesterday's condo. I'll be watching his numbers carefully.
 
Last edited:
That AMPS is almost always the last number to come down (and stay down) due to something called Dawn Phenomenon

The body releases extra hormones in the wee hours that cause the BG to be higher

As long as Jenks has nice green nadirs, he's doing great!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top