4/7 Tink AMPS 249 - not diggin' this weeks numbers...

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenM

Member Since 2013
Sorry we've been MIA. Tink's been doing well the last month or so (all this year really), numbers wise. Not much happening. Of course THAT can't possibly last :rolleyes: so now we start the numbers game again.

Seeing higher numbers this past week or so. Of course now my little weekend trip is under 3 weeks away, so I'm reluctant to mess with dosage too much... but I might have to. Plan was to drop him to 3u (he's at 4u) and shoot blind for the two doses I'll miss during my trip. However, with these numbers we're seeing now... I wonder if I should just leave him at the 4u. We've not even dipped into green but once in the last week. Guess I'll just play it by ear. A lot can change in a couple weeks.

Also tempted to go back up to 4.25u - but can't really do that till this weekend which is just two weeks before my trip. What would you guys do? Hold the 4u and see if we can ride this out? Could be a pancreatitis flare-up or god knows what. He's been actively searching for food again lately (and apparently finding it sometimes - saw red for the first time this year - not sure what he found) - getting up on the counters, in the sink, on the stove - not his normal behavior. All other behavior is normal.
 
Sometimes cats insulin needs change. Don't know if it's the time of year, pollen or what. For no particular reason I've had to raise Neko's dose over .5U in the last month. However, before increasing, I'd make sure you get those night tests in to make sure he's not sneaking down then. I am going to lower Neko's dose this weekend for a couple of days, but I increased last night cause I don't want glucose toxicity to set in before then. So, I think I'd increase Tink when you can. Two weeks is a long time in higher numbers.

As for vacation dose, post here a couple of days before hand. A lot can change in that time.
 
True. Guess I might as well up it this weekend and try to get him into better numbers before throwing the vacation issue into the mess and making matters worse. I'll increase Friday. Tink! Don't MAKE me switch to Levemir!!! (hey, it worked before, lol)
 
Got a +7 last night and he was still at 158. This morning he was 184 I think, then jumped to 270ish by +2. I'm thinking an increase is beyond safe at this point. FD sure seems to hate any inkling of predictability, doesn't it? :rolleyes:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top