4/7 Tasha Alphatrak AMPS 194

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karisa and Tasha(GA)

Member Since 2011
Good morning all

Tasha had a great night last night, she tested 80 at +4 and 135 at +8 got her out of the woods, kinda since we live in the woods :lol:

Gonna talk to the vet again today, show her the ss and protocol.

Here's to a great day ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O)

(too early for alcyhol :lol: )

finally geting some lc treats--which is kitty prefered freeze-dried or jerkey?
 
I've never given jerkey to my kitties, I wonder if they would like it? Freeze dried reigns at our home.

Great night and a good start to Tasha's day, hope you both enjoy it.
 
Hi, I only give the freeze dried chicken treats, too! Wow, Tasha is really doing good the last several days. I also use the Alpha Trak meter. Good luck with your Vet visit/talk and great you're showing her the protocol. Let us know her thoughts when you get a chance.
 
I know ta used to devower any jerkey we brought home. She loved terriaki flavored might have to go with that, but i doubt they have terriaki in kitty treats :-D
 
Freeze-dried treats rule over here...never tried jerky, and at this point I don't want to mess with a good thing.

Have a great day!
 
Hi Karisa, I'm glad you got Tasha safely through the night. Good job!
You could try both freeze-dried and jerky. All the kitties love the freeze-dried. If you have a PetSmart, you will find "Pure Bites" in the dog department (I might not have the name exact (it could be "Prime bits", but they are 1-ingredient freeze dried chicken). Wellness makes a jerky treat for cats called "Pure Delights" (no grain or corn).
Good luck with your vet. Make sure to bring her the version of the protocol in the vet journal (Sienne gave you a link to this last night). It is written for professionals, and they tend to pay more attention to articles in their professional journals.

Ella & Rusty

p.s. What dose did you shoot this morning??
 
Thanks for the treat input, going to petsmart today, also gonna look for timed feeders, and check prices of glucometers at w-m for backup.

Protocol is already printed and ready to go.

thanks so much for everything yesterday, it was a scary frusterating time, especially last night. Between ta and talking to the vet is why i wasn't on for a few hours during that time.

I won't be on much today, i have classes and shopping and an oil change to do.

Seeing as how ta was at 194 this morning i beleive she'll be fine today. She did something this morning that she has never done, played with a lazer pointer! It was so funny, especially when she went sliding accross the lenolium! She has always been meh before. Silly, silly old fart!
 
Just talked to the vet, she said if ta's running in the 80's to drop her dose to 1 unit.

She's doing surgery this am, so didn't get to talk much, but will still drop off the info and ss.

I'm not worried about her appitite! she was pigging out while in the 40's last night!

Happy Day Everyone!

Signing off, may be back on tonight, not sure yet

Karisa :-D
 
Good morning guys .. beautiful numbers for tasha again .. so cute to hear how she is playing with a laser beam .. our cats love theirs! We also used freeze dried chicken here in this house .. I don't think she could eat jerky but who knows .. she is missing several teeth :oops: Hope you guys have a great day!
 
I'm not worried about her appitite! she was pigging out while in the 40's last night!
Happy Day Everyone!
Signing off, may be back on tonight, not sure yet

Hi Karisa, I didn't see your PMPS when I took a quick glance earlier. You and I both use the AlphaTrak meter which is an animal meter, and most of them here use a human meter which goes by a different protocol and range of numbers. Our ATrak meters measure about 30 points higher than those using the human meters, so you can't compare Tasha's numbers thinking the 40's are a good number. The 40's are way too low for Tasha. A 47 bg on your AlphaTrak meter would be a 17 bg on the human meter. I know this must be confusing because I've also been thru this myself in the beginning and was also using the protocol for the human meter at first. Please discuss your ss readings with your Vet. I don't know if you've had a chance to read the stickies at the top, but the University of Queensland, Centre for Companion Animal Health explains the difference in using the two meters. Here is a part of it below. We are both aiming for a target of 80-130 for the Alpha Trak meter, while the others using the human meter are aiming for 50-100. I hope this makes sense. Here is the link. Scroll over to page 4 of the protocol, and it explains the protocol for the ATrak meter.

http://felinediabetes.com/Roomp_Rand_20 ... otocol.pdf

(This part help explains the difference with the two meters)

It is very important to note that blood glucose concentrations measured using a whole blood
glucose meter calibrated for human blood may measure 30-40% lower in the low end of the range than
glucose concentrations measured using a serum chemistry analyser or a plasma-equivalent meter calibrated
for feline use. Therefore, if using a meter calibrated for feline use (eg. AlphaTRAK, Abbott
Laboratories, CA, USA), or a serum chemistry analyzer, add approximately 30 mg/dL (1.7 mmol/L)
to the target glucose concentrations (see Table 3B). For example, a target > 50 mg/dL (2.8
mmol/L) becomes > 80 mg/dL (4.4 mmo/L) when using a meter calibrated for feline use. Instead of
aiming for 50-100mg/dL (2.8-5.6 mmol/L) , aim for 80-130 mg/dL (4.4-7.2 mmol/L [round numbers
4.5-7.0 mmol/L). Meters calibrated for feline use may read higher or lower than the actual value, in
contrast to consistently lower readings for meters validated for human blood.
NB Mean median maximum dose in cats on detemir is about 30% less than for glargine (1.7 U/cat
BID; range 0.5 to 4.0 IU versus 2.5 U/cat BID; range 1.0 to 9.0 IU BID).
 
Karisa:

Tasha earned a dose reduction with all of the low numbers yesterday. Given those numbers, please do not shoot more than 1.0u. It's questionable whether this is even too much. Please read the protocol and ask questions if you are unsure what to do.

With due respect to your vet, I believe you noted she's seen only one other diabetic cat in her practice. I am by no means the most experienced person here. Jill and Libby are far more experienced than I am. They've watched over hundreds of cats. It is very likely that Tasha is on her way to getting off of insulin. If you keep dosing the way you are, your cat may experience a hypoglycemic crisis. It is not surprising that Tasha was hungry with her BG at a 47. That is a dangerously low number when you're testing with an AlphaTrack (47 AlphaTrack = 17 human meter). It's a cat's instinct to survive that compelled Tasha to eat last night. Frankly, you are very lucky you weren't spending the night at the ER. With all of the information in the sticky notes that give you guidelines for when to feed HC, what is a normal BG level, etc., you need to add 30 points to adjust for the difference in calibration between an AlphaTrack and a human meter.
 
Yesterday's Tasha condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=40610

according to Tasha's SS she got 1.5u this morning.

Karisa, do you realize a cat can plummet from 194 to hypoglycemic in a very, very short time? Punkin has dropped 150 points in as little as 4 hours - and i don't have any reason to think another cat might not drop faster.

Hypoglycemia, or low blood sugar, is a dangerous effect of overdosing insulin. Too much insulin triggers the body to continue processing glucose, ultimately sending blood glucose (BG) levels dangerously low. Also known as insulin shock, hypoglycemia can be a life-threatening and possibly fatal condition. First aid at home can be life saving.

Home testing the BG levels in your cat is highly recommended because of the increased certainty that comes with knowing a precise BG level, though many others find it unnecessary in a regulated cat. While home testing was once a topic of much contention, veterinary research supports home testing and knowledgable vets recommend it.

These guidelines are not intended to replace the advice given by your veterinarian. It is very important that you discuss any and all treatment options with your cat’s physician BEFORE an event has occurred.

Symptoms of hypoglycemia: [in order of ascending severity]

abnormal hunger / complete disinterest in food

restlessness
weakness, lethargy
head tilting
shivering
staggering, uncoordinated movements
problems with eyesight
disorientation (yowling, walking in circles, hiding, etc.)
convulsions or seizures
coma
This list is by no means exhaustive; cats have also been known to be very sleepy, drool, vomit, or have glassy eyes. Be aware of behavior from your cat that is uncommon, but don't fret every time your pet gives you a single funny look.

Treating hypoglycemia:

During a hypoglycemic attack you must stay calm. You must work quickly, but carefully. Your goal is to bring the blood glucose back up to a safe level, continue to observe your pet, and contact the vet.

Immediate oral application of a glucose solution such as corn syrup (Karo), maple syrup, or honey will alleviate this condition. The pet doesn't need to actually swallow, glucose will be absorbed through the mucous membranes of the mouth.

To apply, rub the solution on the gums or place it underneath the tongue. In a comatose animal, this is important so to prevent obstruction of the airway in the impaired animal. Additionally, watch your fingers!

The blood glucose-raising effects of the syrup will last only for a short time. Therefore, following this emergency measure, food should be provided. If the insulin is long lasting or if the hypoglycemia is severe, the effects of the syrup will wear off and the the hypoglycemia may return. Continue observing your pet, and give syrup or syrup and food as needed.

Guidelines for Treatment

Mild hypoglycemia: If your pet's bg is only slightly low, you may often be able to treat the hypoglycemia by feeding your cat some of its normal food. Should your cat refuse, try offering some treats.

Moderate hypoglycemia: Syrup should be given, either alone, or combined with food. Syrup can be mixed in with wet food or drizzled over dry food. The syrup will help bring the bg up quickly, and the food will help keep the bg elevated for a longer period of time. Most cats need about one tablespoon of syrup. If your cat won't eat it, rub it on the gums and inside of the cheeks. You need to observe your pet for several hours to make sure the hypoglycemia does not happen again.

Severe hypoglycemia: If your pet is severely hypoglycemic, especially if it is having seizures or unconscious, you must give corn syrup immediately. Carefully rub small amounts of syrup on the cheeks and gums. Do not put a lot of liquid in the pet's mouth, and be sure the pet does not choke. Do not stick your fingers inside the teeth of a seizuring pet - you may get bitten. Then, call the vet.

After the episode: Whenever a pet has a hypoglycemic attack, you should contact your veterinarian. Future doses of insulin may need to be reduced until a proper insulin dose adjustment can be made. Making the proper adjustment will probably be based on the results of a blood glucose curve.

Be Prepared:

A cat could be fine one moment, and hypo the next. In an emergency, you don't want to be searching for this information, or searching for sugar. Print the emergency treatment information and keep a supply of glucose available where ever you pet is, and especially be thoughtful on trips or when leaving the house. When leaving your pet with a sitter, be especially concientious to go over these rules, and leave the glucose available on the counter.

How to keep a glucose supply:

Packets of honey can be slipped inside a purse, in the car, in a drawer
Glucose solutions can be purchased at the pharmacist
Tubes of cake decorating gel
Syringes filled with corn syrup
Trust your instincts: If you are at all concerned that your cat is hypoglycemic, especially if the cat is shivering or worse, give sugar! Temporary hyperglycemia (high blood sugar) will not harm your cat. Hypoglycemia KILLS.

Always ask your vet for information that is specific to your pet.
 
Karisa,

I know you may not read this before you go, but PetSmart also has Beefeater treats for cats in three varieties. Chicken, Salmon and Shrimp. I have eight cats, and only 5 like the Salmon and Chicken, and only 2 or 3 liked the shrimp.

As for the numbers, nice job keeping her up last night. Keep in mind what Sienne said... Tasha may be working herself off of insulin. She is so new to diabetes that it could happen this quickly. Take a look at my Gracie's spreadsheet. One morning she was in the 400's and then only went above 200 once before she was OTJ. There was really no reason to think that was going to happen, and her dosages dropped every few days after that until she was off completely. My point is simply this, you have to drop her dose when she falls this low. If she is sliding down the ladder like Gracie did, not doing so could get dangerous. If you bump her down and her numbers go higher, you can always increase it again. You will not hurt her by lowering her dose, but you could by not doing so. Again, look at Gracie's spreadsheet. Things happen quickly, and that can be a great thing, but safety is #1.

Take care,

Jason
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top