4/7 Smokey PMPS 247 +3.5 338

Status
Not open for further replies.

Smokey & Kim

Member Since 2013
WOW!!!

Glad to see these numbers, but the huge drop has me nervous. Looks like it's going to be a day with alot of tests.

Any suggestions on how often to test til I see them start to come back up??

Thanks !!
 
Re: 4/7 Smokey AMPS 462 +4.5 137

You are probably going to catch at least a +6, and +9, also feed him a little bit at his +6 to slow him down a little bit. Also if really low like in the 50s or 60s, start testing every half hour. But he should start rising by about +8, he may bounce pretty high tonight from going into freefall between amps to +4.5, don't be surprised.

He may be about to earn his first dose reduction so you are going to need to watch him pretty close today.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/7 Smokey AMPS 462 +4.5 137??!!

That's what I am thinking too.. thank you Mel. That number had me shocked...
 
Re: 4/7 Smokey AMPS 462 +4.5 137??!!

I'll be off and on today but I will keep checking in on you two. Just keep updating the title, so I can stay up to speed at a glance.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/7 Smokey AMPS 462 +4.5 137??!!

With the little info he has on his SS, it would look like he may nadir a little later in the cycle, my Lucian does that occasionally, but there isn't a lot of data to go on, since it's only been a few days.

How you handle it is, of course, up to you, but if it was Lucian and his +6 was at 100 or less, I'd get a +7 and see how low he goes. He's fine in the mid-high greens and that's what everyone hopes for, whether to go into remission or just be very well regulated. If he's in high green at +6, don't feed, test at +7, if he's say at 60-70 at +6, you need to feed a tsp and test every 30 mins, continually feeding a tsp and testing until he's coming up.

My Lucian is at 84 @+5.25, so I'll test him in an hour, rather be safe than sorry. It's good for them to play in the grass, you just have to keep an eye on them and keep them from going too low with a very small amount of food.

Mel said, don't be surprised if he bounces, this is so true. Lucian can bounce with the best of them! :lol: Lucian has shown he'll bounce on a dose increase, which is pretty odd, but Lucian is nothing near normal, if there is such a thing with a Sugarcat.

Hang in there, you're doing fine. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 4/7 Smokey AMPS 462 +4.5 137??!!

nckitties3 said:
With the little info he has on his SS, it would look like he may nadir a little later in the cycle, my Lucian does that occasionally, but there isn't a lot of data to go on, since it's only been a few days.

How you handle it is, of course, up to you, but if it was Lucian and his +6 was at 100 or less, I'd get a +7 and see how low he goes. He's fine in the mid-high greens and that's what everyone hopes for, whether to go into remission or just be very well regulated. If he's in high green at +6, don't feed, test at +7, if he's say at 60-70 at +6, you need to feed a tsp and test every 30 mins, continually feeding a tsp and testing until he's coming up.

My Lucian is at 84 @+5.25, so I'll test him in an hour, rather be safe than sorry. It's good for them to play in the grass, you just have to keep an eye on them and keep them from going too low with a very small amount of food.

Mel said, don't be surprised if he bounces, this is so true. Lucian can bounce with the best of them! :lol: Lucian has shown he'll bounce on a dose increase, which is pretty odd, but Lucian is nothing near normal, if there is such a thing with a Sugarcat.

Hang in there, you're doing fine. cat_pet_icon

Yes, I've been noticing he get's lower between +8 and +11.. I have decided that right now I am going to do 4 small meals a day, so it's about time for his next meal.

I did a +5.5 and he was holding steady at 138..
I'm going to feed him a 1/4 can, and well do a +8 and see where he going... I have 10 test strips left until tomorrow afternoon, I'll be heading to walmart around 3 unless there's an emergency. So I gotta try to space him out as best I can. Hopefully feeding him will keep him in a safe zone. I'll update at +8, and again before I shoot after we do his PMPS..
Glad to see progress. The food change and the Lantus are working wonders. Thank you to each and every person who has given me support and guidance over these past couple weeks. Smokey thanks you too.. we wouldn't be doing this well with out you!! flip_cat
 
Re: 4/7 Smokey +4.5 137 +5.5 138

That's great, good number. :-D He may just stay flat and surf the day away! :thumbup

To keep from running out of strips, I make it a point to buy them 2 at a time, when I open the 2nd vial, I buy them again the next time I go, so I am always ahead of the game. Thank God, they are only $9 for the ones I get! As you go along, you'll find there is always a possibility of him diving, so you don't want to be without a good supply of strips, just in case you need them. I know Mel keeps extra vials, for 2 different meters, just in case. But then again, we're both 'prep' freaks when it comes to our cats. :lol: Most people live within a few miles of a Walmart, so it is very convenient. But my Walmart keeps the strips locked up, so if the pharmacy is closed, you can't get them, which would seriously suck late night in an emergency, since I use the Walmart brand. Another reason I always have a full vial or an unopened one for back up.

You do have a Hypo kit put together right? just in case? Always good to have on hand.

Forgot to add, I feed small meals too, since I am home and it's better for diabetics, both human and feline, to eat small meals, less load on the pancreas that way. Lucian eats about every 4-5 hrs if in good numbers, every 2-3 if he's running really high. I feed about 1/4 of a 5.5oz can each time, sometimes he eats it all, sometimes not.
 
Re: 4/7 Smokey +4.5 137 +5.5 138

nckitties3 said:
That's great, good number. :-D He may just stay flat and surf the day away! :thumbup

To keep from running out of strips, I make it a point to buy them 2 at a time, when I open the 2nd vial, I buy them again the next time I go, so I am always ahead of the game. Thank God, they are only $9 for the ones I get! As you go along, you'll find there is always a possibility of him diving, so you don't want to be without a good supply of strips, just in case you need them. I know Mel keeps extra vials, for 2 different meters, just in case. But then again, we're both 'prep' freaks when it comes to our cats. :lol: Most people live within a few miles of a Walmart, so it is very convenient. But my Walmart keeps the strips locked up, so if the pharmacy is closed, you can't get them, which would seriously suck late night in an emergency, since I use the Walmart brand. Another reason I always have a full vial or an unopened one for back up.

You do have a Hypo kit put together right? just in case? Always good to have on hand.

Yes, I have a can of shredded food with gravy, and corn suryp within a minutes grab, I put that together on the first night on Lantus. I'd rather be prepared than not as well. I didn't realize how quickly I went thru 50 strips! I think it was due alot to getting so many ERRORS at the beginning when I couldn't get him to bleed. I use the Relion Prime as well.. but our Walmart doesn't lock them up. So, if there ends up being a situation tonight where it looks like I am going to have to test him every 15 min, I can stay here and look after him and send my mom or dad. The Walmart closest to me is only about 10 minutes down the street.. As long as I don't see a huge drop at his next test I am hoping I'll be okay.

As long as his +8 is ok, I'll be back around 7:30 or 8 tonight with his PMPS to see what I should do as far his dose for tonight. I'll hold off on feeding until I've heard something from my HUGE HELPERS!! :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Oh!!! I had a question.. Smokey likes the Freeze dried chicken, but it's EXPENSIVE!!! I was wondering.. is boiled chicken breast with nothing added an acceptable snack for diabetic kitties???
 
Re: 4/7 Smokey +4.5 137 +5.5 138

What time did you last feed? How much and when would you normally feed again?
 
Re: 4/7 Smokey +4.5 137 +5.5 138

nckitties3 said:
What time did you last feed? How much and when would you normally feed again?


I last fed about a half an hour ago. Before that he ate at close to 8 am. I'm doing 8am, 2pm, 8pm, and bedtime (between 12AM AND 2)
He either gets a quarter of a 5.5 can, or half of a FF classic.

This is what I am doing for now, once I go back to work which will hopefully be around the end of April, I'm going to have to work something else out for him. I'll cross that bridge when I get to it though..
 
Re: 4/7 Smokey +4.5 137 +5.5 138

Kim, you are doing great!! I am so glad to see some lower numbers for Smokey - as long as they dont go too low. So glad to hear that hes eating the canned food now!!
 
Re: 4/7 Smokey +4.5 137 +5.5 138

IMHO you're good, just keep him on the schedule you have going, he's not so low you need to 'steer' him with food, just let him enjoy these lower numbers and heal himself.

If the 6 hr schedule works for him, I'd hang with it. Lucian rarely will go that long, even in the high greens, when I don't steer him. 5 hrs is max for Lucian in good numbers, but then again, he was free fed dry all his 14 yrs, so he doesn't eat much at any given time. When we first started this sugar dance, he ate every 2 hrs, 1/8-1/4 can, his numbers were high and he was starving.

At 6 hr intervals, your kitty may need more than 1/4 can or if he is hungry a couple hrs before he is due to eat, you might consider a shorter duration between meals. Seems that most newly diabetic cats eat much more than a non diabetic, sometimes twice as much. 1 can a day may be normal for a non sugar cat, but yours may need 2 cans. You'll know as you continue the scheduled feeding, if he needs more per meal or meals more often. If he consistently leaves some food, but is hungry before mealtime, you need less hrs between meals. If he wants more food after eating it all, he needs more per meal. Not hard to figure out and you're smart or you wouldn't be here. :thumbup

I'm sure Mel will chime in when she has time, but I do think you're good to go today. He's doing great and so are you. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 4/7 Smokey +4.5 137 +5.5 138

Smokey & Kim said:
nckitties3 said:
That's great, good number. :-D He may just stay flat and surf the day away! :thumbup

To keep from running out of strips, I make it a point to buy them 2 at a time, when I open the 2nd vial, I buy them again the next time I go, so I am always ahead of the game. Thank God, they are only $9 for the ones I get! As you go along, you'll find there is always a possibility of him diving, so you don't want to be without a good supply of strips, just in case you need them. I know Mel keeps extra vials, for 2 different meters, just in case. But then again, we're both 'prep' freaks when it comes to our cats. :lol: Most people live within a few miles of a Walmart, so it is very convenient. But my Walmart keeps the strips locked up, so if the pharmacy is closed, you can't get them, which would seriously suck late night in an emergency, since I use the Walmart brand. Another reason I always have a full vial or an unopened one for back up.

You do have a Hypo kit put together right? just in case? Always good to have on hand.

Yes, I have a can of shredded food with gravy, and corn suryp within a minutes grab, I put that together on the first night on Lantus. I'd rather be prepared than not as well. I didn't realize how quickly I went thru 50 strips! I think it was due alot to getting so many ERRORS at the beginning when I couldn't get him to bleed. I use the Relion Prime as well.. but our Walmart doesn't lock them up. So, if there ends up being a situation tonight where it looks like I am going to have to test him every 15 min, I can stay here and look after him and send my mom or dad. The Walmart closest to me is only about 10 minutes down the street.. As long as I don't see a huge drop at his next test I am hoping I'll be okay.

As long as his +8 is ok, I'll be back around 7:30 or 8 tonight with his PMPS to see what I should do as far his dose for tonight. I'll hold off on feeding until I've heard something from my HUGE HELPERS!! :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Oh!!! I had a question.. Smokey likes the Freeze dried chicken, but it's EXPENSIVE!!! I was wondering.. is boiled chicken breast with nothing added an acceptable snack for diabetic kitties???


If it hasn't already been answered boiled chicken breast is fine...I sometimes give mine the precubed cooked chicken that you put in salads and such. Its just a matter of keeping away from carbs....and so most of those cute little crunchy things like the Greenies and the Friskies Party Mix are not good.


Looks to me like Smokey is continuing to surf those healthy numbers really well. AND you don't have to hold off feeding tonight to wait for dose advice - you just need to test before you feed to make sure the number you have isn't skewed by food.....that's it.
 
Re: 4/7 Smokey +4.5 137 +5.5 138

Do you have a Petsmart near you? They have the freezedried treats for $9 for a 5oz bag, MUCH cheaper than the little .80oz bags for $3+. Let me know if you do, I'll give you the info on it.
 
Re: 4/7 Smokey +5.5 138 +7.5 110

nckitties3 said:
Do you have a Petsmart near you? They have the freezedried treats for $9 for a 5oz bag, MUCH cheaper than the little .80oz bags for $3+. Let me know if you do, I'll give you the info on it.

Yes we do.. At petco yesterday I bought one of those little bags for $3. At first he wouldn't touch em, but took a bite finally and decided that they were good!!

Ran a +7.5 we're at 110.. and he ate another 1/4 can.

I'd like to hold off if everyone thinks it's safe until PMPS... but if not maybe one more test around +10?
 
Re: 4/7 Smokey +5.5 138 +7.5 110

Personally, I think he's fine.

I'm talking about Petsmart, I don't know if Petco has them, but they may have something similar. The ones I get are called Simply Nourish and in the dog treat section. They are 100's freeze dried meat and in bigger bags. The pieces are 4-6 times the size of the cat treats, so they need to be cut or broken. I use a sharp knife and cut each one into 4-6 pieces, so they are the right size. There is no difference between the dog and the cat freeze dried treats except for size, as long as there is nothing else in the ingredients except meat. Makes it much cheaper!

If you don't have a Petsmart, see if Petco has them in the dog treat section. Mine come in Chicken, Turkey and Liver I think. I've tried them all, Lucian will only eat the liver, none of my cats like chicken even fresh cooked. Go figure! They're weird! :lol:
 
Re: 4/7 Smokey +5.5 138 +7.5 110

nckitties3 said:
Personally, I think he's fine.

I'm talking about Petsmart, I don't know if Petco has them, but they may have something similar. The ones I get are called Simply Nourish and in the dog treat section. They are 100's freeze dried meat and in bigger bags. The pieces are 4-6 times the size of the cat treats, so they need to be cut or broken. I use a sharp knife and cut each one into 4-6 pieces, so they are the right size. There is no difference between the dog and the cat freeze dried treats except for size, as long as there is nothing else in the ingredients except meat. Makes it much cheaper!

If you don't have a Petsmart, see if Petco has them in the dog treat section. Mine come in Chicken, Turkey and Liver I think. I've tried them all, Lucian will only eat the liver, none of my cats like chicken even fresh cooked. Go figure! They're weird! :lol:

Aren't they all?? lol.. I have 3 including Smokey, and they all like different stuff.. one likes wet food (any kind) the other will only eat stuff in gravy.. one likes temptations the other likes wiskar lickens, They can't just agree, that would be too easy!! lol

Since Smokey's DX I've been trying to break them of the bad habits like dry food, and I've been limiting treats to cooked chicken or 2 or 3 bagged treats a day. Trying to keep them from having to go thru what Mokey's had to. Besides the fact if I had to do this to Mr.T, who is smokey's son, I'd more than likely have lost some blood by now!

Also, I'll check on those treats, we have both a petco and petsmart around here.. I live in a city, and it's pretty built up. We've got at least one of everything!
 
Re: 4/7 Smokey +5.5 138 +7.5 110

Kewl, there is absolutely nothing that is not within 10 miles of me, too, I live just outside of Raleigh, NC, although I never go there unless I have to, I hate it :evil: and we still have a small town feel here, even with all the benefits of the city. :-D

When Lucian was first DX'd, I went thru a 5oz bag of treats in 2 weeks! :o But I was giving him several for every test, shot, etc, just cause he/we weren't used to it yet. Now he gets treats maybe once or twice a day, if that, so they last much longer. :-D

Also, when he was dx'd I immediately threw out the dry and made all 3 cats go cold turkey! :lol: Like it or not, this is the way it is from now on. I am so lucky that my 16 yo has perfect BG's since she has all the signs, i.e. eats a lot, dry and flakey, pees like a horse!, but after several weeks of worrying, I finally tested her and she read at 60, I was so relieved! :shock: I just knew she was gonna be a sugar kitty too. :o

I don't understand why they are so picky, they ate the same dry all their lives with no problem. My 16 yo is a feral, Lucian was a 'barn cat' and Patches was dumped out at the store I worked at when she was 5 weeks old. You would think, they would be grateful for whatever they get....NOT. :lol:
 
Re: 4/7 Smokey PMPS 247 What to shoot??

Hey everyone!!

Here's where we've been today..

AMPS 462 1.75 U 1/4 can low carb friskies
+4.5 137
+6.5 110 (someone gave smokey 10-15 pieces of KANIN DRY at this time, worrywarts) 1/2 can of Friskies was given around +7
+10 177

PMPS 247

So, wondering how much juice to give him this evening, he dropped so far from 462 to 137 within 4 hours this morning, makes me question what to do for this evening.
I would rather have him run high, just because I am running low on strips and it's nighttime. I'll get up and test in middle of night if needed, but that's one less strip I will have for tomorrow AM. I have 7 or 8 left after PMPS.

If someone could advise, I'll be back in a few. Time to make kitty dinner. Which will be low carb wet..
 
Re: 4/7 Smokey PMPS 247 What to shoot??

Since your running low on strips why don't you just shoot a straight 1u tonight, or basically a Big Chicken Shot (BCS) that should keep him in safe numbers over night and still give him some insulin on board.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 4/7 Smokey PMPS 247 What to shoot??

MommaOfMuse said:
Since your running low on strips why don't you just shoot a straight 1u tonight, or basically a Big Chicken Shot (BCS) that should keep him in safe numbers over night and still give him some insulin on board.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang

Perfect.. Thanks Mel!!

I didn't realize how low I was til I counted today.. They went so quick!!! I'll be grabbing a 50 pack tomorrow around 3pm, and another one or two on Wednesday when I get paid again.

Thanks for your help, hope you had a good Sunday funday! :)
 
Well, Smokeys back on the climb. I figured he would, just hoped it wouldn't get as high as it had been.. Im expecting 500s for tomorrow amps if they keep going like this.. Could be because of the freefall today also I'm guessing..

I am wondering if I should go with 1.50 or back to the 1.75 in the mornin? I'll check in before I shoot a little after 8.

Enjoy what's left of the evening everybody, and as always, thank you. I can't say it enough.

Hope everyones furkids are doing well! :-)
 
Smokey & Kim said:
Well, Smokeys back on the climb. I figured he would, just hoped it wouldn't get as high as it had been.. Im expecting 500s for tomorrow amps if they keep going like this.. Could be because of the freefall today also I'm guessing..

I am wondering if I should go with 1.50 or back to the 1.75 in the mornin? I'll check in before I shoot a little after 8.

Enjoy what's left of the evening everybody, and as always, thank you. I can't say it enough.

Hope everyones furkids are doing well! :-)

Mel should check in before you have to shoot.....but my thoughts are that you should leave your dose where it is for a couple more days. You had some nice blues in the cycle yesterday but nothing so low to earn a reduction in dose. Yes, that preshot was pink - and as you say, you might get something even higher this morning, but that's the typical bounce because Smokey's body isn't used to being in that normal range and is overreacting to change.

That's assuming there won't be any change in food today - If I'm reading right - there was no dry involved yesterday and you got those really good mid-cycle numbers and not a bad pm preshot. You can see the difference lower carb food makes.
 
morrieb1 said:
Smokey & Kim said:
Well, Smokeys back on the climb. I figured he would, just hoped it wouldn't get as high as it had been.. Im expecting 500s for tomorrow amps if they keep going like this.. Could be because of the freefall today also I'm guessing..

I am wondering if I should go with 1.50 or back to the 1.75 in the mornin? I'll check in before I shoot a little after 8.

Enjoy what's left of the evening everybody, and as always, thank you. I can't say it enough.

Hope everyones furkids are doing well! :-)

Mel should check in before you have to shoot.....but my thoughts are that you should leave your dose where it is for a couple more days. You had some nice blues in the cycle yesterday but nothing so low to earn a reduction in dose. Yes, that preshot was pink - and as you say, you might get something even higher this morning, but that's the typical bounce because Smokey's body isn't used to being in that normal range and is overreacting to change.

That's assuming there won't be any change in food today - If I'm reading right - there was no dry involved yesterday and you got those really good mid-cycle numbers and not a bad pm preshot. You can see the difference lower carb food makes.

Thanks,

Someone did Sneak Smokey a little Kanin dry when he was around 110, because of worry that he was going to drop at +8 or +9 like he had been and we mighta been in the danger zone. I don't know how much if any that may have effected his #'s. I'm going to start a new thread and see what everyone says. I loved the numbers yesterday!! It's just hard to tell what is making him drop because the lantus started working around the same time his diet was changed..
 
Since you are changing his diet as well right now I would scale this am shot back to 1.5u just to be on the safe side...Since just removing dry food can drop them as much as 100pts, it would be safer to scale back on the dose, let the diet change take effect and then up the dose again if needed and it just might not be needed as fast as he went into free fall yesterday.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top