4/7 Oren; AMPS-269;pmps-368 ;pm+3-232;+5-153;

Status
Not open for further replies.

Megan & Oren

Member Since 2015
Yesterday

Bounce cleared last night! Might even have gone green again, but I left him two small meals so I could get some sleep. amazing how much better 6 hrs feels than 4!

sunny morning for him, rainy for us. Good Tue. to all, hope everyone who needs help and luck receives it.
 
:confused: dern. maybe he went lower than i thought last night? but, I will still have to be vigilant i think. He seems to have decided he likes going low at night now. At least I'm home tomorrow...
 
I don't think he went too low last night. He did start today yellow instead of black. This is probably still the bounce from last night.

And yes, 6 hours straight sleep is SO much better than 4!:)
 
Since he hadn't seen greens since 2/21, he's very likely to last the entire 3 days in a bounce. Cats can bobble around high while bouncing - it's not one constant high number. Took me a while to figure that one out. I'd be looking for him to clear the bounce tomorrow night-ish. No guarantees, of course, but that would be 3 days forward from the last greens.
 
Hi Julie;
well, at pm+3 he's down to 232. not too bad. I'm glad he's not nose-diving. I can't believe it was all the way back in Feb the last time he saw green. :(
I'm home tomorrow, so I might try and get another test in an hour or two to see where he goes. Won't expect better than blue though.

I assume i continue to hold this dose a bit longer? As you might have noticed in my SS, I'm going away in about a week again; vet tech sitter will be here; but won't really expect more than am/pm tests. I've got about 1/2 a vial of lantus left (higher doses are draining it quick!). I'm wondering if I should order a new one by end of next week, just in case i have to up him again soon? If i do have to up him, would it still be in .5 increments?
 
Hard to say about the insulin volume. It wouldn't hurt to have a spare vial/pen in your fridge so you don't end up in a pinch without insulin.

You'll want to see where he is when he clears this bounce, and decide from there if you should hold the dose longer. Make sure and ask the question on here a day or so ahead of time about a vacation dose for while you're gone.

Sometimes it seems like you increase and increase the dose and the BGs don't really move. But then you hit a sweet spot and suddenly the whole range will settle down. So it's hard to say if Oren has hit a good dose and he might not need 0.5u increments. There's no way to know at this point. I'd probably make sure I had sufficient insulin, though. You wouldn't want your petsitter to have to worry about getting insulin while you're gone.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top