4/7 Merlin AMPS 497

Status
Not open for further replies.

Merlin

Very Active Member
4/7
AlphaTrak2
AMPS - 497

Last night was really high at +3 (523). Looks like a .6 this morning. I will need to leave the house and hopefully should be back by 11am (AMPS is at 7am). Merlin is drinking lots of water this morning and he is having lots of twitching in his legs and tail. Looks like I need to give him a .6 this am.
 
Yeah, I think it would be good to do a 0.6 or maybe even a 0.8 if you can monitor. I'll try to help keep an eye out for another cycle that might be good to try the reducie experiment. I'm thinking Merlin may still be bouncing off that 85 yesterday. Those bouncy hormones can sometimes hang round for up to 6 cycles.
 
Yes I think going with a .8 this morning would be better since he is so high. I will stay home today to monitor. Thanks.
 
Ditto. Really hard to tell whether he is bouncing or needs more insulin. Last night could have been too little insulin or just a big bounce from the 85. If it was too little insulin, this am makes more sense. If it was a bounce into the blacks, he does take a while to clear a low

He does seem to drop lower during the daytime cycle than at night. That is helpful for your sanity. : :mrgreen:
 
4/7
AlphaTrak2
AMPS - 497
+3 - 204

Looks like another day of testing for the next four hours. We can do things for them when they get too low. Is there anything we can do if they get too high other than waiting it out to the next scheduled insulin shot? I have not read anything on that scenario. If so, what would be that high number? Too bad there isn't some kind of food, vitamin or drink that would get them lower. I really wish I could have known what happened last night. I didn't sleep well and I should have just gotten up and tested. I really expected "hi" number this morning but for some reason it was lower than what the +3 number.

Do you know how the diabetics cats are feeling overall? When they get really high numbers? Are they in pain? Is diabetic neuropathy painful?

Oh, this is so complicated and I can see you can really get obsessed with this (oh, I am). I am really hoping that I can somewhat get this under control by the end of May because I have to go to Washington DC for four days and Jon will need to administer the shots. I am getting a little worried about this already.

Anyway, hopefully a good day for all of our little kitties today.
 
He's dropping really fast again. Hmm. Merlin's a bit of a challenge!

I think the HI you saw last night was yet another bouncy spike. I'm thinking you may want to keep doing the "liver training" approach for the time being and shoot down those high pre-shots, and then wait for a cycle that looks like it's flat, and it's much lower at the end, and then try a reducie again. Or, you could just go with the reducie again and hold it for a couple cycles. It's always a bummer seeing those really high pre-shot numbers though. For the most part, he is easily clearing those bouncy numbers, meaning that he doesn't sit in the 400's or 500's for cycle after cycle.

You can try to smooth Merlin out by feeding him earlier in the cycle to slow down his drop and hopefully he won't drop quite as sharply.

In theory, you can try to shoot a little earlier than +12 if he's blasting up. I did this with Eddie and Deb does this with Lucian. That said, since Merlin drops so low, you may end up with more "overlap" between the shots than you're expecting, which sets up another fast drop.
 
4/7
AlphaTrak2
AMPS - 497
+3 - 204
+4 - 82 (Giving him tsp. of HC food. Will test in 30 minutes)

Here we go again.
 
4/7
AlphaTrak2
AMPS - 497
+3 - 204
+4 - 82 (Giving him tsp. of HC food. Will test in 30 minutes)
+4.5 - 78 (Giving him tsp. of HC food w/ gravy and honey/water mixture. Will test in 20 minutes)
 
4/7
AlphaTrak2
AMPS - 497
+3 - 204
+4 - 82 (Giving him 1 tsp. of HC food. Will test in 30 minutes)
+4.5 - 78 (Giving him 1 tsp. of HC food w/ gravy and honey/water mixture. Will test in 20 minutes)
+4.8 - 82 (Giving him 1 tsp. of HC food w/ gravy plus honey/water mixture. Will test in 20 minutes)
 
4/7
AlphaTrak2
AMPS - 497
+3 - 204
+4 - 82 (Giving him 1 tsp. of HC food. Will test in 30 minutes)
+4.5 - 78 (Giving him 1 tsp. of HC food w/ gravy and honey/water mixture. Will test in 20 minutes)
+4.8 - 82 (Giving him 1 tsp. of HC food w/ gravy plus honey/water mixture. Will test in 20 minutes)
+5.4 - 115 (Will give nothing to eat and check in about 20 minutes...still not out of the woods yet)

Yeah, finally a "blue" although, I would have rather gotten a "blue" under different circumstances. nailbite_smile
 
4/7
AlphaTrak2
AMPS - 497
+3 - 204
+4 - 82 (Giving him 1 tsp. of HC food. Will test in 30 minutes)
+4.5 - 78 (Giving him 1 tsp. of HC food w/ gravy and honey/water mixture. Will test in 20 minutes)
+4.8 - 82 (Giving him 1 tsp. of HC food w/ gravy plus honey/water mixture. Will test in 20 minutes)
+5.4 - 115 (Will give nothing to eat and check in about 20 minutes...still not out of the woods yet)
+5.8 - 156

Now if it could only stop going up. Will check at +7.
 
Ah yikes!

Well, now I'm thinking you may have to go down to that 0.4 and hold it regardless of how high the pre-shots are.
 
He drops really fast. You have tried dividing the am meal into two parts and feeding one right at shot time and the other an hour or so later, right?

I am assuming he is not reacting to the PZI with the sudden drop but instead the amps was a bounce and shooting through the bounce is not going to work for him. I think Jen is on track. Go down to .4 for a few cycles. and see what you get.

You are getting great at low numbers, but I know it is nerve wracking.
 
4/7
AlphaTrak2
AMPS - 497
+3 - 204
+4 - 82 (Giving him 1 tsp. of HC food. Will test in 30 minutes)
+4.5 - 78 (Giving him 1 tsp. of HC food w/ gravy and honey/water mixture. Will test in 20 minutes)
+4.8 - 82 (Giving him 1 tsp. of HC food w/ gravy plus honey/water mixture. Will test in 20 minutes)
+5.4 - 115 (Will give nothing to eat and check in about 20 minutes...still not out of the woods yet)
+5.8 - 156
+7 - 168

Another "blue!" What is up with that? Happy, but as always, guarded.

So his food schedule goes something like this almost every day:

* Eats after AMPS (eats about 2 heaping tablespoons)
* Eats one hour after AMPS (eats about 1 heaping tablespoon)
* Eats two hours after AMPS (eats about 1 heaping tablespoon)
* Sleep and then eats five to six hours after AMPS (eats 1 heaping tablespoon)
* Eats 2-3 hours before PMPS (eats about 1 heaping tablespoon)
* Eats after PMPS (eats 1 heaping tablespoon)
* Eats 2-3 hours after PMPS but most of the time he skips this one

Not sure how many ounces it is but I think it is about 6-7 ounces per day. He eats FF Classic, EVO & Merrick LC.
 
4/7
AlphaTrak2
AMPS - 497
+3 - 204
+4 - 82 (Giving him 1 tsp. of HC food. Will test in 30 minutes)
+4.5 - 78 (Giving him 1 tsp. of HC food w/ gravy and honey/water mixture. Will test in 20 minutes)
+4.8 - 82 (Giving him 1 tsp. of HC food w/ gravy plus honey/water mixture. Will test in 20 minutes)
+5.4 - 115 (Will give nothing to eat and check in about 20 minutes...still not out of the woods yet)
+5.8 - 156 (No food)
+7 - 168 (Ate LCF after this test
+10 - 236 (Ate LCF 5" before I took this test)
 
He's not rising quite as fast as he usually does following a really fast dip. Hopefully he'll stay a little lower at PMPS.

Desertdog271 said:
* Eats after AMPS (eats about 2 heaping tablespoons)
* Eats one hour after AMPS (eats about 1 heaping tablespoon)
* Eats two hours after AMPS (eats about 1 heaping tablespoon)
* Sleep and then eats five to six hours after AMPS (eats 1 heaping tablespoon)
* Eats 2-3 hours before PMPS (eats about 1 heaping tablespoon)
* Eats after PMPS (eats 1 heaping tablespoon)
* Eats 2-3 hours after PMPS but most of the time he skips this one

Something you could do might be to "front load" a little more. Maybe move the snack that occurs +5/6 and the snack that occurs at AM +9/10 (2-3 hrs. before PMPS) closer to the beginning of the cycle. For example, you could make the AMPS +1 snack into 2 Tbsp., and the AMPS +2 into 2 Tbsp. Depending on Merlin's appetite, you may want to feed more in the early part of the PM cycle too, to slow him down just like in the AM cycle.

I don't think his mid-cycle zooms have much to do with food spiking, but many of us will hold the snacks in the latter part of the cycle, when in theory, the insulin effect is waning, and primarily feed mini-meals during the first half of the cycle when the insulin is gaining momentum.

Another thing that can be tweaked is the carb percentage. There are some cats that do a little better on a slightly higher carb level (like 5-6%) so the insulin has something to "work on" if they are fast droppers.

Of course, if he's dipping into dangerous territory, the feeding "rules" go out the window.

I'm really hopeful that the primary issue is that Merlin just wants a little less insulin so he'll settle down on the swinging a bit, and you can tweak the food more from there.
 
That makes a lot of sense to me, Jen. I will try that tomorrow. That brings to mind that I sometimes do is try to hold off his snack throughout the day when I know that I am going to test. At night, he may want a snack +2 or +3 after PMPS, but lately, he has not so he goes pretty much 11 hours without food. Is that why his numbers jump so much higher at night and into the AMPS time? So tomorrow, I will start loading him up in the first half of AM and PM cycle and slowing down the second half.

His PMPS is 355. Is tonight a good night to start our .4 shot (no matter what the number) for the next 4-6 cycles and see what it does?

4/7
AlphaTrak2
AMPS - 497
+3 - 204
+4 - 82 (Giving him 1 tsp. of HC food. Will test in 30 minutes)
+4.5 - 78 (Giving him 1 tsp. of HC food w/ gravy and honey/water mixture. Will test in 20 minutes)
+4.8 - 82 (Giving him 1 tsp. of HC food w/ gravy plus honey/water mixture. Will test in 20 minutes)
+5.4 - 115 (Will give nothing to eat and check in about 20 minutes...still not out of the woods yet)
+5.8 - 156 (No food)
+7 - 168 (Ate LCF after this test
+10 - 236 (Ate LCF 5" before I took this test)
PMPS - 355 .4
 
Desertdog271 said:
Is that why his numbers jump so much higher at night and into the AMPS time?

It's possible that he's dropping low on some of the night cycles, so his AMPS is high due to bouncing too. Some additional snacks may help slow him down if he's dropping, like during the AM cycle.

Desertdog271 said:
His PMPS is 355. Is tonight a good night to start our .4 shot (no matter what the number) for the next 4-6 cycles and see what it does?

Yep, that's a little lower PMPS. He might continue to climb yet tonight...still those pesky bouncy hormones at work. *HOPEFULLY* the 0.4 won't drop him so low. Lets see what he does with 0.4 tonight. Can you get a +3 test again? Those +3 tests on Merlin are REALLY helping see what he's up to (diving early in the cycle).

If he keeps climbing into higher numbers into the PM cycle, and at AMPS again, just remember that the effects of a bounce can stick around for several cycles after a dip. We're definitely experimenting here, but since Merlin's on such a small dose anyway, if he dose need to go back up in dose again, it won't take long to bring his dose back up if necessary. :smile:
 
This experiment is going to be interesting. I gave him a .4 tonight and will test him at +3. If I can't sleep tonight, I will get up and do some more testing. I really think that would be helpful and give us a better, overall picture of what goes on in the wee morning hours. Oh well, we will see but definitely a +3.

I know that I have said this before, but I feel the need to say it again. I can't tell you how much I appreciate all of you all's input (I know that is not good grammar). It is so comforting to know that someone is going to be there for Merlin anytime during the day and night. I hope that some day that I can also pay it forward to others. So thank you sooooo much.
 
You're so welcome! I have very high hopes for Merlin! :-D :mrgreen: We sort of end up being like "family" even though we've never met. We share in each other's successes and grieve each other's losses.

When Eddie and I were brand new (which wasn't that long ago), we felt the same way...confused, overwhelmed, stressed, and feeling rather hopeless. Sue, and many others here on the PZI board really held my hand and helped us put one foot in front of the other. I can't tell you how grateful I am for all the help I got here from day one, and continue to get, especially since we are now learning a brand new insulin! ;-)

You will be able to pay it forward, and FDMB relies on that to continue to help people. :smile: Pretty soon, you'll see a new bean on the Health Board that has questions about testing or food, or just needs some reassurances that things do get easier. Feel free to jump in and respond! You've got the food down, and you've got the testing down. Just think of how many of the steps to this dance that you already have figured out! :smile: There are also times when a kind or reassuring word is the most important thing in the world. :smile:

Hugs and purrs for you and Merlin! :-D I'll be up for a while yet and try to keep a look out for his +3.
 
4/7
AlphaTrak2
AMPS - 497
+3 - 204
+4 - 82 (Giving him 1 tsp. of HC food. Will test in 30 minutes)
+4.5 - 78 (Giving him 1 tsp. of HC food w/ gravy and honey/water mixture. Will test in 20 minutes)
+4.8 - 82 (Giving him 1 tsp. of HC food w/ gravy plus honey/water mixture. Will test in 20 minutes)
+5.4 - 115 (Will give nothing to eat and check in about 20 minutes...still not out of the woods yet)
+5.8 - 156 (No food)
+7 - 168 (Ate LCF after this test
+10 - 236 (Ate LCF 5" before I took this test)
PMPS - 355 .4
+3 - 426

Merlin ate a big meal at +2...probably a little over 2 tablespoons. He is pretty tired right now, so since it is so high, I am not going to offer any more food tonight. On a positive note, it is not as high as last night which was 523 with .4 shot. Like I said, if I wake up in the middle of the night, I will test. Until tomorrow...Good night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top