? 4/7:Lando PMPS:58, +2 56, +5 50... Should I reduce dose tomorrow??

TankNRK

Member Since 2022
Previous Post:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-6-lando-amps-104.276140/#post-3061817

Cruising along well! :) Same good numbers over here, same sweet boy relaxing on the heating pad after eating breakfast <3

I guess this is a good time to ask since Lando's regulated right now....
Questions about getting a dental done!
Lando's never had one (I know I know please don't shame me! I never knew how important they were!)

Lando needs one for sure. Potentially some pulled. His breath is yucky but he eats perfectly fine. What do I expect having a diabetic cat and getting dental work? I know they usually have to fast and I've heard of people giving half a dose of insulin and a small bite to eat, that their blood sugar should be checked frequently while they're under, and that their numbers can be lower then expected after the procedure?
I'd love to start looking into doing that this year but want to know everything I should beforehand :)

Knowledge is power!
 
Here is some information about dentals: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/info-on-dental-procedures-including-pictures.144338/

Each vet gives different information on insulin dose the night before a dental and the morning of. One thing you'll want to have on hand is all meat baby food in case Lando doesn't want to eat afterwards. Anesthesia does lower BG for most cats, but every now and then it rasies BG. When Furball had any dental done, I always asked them to check her BG during the procedure. Hope this helps.
 
Here is some information about dentals: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/info-on-dental-procedures-including-pictures.144338/

Each vet gives different information on insulin dose the night before a dental and the morning of. One thing you'll want to have on hand is all meat baby food in case Lando doesn't want to eat afterwards. Anesthesia does lower BG for most cats, but every now and then it rasies BG. When Furball had any dental done, I always asked them to check her BG during the procedure. Hope this helps.
This is awesome info, thank you! :) I'll keep it in mind for the near future!
 
Lando's PS this PM is LOW LOW LOW!

I'm noticing green preshots more often then blues now!! Maybe the pancreas is doing something??
I'm off tomorrow, so shooting full dose and keeping hypo kit out. Gonna check hourly and give +1 and +2 snack and see where we go :)
:D:D:D:D:D
 
+5 gave LC Wet, will check in 15 mins.

Noticing more green PS lately. Should I reduce the dose or continue to hold and see if we get another 50 in the future then decide?

He seems to sit higher during the day hours, but it's hard to tell exactly. Nighttime is always much lower. I'd hate to decrease the dose and then he sits above 120 during the day hours.

I could also keep the 1.5 tomorrow AM and see what the numbers look like with a curve to decide for the PM dose tomorrow what to do!

Any advice? Thanks!
 
He hasn't earned a reduction by dropping below 50, but he has been largely in normal numbers for the last 7 days, but for preshots which are within meter variance of green - which is another way of earning a reduction. Also, considering that you cannot test as much during the day, I would put safety first and take the reduction.
 
It's your call if you want to reduce, he hasn't really earned it yet, but close and probably would soon. More info here: Reminder: *earning* reductions and starting OTJ trials

For dentals, you might want to consider going to a vet that specializes in dentals. They tend to have extra staff monitoring and are used to working on older, more complicated animals. Also, ask around on pricing, it can vary a lot. You do want one that does pre dental xrays. Neko once had a dental where visual inspection by a specialist said nothing, but the xrays showed a tooth that needed to come out. The same specialist knew more about acromegaly than Neko's GP vet and saved a tooth the regular vet would have pulled.

The older anaesthesia induction drugs used to lower the BG. Newer ones, not so much, but rather hardly any effect. It depends what the vet uses. Best to test the BG when kitty comes home after dental, and then again at PMPS time to see if there is a drop. Last thing you want is a cat with a sore mouth, not wanting to eat, and dropping numbers. There is a new anaesthesia protocol for diabetics, but not all vets either follow it or know about it. Cutoff off time for feeding the night before vs. in the morning can vary a lot between vets. Most will say 1/2 dose in the AM.

Post dental, BG numbers can go up for a week or so, if there is extractions and inflammation. For some cats, getting a dental makes a huge difference on their insulin needs. Bad teeth are one of the most common reasons cats fall out of remission.
 
Thanks for all the info Bhooma and Wendy!! It helps greatly.

I think I'll stick with the 1.5u this morning since I'm off work today and make the decision tonight.

I'll try to run a curve this morning and see if I have good data, I'll be off on Monday too so if Lando doesn't cooperate today I can do it in 48 hours instead. A reduction is probably coming! I just don't wanna bring it around too early ;)
 
Back
Top