4/7 Kushi PMPS 150 +2 99 +5.5 94

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joe & Kushi

Member Since 2011
Should I hold off on dose or reduce and shoot. I did curve yesterday; it is attached.
How much leeway time wise( earlier or later) should one observe when dosing?
I got three #'s: 86,102,90. I thought the 1st might be erroneously low so then I tested again and got the 102, third was just for confirmation. Any thoughts?
 

Attachments

Re: 4/7 Kushi AMPS 164

Are you going to be around to monitor? Do you have extra strips and HC food on hand in case it's needed?

If so, this is a perfectly find number to shoot.
 
Re: 4/7 Kushi AMPS 164

Yes I have the strips and dry food on hand. At what numbers to I get concerned and should I shoot her regular dose (1.5)
 
Re: 4/7 Kushi AMPS 164

Yes, shoot your regular dose.

The idea is that you want to shoot progressively lower numbers. While it's counterintuitive, often when you shoot low, the curve flattens out and what you see is more of a surf than an actual curve. If you look at the subject lines on the Board, you'll see people shooting green numbers. You want to work up (or down) to shooting lower numbers by collecting the data that tells you how your cat responds. For example, I know with Gabby, she typically has an early onset and her nadir can be on the early side as well. If you shoot the 164 today, when you get a 130 or so, next time you'll be able to shoot that number.

Oh -- you can remove the 911 now.
 
Re: 4/7 Kushi AMPS 164

instead of using dry for your HC, I would pick up some foods with gravy. it takes dry longer to respond and it lasts a lot longer. we usually start out feeding the gravy form the HC so as not to fill cat up and not want to eat. we do it this way usually when numbers are really low, just normal low (hard to describe) you can feed some of the hc in total (food an d gravy)
 
Re: 4/7 Kushi AMPS 164

Thanks gals,

911 removed and I will get some food with gravy. I had some but took it back because Kushi threw it up, almost immediately....might have been a coincidence.
 
Re: 4/7 Kushi AMPS 164

Just get a few cans. Do you know if Kushi is sensitive to gluten? Many cats are. The gravy varieties contain gluten. For cats with food allergies, gluten sensitivity, and IBD, you can add a few drops of Karo (or other simple syrup) to LC food and get the same effect. The last thing you want is a cat throwing up his food when he's in low numbers.
 
Re: 4/7 Kushi AMPS 164

I really don't know if she is allergic to gluten....when we were free feeding on dry food (Iams, and Chicken Soup for the Cat Lovers Soul) She would throw up fairly frequently, but we thought it was because she was gorging herself.
 
Re: 4/7 Kushi AMPS 164

Good morning guys .. you got a beautiful number to start the day out at and lots of good advice so I will just say you are doing awesome, keep it up! .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/7 Kushi AMPS 164

Sienne and Gabby said:
Yes, shoot your regular dose.

The idea is that you want to shoot progressively lower numbers. While it's counterintuitive, often when you shoot low, the curve flattens out and what you see is more of a surf than an actual curve. You want to work up (or down) to shooting lower numbers by collecting the data that tells you how your cat responds. If you shoot the 164 today, when you get a 130 or so, next time you'll be able to shoot that number.

At what point does one begin to reduce the dose as numbers go lower?
 
Re: 4/7 Kushi AMPS 164 +1.5 139

For a cat within one year of diagnosis, when the numbers are below 50, you cat has earned a dose reduction.

Tight Regulation sticky said:
Reducing the dose...

* If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

* If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.

* Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.
 
Re: 4/7 Kushi AMPS 164 +1.5 139

Sienne and Gabby said:
For a cat within one year of diagnosis, when the numbers are below 50, you cat has earned a dose reduction.

Tight Regulation sticky said:
Reducing the dose...

* If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

* If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.

* Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.

Thanks....I think I could measure the .25u, but how in the world would one measure 0.1u?????
 
Re: 4/7 Kushi AMPS 164 +1.5 139

LOL Don't worry, we've got pictures to show how 0.1 looks... thank heavens I haven't had to try yet!! :lol: :lol:

Kushi is looking great!!
 
Re: 4/7 Kushi AMPS 164 +1.5 139

Christie & Willie said:
LOL Don't worry, we've got pictures to show how 0.1 looks... thank heavens I haven't had to try yet!! :lol: :lol:

Kushi is looking great!!

Thank you, I hope I have some more experience under my belt before I have to try that! :lol:
 
Re: 4/7 Kushi AMPS 164 +1.5 139 +4 92 +8 102? +10.5 145

Post to see if this bumps to the top....not sure I understand just how to do this.
 
Re: 4/7 Kushi AMPS 164 +1.5 139 +4 92 +8 102? +10.5 145 PMPS

I was asked to link my condos....how do I do that?
 
Re: 4/7 Kushi AMPS 164 +1.5 139 +4 92 +8 102? +10.5 145 PMPS

hi Joe,

I usually have more than one window open of LL...so I can go back and forth.
the way I do it is, find the condo, open it, grab the link (the http addy) and copy and paste to another window that's opened, and condo that I want to post/link it to.
Kushi's Wednesday Condo

I don't explain techy stuff well, :lol:
but if you visit the Tech forum
there's a lot of useful threads with techie stuff about the board and posting.

There's also a forum called Recycling (Test Zone) too where you can pratice your techie skills pc_work

oh yea, nice day today for Kushi by the way! Have a good nite.
 
Re: 4/7 Kushi PMPS 150 +2 99

It's GREAT to see green. You've asked before about how to look at the numbers. Here's an example. In an "ideal" curve, your +1 would be higher than your PS test since it would reflect a food spike. Your +2 would ideally be around the same as your PS. What Kushi's numbers are telling you tonight is that you need to keep testing. If it were me, I'd get a +2.5.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top