4/7 Jersey AMPS-322; +7-50; PMPS-109; +2-69

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shelly & Jersey (GA)

Member Since 2014
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=116744

Today:
AMPS - 322, .50 units
+1.5 - 221
+7 - 50

Okay, Jerz, I don't know what to do with you! Last night, we reduced to .25 units. the After analyzing the syringe (after the shot, of course), I started wondering if it was really a .25 or closer to .10. I split the difference and noted it as a skinny .25 on my SS. Whatever it was, it didn't appear to be enough insulin for the little ball of fluff. She was high this morning. So....we went back to .50 units this morning. Now we're at 50 at +7. She doesn't want to eat right now, so I'm not feeding and will simply do a recheck soon. She acts perfectly fine - she's grooming civie Petey as I type. We've now reduced three times in the past four days.

Dose Advisors: Which dose do we need to go with? I just don't know how to factor in the depot from the previous doses. :?

I know our syringes are really inaccurate. I can see it with the naked eye. We were able to work with it at .50 and greater. Now that we're decreasing so rapidly, it's really becoming a problem! :YMSIGH: I have laid the caliper instructions and caliper on the table. We will work on getting them set up this evening. I also have an index card "ruler" that we can use if need be. Our magnifying lamp is used every day - I wouldn't be without it at this point!

I've been thinking about what Julie said about someone close by work who we could leave Jersey with during the day. I simply don't know anyone. I am strongly considering moving shot times from 5:30 to 2:30. That would allow me almost 5 hours of monitoring before leaving for work.

I am so sorry to be all "woe is me" stressed out when my kitty is showing such good numbers. I know many of you are struggling with getting good numbers, lack of appys, etc. I really am appreciative for Jersey's "good" problem.

Thoughts and prayers are going out to all of you today! :YMHUG:
Shelly
 
Re: 4/7 Jersey AMPS-322; +7-50; +7.5-99; Dosing Help Plz

I'm sorry I don't know about the dose. It is stressful when they start dropping low and you can't be around to monitor. I hope the calipers will help you get a more consistent dose. I use them for Furball and am so glad I do. It's sad how off the syringes are. I think that will help you manage Jersey's numbers better.
 
Re: 4/7 Jersey AMPS-322; +7-50; +7.5-99; Dosing Help Plz

Sorry no one got back to you earlier, but it looks like you went with a skinny .5 for tonight. That sounds like a good choice. I hope you can keep going on with this dose for a while. The problem with moving around doses is you can get wonky numbers and of course the problematic syringes are no help at all. I hope you got the calipers figured out tonight. At the dose you are at, even a drop or two is a larger percentage of the overall dose.

It is possible that you are still seeing the tail end of the depot from the .75U dose. It can take 6 or so cycles to get rid of it, depending on the dose size, although the smaller dose last night would have helped to drain it.

Nice PMPS tonight! :-D
 
Re: 4/7 Jersey AMPS-322; +7-50; +7.5-99; Dosing Help Plz

I think the 44 on 04/06 was still being affected by the larger doses of 0.75 and 1.00 before that, and I think you did right to go back to the 0.50 dose. The 0.50 - 1 drop might just be perfect. Good luck with the calipers. They took me like a week to get used to.
 
Thanks for your well wishes, Carla. Right now, we're using Relion syringes, and they have the "lip" at the top. We're still figuring out how to work the calipers around the lip. Ugghhh. ohmygod_smile Until we get it figured out, we're just going to try the drop method again.

Wendy and Dyana - Thanks for your help with the numbers. The rapid dose changes, depot effects, NDW, and bouncing are overwhelming my pea-sized little brain right now. It's screaming "too many variables, too many variables..." at me as I type!

Jersey is diving again tonight, and I don't think I'm going to be able to stop her. I've tried regular food and high-carb. She looks at me like I'm a moron for trying to get her to eat yet again. :roll: I'm hoping she'll go ahead and level out and surf tonight.

PMPS - 109
+2 - 69

Thank you all again!
 
When you get a breather - you might want to post and ask for help with dosing with calipers and the Relions. I'm pretty sure there are a couple people here using them with calipers but I can't remember who.

Surf it Jersey - no need for dramatics tonight! :mrgreen:
 
Oh, Jersey, mama bean could use some rest! Can you surf that, please? :shock: :mrgreen: :shock: . I've gotten that "really, eat again?" look. It's a good thing Chyna always seems to like HC gravy :cool: . Our kitties seem to thrive on variables :roll: . I hope you can get some rest tonight!
 
Jersey does like to keep you busy, doesn't she? I don't have any caliper experience, but I am sure you will get the dosing situation ironed out. And don't even think about apologizing for the "woe is me"! FD is not easy to deal with on any level...we are family here, and we help each other through all the angles.

I also ended shifting Trix' shot time so I could get 4 hours of testing in before leaving for work. Admittedly, it's exhausting because of the broken sleep (I do go back to sleep for a couple hours after test/feed. shoot...which, since I have 5 kitties, takes about an hour), but the peace of mind is worth it.

Have a great evening, Shelly!
 
i know what you mean about how complicated it is. you read the protocol and it seems straightforward. but there are these other factors to consider that affect the numbers. they don't stand in isolation, if you know what i mean. so it is more complicated than it seems like it ought to be.

Once a person understands that, they can see why we view the spreadsheet as an essential tool. we need the numbers in context to see the rest of those factors that influence the numbers.

fortunately there are plenty of long-term experienced people who can give you a hand.

I would stick with the same dose now for 6 cycles if you can. dose-hopping does encourage wonky numbers, although sometimes you have to change the dose, and your changes have all been logical ones. hopefully she's going to settle down now.

keep in mind that you can always squirt karo down her throat or rub it on her gums with your finger if you need to. honey or pancake syrup too. one of those medicine syringes that don't have a needle are good for that.

i posted a couple of pictures of punkin on Tyler's condo today - thought you might enjoy them, too. :-D
 
It seems like having low numbers is a great problem to have, until you start missing out on lots of sleep! Well wishes on figuring out which dose is the perfect match for Jersey. ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top