4/7 Ivy Amps 266, +3 102, +6 184, +9 214, Pmps 232, +3 272 Libre

Staci & Ivy

Very Active Member
4/6/25
Amps 266 Libre

Trying to figure out if Ivy’s drop yesterday morning was because of her increased methimazole dose, or she was breaking a bounce.

I lowered her dose last evening to 2.75 units and she was higher overnight and is higher in yellow this morning :blackeye:
Since she tends to drop her BG once we increase the methimazole, I’m trying to get ahead of that big drop trend, but I may have jumped ahead of that drop ;)
Still trying to evaluate what is the correct dose for her at the moment. Always pondering. :bookworm:

She woke me up around 4:30 this morning for cuddles and hung out until it was time to wake up and ate her breakfast ❤️

Have a safe and boring Monday, everyone :cat:
 
Love hearing that Ivy has been cuddly :)
Staci, I feel for you having to factor in Ivy's meds into managing her BG. It makes things so extra-complicated! And it is complicated enough in a simpler situation like mine. Trial and error, constant adjustments and calculations and guesswork - it is all very mentally and emotionally draining isn't it :arghh:
Hope you are able to safely bring her back down to the green soon :bighug:
 
Looks like she's already on her way down again! You made the best call you could to keep her safe.
I hope she surfs steady today and you're both able to enjoy some more cuddles :bighug::bighug:
 
I'm happy to see Ivy has come down to blues .
Staci, I'm sorry to hear about the T4 results, you being sad makes me sad also. Hopefully giving the 5 mg of the Methimazole in the AM and PM will bring it down .
 
Staci, I'm so sorry to read your update on the latest T4 results. I know (we all know) you are doing everything possible to make sure Ivy is living her best life all the time. Try to take things one step at a time, though it's easier said than done -- and enjoy the warm furry cuddles of appreciation. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Love hearing that Ivy has been cuddly :)
Staci, I feel for you having to factor in Ivy's meds into managing her BG. It makes things so extra-complicated! And it is complicated enough in a simpler situation like mine. Trial and error, constant adjustments and calculations and guesswork - it is all very mentally and emotionally draining isn't it :arghh:
Hope you are able to safely bring her back down to the green soon :bighug:
Thanks, Helen, it's a lot to manage. So many factors to try to balance. Plus a very feisty girl.
The cuddles make it all worth while :bighug::bighug:
 
Looks like she's already on her way down again! You made the best call you could to keep her safe.
I hope she surfs steady today and you're both able to enjoy some more cuddles :bighug::bighug:
It always feels like a bit of a guess, Briana. Will she, won't she???
We all have so much to figure out, don't we?

Hugs to you and Binx :bighug::bighug:
 
I'm happy to see Ivy has come down to blues .
Staci, I'm sorry to hear about the T4 results, you being sad makes me sad also. Hopefully giving the 5 mg of the Methimazole in the AM and PM will bring it down .
Thanks, Diane. I sure hope it helps (been saying that for over a year now). Sigh. My poor girl, so much to deal with.
Thanks so much for caring so much, we appreciate you! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I'm so sorry about the T4, I know how that feels emotionally. Sending love and hugs, at least she is back to the blue zone. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: I'll be praying for you both!
Thanks, Christine. I sure wish she could just do the darned I131
I know you understand!
We appreciate your support and love, back at you :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Staci, I'm so sorry to read your update on the latest T4 results. I know (we all know) you are doing everything possible to make sure Ivy is living her best life all the time. Try to take things one step at a time, though it's easier said than done -- and enjoy the warm furry cuddles of appreciation. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
hi Karen, thank you so much for your sweet support. I know you understand what it's like with all the extra difficulties.
I do love her furry cuddles and sweet kisses every day.
We send you lots of love back :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
So happy to hear about meowning snuggles. Aren't they the best?!?!
And you're such a great mama to Ivy. Already anticipating her drop and adjusting her dose accordingly.
Sending warm hugs your way :cat::cat:
 
Trying to keep up and anticipate must feel like the worst game of whack-a-mole! So frustrating! But you're so good to her and doing such a great job!

Sending hugs to you and snuggles to Ivy! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
So happy to hear about meowning snuggles. Aren't they the best?!?!
And you're such a great mama to Ivy. Already anticipating her drop and adjusting her dose accordingly.
Sending warm hugs your way :cat::cat:
Thank you, Karolina, trying to be prepared as best as we can.
Hugs to you and the boys, too :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Thanks, Christine. I sure wish she could just do the darned I131
I know you understand!
We appreciate your support and love, back at you :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
So interestingly, Sable's T4 was 9.2 when he was diagnosed in Dec. 2024. Unfortunately I couldn't get him the I-131 until February, so I had to re-do the bloodwork at the end of Jan. 2025. His T4 was 7.4 in Jan! I asked the vet why it would go down without any treatment (I never give any of my cats methimazole) and she said that the T4 level can vary by quite a few points based on the time of day you take the test, as well as his metabolism. I honestly can't remember what time the tests were, but I think the Dec test was a few hours later in the morning than the Jan test. Maybe Ivy is having a similar effect, compounded by the FDM and predilection towards the pancreatitis- Sable doesn't have any other issues so I was fascinated that he had such a big level difference. Now, the FT4 went up from Dec to Jan, so just wondering if they tested Ivy's FT4 which, according to my vet, isn't as affected by the time of day? It's more $ to do both at my vet but the radiologist wanted to see both the T4 and the FT4
 
So interestingly, Sable's T4 was 9.2 when he was diagnosed in Dec. 2024. Unfortunately I couldn't get him the I-131 until February, so I had to re-do the bloodwork at the end of Jan. 2025. His T4 was 7.4 in Jan! I asked the vet why it would go down without any treatment (I never give any of my cats methimazole) and she said that the T4 level can vary by quite a few points based on the time of day you take the test, as well as his metabolism. I honestly can't remember what time the tests were, but I think the Dec test was a few hours later in the morning than the Jan test. Maybe Ivy is having a similar effect, compounded by the FDM and predilection towards the pancreatitis- Sable doesn't have any other issues so I was fascinated that he had such a big level difference. Now, the FT4 went up from Dec to Jan, so just wondering if they tested Ivy's FT4 which, according to my vet, isn't as affected by the time of day? It's more $ to do both at my vet but the radiologist wanted to see both the T4 and the FT4
Interesting, Christine.
I forget (why don't you treat ever with methimazole? Is it because you always do I131?)

Ivy's labs are always drawn at +4 (10 am) from when I use the medication, so I try to keep that consistent (even though my vet tells me it's not critical, I do it anyway).

They only ran Ivy's T4 each time.

I'm sure there's lots of things going on with Ivy from all of her complexities :arghh:
 
Interesting, Christine.
I forget (why don't you treat ever with methimazole? Is it because you always do I131?)

Ivy's labs are always drawn at +4 (10 am) from when I use the medication, so I try to keep that consistent (even though my vet tells me it's not critical, I do it anyway).

They only ran Ivy's T4 each time.

I'm sure there's lots of things going on with Ivy from all of her complexities :arghh:
I posted in the other day( 4/8 )about my methimazole horror story. If you do ever get to the I-131 stage, they will want the FT4 as well. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top