Elle D & Hugo
Member Since 2020
We should be getting the test results from his vet visit today, thankfully. I need him to eat and even out.
Previous Thread
Last edited:
+6 was 438.
Also, after days of barely being able to get blood from his ear, I'm pretty sure I went clean through the ear and vein, blood everywhere. I feel like the worst cat mom in the world.
Maybe all this testing is stressing him out. He's hiding under the chair in our livingroom right now. He never did that before.
His ear is gonna bruise so bad. I held it and put a cool washcloth on it, neosporin and everything.
If only it were that simple. Numbers wobble around during a bounce. Typically during a bounce the numbers are all higher than where they'd be without the bounce. In other words, things that go up, will come down once the bounce is over.I still have a question about bouncing. Is the lowest part of the bounce where the cat usually ends up? Or do they end up somewhere between the highs and the lows?
Can you tell me what time period you are talking about? You saw both low blues and greens on 2 units last time you were there.How much longer should I hold this 2 unit dose? We did 2 weeks on the 2 units before we did the first curve on my spreadsheet and got him into the 300's pretty consistently.
Here is a post on References Ranges for the Fructosamine. Note that ranges have changed a bit for the UK.
If only it were that simple. Numbers wobble around during a bounce. Typically during a bounce the numbers are all higher than where they'd be without the bounce. In other words, things that go up, will come down once the bounce is over.
Can you tell me what time period you are talking about? You saw both low blues and greens on 2 units last time you were there.
How much does Hugo weigh? My 14 ish lb cat maintained her weight with 5.5 oz of canned, 4 oz of raw food per day. Of course, she didn't have ketones to worry about. And what is important is the calories per can. 5.5 oz can be anywhere from low 100's to over 200 calories per can. How much if the food you are giving?
Hi Elle,
No you are not talking in circles....you are just trying to understand FD which is good!
We know he’s not regulated. The fructosamine test has been used by vets for years as a diagnostic test for FD and still is... that’s the best way of seeing if a cat is diabetic at diagnosis, because it tells you what has been happening over the last couple of weeks and not just on the day, when the cat may be stressed and have a high BG.. Vets also use it after diagnosis to see if cats are regulated. But with home testing, fructosamoine tests are not needed as they don’t give as accurate a picture as home testing does.
With fluids, if he won’t eat the food with water in it, then you may have to leave it out.
Have you tried cooking some chicken bones in water...nothing else added...cook for a few hours, then drain the bones and throw them away. Put the liquid into the fridge to cool and skim off the fat. Then use the juice for Hugo. Freeze in IceCube trays and use as needed.
Do you think he is nauseated? He may need an antinausea medication again. It is really important he eats well.
Are you feeding him during the day and night as well as before shots.?
A full can of 5.5oz in one go is a lot of food......is that what you are doing? how much would you estimate he eats over the period of a day?
With bouncing a cat can wobbly up and down a bit ....say in the 400s then down a bit to the 300s then up again to the 400s. Some cats only bounce into the 200s.. every cat is different (ECID). Eventually they will drop down to lower numbers again. Hugo might drop down to the blues or he might not...we just have to wait and see. There is no definite number they will drop to,.
I think you need to wait until Hugo comes off the bounce before increasing PROVIDING there are no ketones in the urine. But lets wait to hear what @Wendy&Neko thinks as well.
ETA. I see Wendy posted at the same time I did.
What does the vet say his idea weight should be? I was surprised one time when Neko lost some weight and the vet told me it was too low. Neko was happy of course. She got more food!Diabetics don't need 1.5 times the food of non diabetics. I fed Neko and her civvie the same amount. Cats recovering from DKA however, do need more. Are you feeding him all at once or spread out over several meals?
EllePMPS was 489. I want to cry.
I gave him half a can to see how much he was actually eating and he didn't even finish that. I will give him half a FF can later and see if he eats that.
Every bad reading makes me think he got a furshot and we're messing up.
I know how hard it is to see him in high numbers but try and remember those high numbers are from a bounce that will resolve, not because he is not getting insulin. I doubt you gave a fur shot unless you thought you did at the time.ElleI know how hard it is to see him in high numbers but try and remember those high numbers are from a bounce that will resolve, not because he is not getting insulin. I doubt you gave a fur shot unless you thought you did at the time.
When Sheba bounced earlier on I’m her journey she would stay ‘hi’ during the whole cycle.
The really important thing is he is testing negative for ketones.
I’m glad you are offering food at times other than shot time. I feed my cats 4 times a day.
My girl was very fond of black in the beginning. I feel your pain.