Yesterday
Recap:
AMPS: 257 1st cycle f1u NEW DOSE
+2: 185
+3: 144
+3.5: 80
+4: 72
+5: 75
+6: 73
+8: 233
PMPS: 349 2nd cycle f1u
+3: 178
+4: 135
+5: 126
+6: 136
+7: 167
Good morning Lantus Land! We are sending our thoughts and prayers to Michelle (Doodle), Karrie (Maverick), Tanya (Minuit), and our dear friends Michelle and Mannie who are remembering their beloved Milo and celebrating his life and his bravery today. Also sending healing vines to those who need them....Butthead, Rocket, Willow, Buddy, and any others.
Gracie had a pretty nice day yesterday with a short bounce which I'm not sure if it was delayed stress from the workmen or a short bounce. She's very quiet this morning...not like her. I'm not sure if she is tired or something else is going on. Her lab tests should all be back today. She ate her 1st breffis really well and was chirpy and purry with me when I gave her morning scritches so I hope she's just getting a slow start to the day because she was up late with Mike and it's a little chilly today.
Last night, Jill visited our condo and wrote:
Of course...that brings up my eternal questions that I hope Jill can answer for me.
1. On bringing the .5u up too quickly, the first cycle looked like a bounce to us; the second cycle looked like a high curve with a nadir. Laurie did tell me it looked like a bounce and see what the next morning looked like and it looked the same; Gracie WAS clearing her bounces fairly fast. So I guess that was totally my bad that I took her up to the last good dose, sk .75u. I was just anxious about spending too much time at a failed reduction. One question I've asked many times with no answer is "how do you tell the difference between a bounce and a failed reduction?". If you don't need to wait six cycles before going back up on a failed reduction, then when do you know to get them back up quickly before they lose momentum?
2. Once on the sk .75u, we gave her 7 cycles and she spent most of the time in high numbers. Even she gets through NDW in pretty quick time. So at this point, we're now worried about the time she is spending above renal threshold and that her liver is forgetting what it's like to be at normal numbers. We raised her after 7 cycles based on this in the protocol:
3. I jumped the gun on the last increase to f1u yesterday. Jill said to give her until last night but the contractors came a day early yesterday (I didn't expect them) and then things got crazy and I was 15 mins late giving her the shot. I didn't have a chance to turn on the computer and try and remember if she just said "tomorrow" or "tomorrow night"...and it was the latter. I should have stayed the course until I could check it. Gracie had two nice cycles yesterday with a quick bounce in between and a nice AMPS today.
I'm not sure I understand this part of Jill's quote:
So, where do we go now besides I need to buy a new pair of patience pants because I didn't get an expensive pair to begin with? :lol: :lol: Seriously...have I totally gummed her up or what should we do at this point? I'm assuming one thing would be to hold this dose as long as she is in safe numbers? Mike and I really want to learn from this. We kicked ourselves in the pants before and now I'm doing it again and I know that was not Jill's intention...there is a lesson to be learned and I want to be clear on this. THANK YOU!!! We do so appreciate it.
Recap:
AMPS: 257 1st cycle f1u NEW DOSE
+2: 185
+3: 144
+3.5: 80
+4: 72
+5: 75
+6: 73
+8: 233
PMPS: 349 2nd cycle f1u
+3: 178
+4: 135
+5: 126
+6: 136
+7: 167
Good morning Lantus Land! We are sending our thoughts and prayers to Michelle (Doodle), Karrie (Maverick), Tanya (Minuit), and our dear friends Michelle and Mannie who are remembering their beloved Milo and celebrating his life and his bravery today. Also sending healing vines to those who need them....Butthead, Rocket, Willow, Buddy, and any others.
Gracie had a pretty nice day yesterday with a short bounce which I'm not sure if it was delayed stress from the workmen or a short bounce. She's very quiet this morning...not like her. I'm not sure if she is tired or something else is going on. Her lab tests should all be back today. She ate her 1st breffis really well and was chirpy and purry with me when I gave her morning scritches so I hope she's just getting a slow start to the day because she was up late with Mike and it's a little chilly today.
Last night, Jill visited our condo and wrote:
i'm going to throw another *possibility* out there for your consideration...
it's very possible the reduction to 0.5u was not held long enough to clear the expected bounce before the dose was increased again. the time it takes to clear a bounce can change. same thing was done this morning. too much insulin can cause high numbers. the problem with that is then it takes even more insulin to get back to where you were. you know what i mean... having to go up before you can come back down. we've all fallen into that trap of chasing numbers rather than letting them come to us.
just a thought.
Of course...that brings up my eternal questions that I hope Jill can answer for me.
1. On bringing the .5u up too quickly, the first cycle looked like a bounce to us; the second cycle looked like a high curve with a nadir. Laurie did tell me it looked like a bounce and see what the next morning looked like and it looked the same; Gracie WAS clearing her bounces fairly fast. So I guess that was totally my bad that I took her up to the last good dose, sk .75u. I was just anxious about spending too much time at a failed reduction. One question I've asked many times with no answer is "how do you tell the difference between a bounce and a failed reduction?". If you don't need to wait six cycles before going back up on a failed reduction, then when do you know to get them back up quickly before they lose momentum?
2. Once on the sk .75u, we gave her 7 cycles and she spent most of the time in high numbers. Even she gets through NDW in pretty quick time. So at this point, we're now worried about the time she is spending above renal threshold and that her liver is forgetting what it's like to be at normal numbers. We raised her after 7 cycles based on this in the protocol:
What would have been the better thing for us to do here?After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
3. I jumped the gun on the last increase to f1u yesterday. Jill said to give her until last night but the contractors came a day early yesterday (I didn't expect them) and then things got crazy and I was 15 mins late giving her the shot. I didn't have a chance to turn on the computer and try and remember if she just said "tomorrow" or "tomorrow night"...and it was the latter. I should have stayed the course until I could check it. Gracie had two nice cycles yesterday with a quick bounce in between and a nice AMPS today.
I'm not sure I understand this part of Jill's quote:
Is that from NDW?too much insulin can cause high numbers. the problem with that is then it takes even more insulin to get back to where you were.
So, where do we go now besides I need to buy a new pair of patience pants because I didn't get an expensive pair to begin with? :lol: :lol: Seriously...have I totally gummed her up or what should we do at this point? I'm assuming one thing would be to hold this dose as long as she is in safe numbers? Mike and I really want to learn from this. We kicked ourselves in the pants before and now I'm doing it again and I know that was not Jill's intention...there is a lesson to be learned and I want to be clear on this. THANK YOU!!! We do so appreciate it.