4/7 Eddie AMPS 228, PMPS 279, +8/60

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=116748

Good morning! The sun is out here in Minnesnowta this morning, and it looks like it may turn out to be a nice almost warm day today! We had the windows open all day yesterday which was wonderful to let the stuffiness of winter air out a bit. The cats all took turns pushed each other around to get a seat to take in the fresh air at the open windows.

Eddie had another great AM cycle yesterday. He bounced in the PM, but it wasn't a terrible bounce. We did get a blue on the SS later into the PM cycle, so maybe he'll clear that bounce easily, too.

Today:
AMPS = 228
+2 =293
+6 = 283
+10.5 = 273
PMPS = 279
+2 = 230
+4 = 167
+5 = 144
+6 = 107
+7 = 91
+8 = 60
+9 = 67
+11.25 = 52/53

He popped up a bit at +2, so not sure if he's still bouncing just a little bit or if he had a little bit of bigger food spike this AM. I'll be able to swing home to do a spot check around +6. Hopefully, he'll have another lovely cycle this AM that's lower but not too low. I felt confident shooting this morning, particularly with the +2 number, that Eddie would be OK while I'm at work today. :smile: Fingers and toes crossed and anti-jinx!
 
Re: 4/7 Eddie AMPS 228, +2/293

Hi Jen,
Eddie is looking good on Lantus. This morning's numbers could be a continuation/resumption of the bounce from last night's cycle. It will be interesting to see what he does today.
Have a good one,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/7 Eddie AMPS 228, +2/293

Thanks Ella!

I am curious to see what he does today as well. I'd be OK if Eddie decided he'd rather bounce in the daytime and have his active cycles in the PM. :smile:
 
Re: 4/7 Eddie AMPS 228, +6/283

+6.25 = 283

Bouncing today. Ah well! At least mama bean doesn't have to fret about how low he will go during the day today. Hopefully, he'll be ready for a good cycle this PM! There's nothing scary about blues and greens, little Edshrimpy!

Looking back at his ProZinc SS, it does seem like he likes to bounce in those flat yellows. I always had a hard time though with ProZinc differentiating between flat bounce cycles, and not enough juice. Hopefully, with Lantus, his cycles will be a little clearer to interpret - they have been thus far! :-D
 
Re: 4/7 Eddie AMPS 228, +6/283

G'day Jen. Another phenomenon that sometimes happens with Lantus is a flat yellow cycle before an active one. Time will tell if Eddie likes to do that too. In the mean time maybe he's just being considerate and bouncing during the day. :smile:
 
Re: 4/7 Eddie AMPS 228, +6/283

Hi Wendy!

I'm curious to see what (if anything) he does after a flat yellow cycle too! Flat yellow cycles were pretty common for him on ProZinc too, and sometimes he'd move after a flat yellow cycle, sometimes it would be another flat yellow cycle. I'm curious to see if that pattern changes with Lantus.
 
Re: 4/7 Eddie AMPS 228, PMPS 279, +2/230

PMPS = 279
+2 = 230

Pretty much stayed flat in the 270+ range all day. Down a little bit at PM +2. Hoping that Mr. Eduardo is clearing the yellow bouncies and is ready for another nice cycle this PM. :-D

Tonight is the 7th cycle on this dose. Yay! On the protocol, are we to follow the "initial starting dose" guidelines to hold for 5-7 days? I'm guessing that regardless, Eddie's cycles are looking pretty good on this dose anyway so holding would be appropriate?
 
Re: 4/7 Eddie AMPS 228, PMPS 279, +4/167

Nice blues so far tonight! :cool:

Yup, I'd hang onto a dose that gets Eddie into the 50's. :-D
 
Re: 4/7 Eddie AMPS 228, PMPS 279, +4/167

Thanks Wendy!

+5 = 144

I loved reading about Neko's new friend, by the way. ;-) It's always hilarious when they decide a new "thing" in the house the BESTEST thing in the whole world!

Looks like Eddie's sliding down into the blues tonight. Woot! Hopefully if he does a slower slide he won't bounce (as much). We shall see! :-D
 
Re: 4/7 Eddie AMPS 228, PMPS 279, +4/167

Just for edification, when a cat is switched from one insulin to another, if numbers remain high, it's recommended to increase the dose after 24-48 hours.

Obviously, we don't have that issue with Eddie who seems to prefer nice blues and greens. :-D I hope he doesn't keep you up, Jen. It's kind of a double edged sword, isn't it? If he's going to get green numbers, you'd rather it be when you are at home instead of work, but you need sleep to work!
 
Re: 4/7 Eddie AMPS 228, PMPS 279, +4/167

Marje and Gracie said:
Just for edification, when a cat is switched from one insulin to another, if numbers remain high, it's recommended to increase the dose after 24-48 hours.

Thanks for the info Marje! I just devour information so even if it doesn't apply directly to Eddie, it's just one of those bits of knowledge to store away for future use.

Marje and Gracie said:
Obviously, we don't have that issue with Eddie who seems to prefer nice blues and greens. :-D I hope he doesn't keep you up, Jen. It's kind of a double edged sword, isn't it? If he's going to get green numbers, you'd rather it be when you are at home instead of work, but you need sleep to work!

It definitely is. I've been sleeping according to Eddie's schedule for about 3 1/2 months now, and it is definitely rough at times. I've been a night owl since I was in my early teens, and always frankly had trouble falling asleep at night. So, in a way, I guess I'm biologically wired to handle his nighttime antics. ;-) That said, I regularly sneak in after work naps if I'm up late the night before. I try to snag some extra sleep when I can! I can say, though, that I'd rather work through being tired, than worry about Eddie all day - not that I really have any control over when he decides to dip. :lol:

I will say it was very considerate of Eddie to bounce today so I didn't have to fret over how low he was going to go today (until we get used to his patterns). :-D
 
Re: 4/7 Eddie AMPS 228, PMPS 279, +5/144

I'd be happy about not having to worry during the day, too.

I hope you get some rest tonight. I never have been a night owl or a morning person :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 4/7 Eddie AMPS 228, PMPS 279, +5/144

that was a very decent bounce - he's quite a gentleman to already be coming down from it. at least i'm thinking the 144 is on his way to clearing the bounce. i guess your next test will tell.

i like to snooze after work once in a while too. especially if there is sun on the sofa - a deadly trap for me! :lol:
 
Re: 4/7 Eddie AMPS 228, PMPS 279, +5/144

+6 = 107

Yay! :-D Looks like he is going to clear the bounce!

Julie - purring snuggly kitties are my nap trap. :-D DH and I blame the kitties for "casting sleep spells" when you lay down just to rest for a minute and wake up after an unintended long nap surrounded by sleeping cats :-D
 
Re: 4/7 Eddie AMPS 228, PMPS 279, +6/107

hahaha the joke at our house is "sleep molecules." punkin was especially good at sending out sleep molecules. he wasn't a lap kitty, he was a chest kitty, and he'd be on my chest, head under my chin, and he could purr for hours. literally. this big purr coming right at my face while he slept . . . and i couldn't fight the sleep molecules and would often end up asleep. :lol:

they're like little secret agents whose mission is to Get The People Asleep so they could sleep with/on/around The People! :lol:
 
Re: 4/7 Eddie AMPS 228, PMPS 279, +6/107

+7 = 91 :mrgreen:

Those big purr heads are the best, aren't they? :-D cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top