4/7 Doodles AMPS 508 +6 458 (2uR)+8 310 +10 388 PMPS 387 (2R) +2 355 +4.5 390

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doodles & Karen

Member Since 2015
Doodles 4/6 Well, we had success with no post 2 hour spike from the new lasik chew last night. Possibly he dipped into yellow which created a bounce? My gut said to set an alarm and test but DH & I said, well he was pretty much flat at that 4.5 so ....:banghead::banghead: Plus he ate his before bedtime meal.

I went ahead and gave him 2u R this morning which not sure if it was the right thing to do. His appy is good and glad his wet food arrived yesterday. Too late to change anything so will be watching and see what he does today.

My heart is very sad for the losses this week. Extra vines and prayers for Anne, Suki & Sandy. :bighug:

***Please remember the dosing and techniques are for Doodles only and should not be copied***
 
Fingers crossed that the chewy lasix is at least part of the answer! And hooray for good appy!!! Have a great day, Karen!
 
Good Morning Karen. I meant to ask you if the meter you ordered was the Abbott Precision Xtra ? If so the cheapest place I found for the strips was Universal Pharmacy in Canada. They were 40 strips for 90 with S/h $97.

Die antibodies die.
 
I know you didn't like that number this morning, but let's hope it is hiding somethng good that came before. You can't test 24/7 so things get missed. That's just normal life. I'm glad to hear his appetite is good and that the chew is working out.
 
Lets hope so. Felt a bit irresponsible this morning but you're right...I can't test 24/7.

It isn't good for you or for him, either. Which is not to say be careless, but we sometimes try to ask ourselves, "What will this test show us?" and if it feels more like our own desire just to kind of know, we let it go and call it saving up Rosie's goodwill for a time when we need it. Sometimes, that will be wrong and we will miss something big. No getting around it. But you are doing a great job!
 
Lets hope so. Felt a bit irresponsible this morning but you're right...I can't test 24/7.
Please do not feel irresponsible. I do not, in any way think this is a bounce off some lower number you missed last night. He didn't get s big response from the R after R+2. I just think he had too much fun being the tank last night.

I also think if you are facing a number over 500 and ready to shoot R,new should bump it up to 3u and see if that can start to break through a little bit with the lasix out of the equation but I am pretty happy to see the +2.

Hang in there, my girl. We will take this beast....we both might be hobbling around on canes (me sooner than you) but I'm here to support you however I can.

And any time another R user or high dose mama has some thoughts, it would be great to have them.
 
I also think if you are facing a number over 500 and ready to shoot R,new should bump it up to 3u
I'll try that next time. Just wanted to be a little conservative with the new change and the dosecrease. He might need a little more R later today and I plan on testing every 2 hours or so.

I just think he had too much fun being the tank last night.
The stinker went to bed but I was up @ +6. If he was in sight I would've tested but going Doodle hunting with the flashlight at night wasn't happeningo_O

We will take this beast....we both might be hobbling around on canes (me sooner than you) but I'm here to support you however I can.
Isn't that the truth. Was tempted to ask Dr. Church if he'd do an echo on my :p
 
Well, I'm not really qualified to give dosing advice but with our experience, we just kept raising both L and R without letting up until we broke through the glass ceiling. You are doing great Karen! Sending strength to you and sleep vibes too if there is such a thing.
 
The stinker went to bed but I was up @ +6. If he was in sight I would've tested but going Doodle hunting with the flashlight at night wasn't happeningo_O
It's not like he was going anywhere near hypo territory last night. Many a time I've consulted the oracle (spreadsheet) and asked myself if Neko will be safe if I go to bed. You do lots of data gathering during the day - you had a sleep pass. :bighug:As for this morning, you had some NDW in there too, could have just been that.

Interesting experiment with the +6R. I like the results so far. Almost yellow. :) Take THAT antibodies!
 
It's not like he was going anywhere near hypo territory last night
When I asked DH that's pretty much what he said. "He's not 150, he's 350...go to sleep and leave him alone"...lol He's also the one who convinced me to go ahead and increase last night.

Interesting experiment with the +6R. I like the results so far. Almost yellow.
So close...Trying to confuse the anitbodies so they don't know when it's coming:smuggrin:
 
When I asked DH that's pretty much what he said. "He's not 150, he's 350...go to sleep and leave him alone"...lol He's also the one who convinced me to go ahead and increase last night.


So close...Trying to confuse the anitbodies so they don't know when it's coming:smuggrin:
It's a balancing act.....you don't want to test unnecessarily yet all information is good information and can help you determine how best to help him.
 
I'm not sure this up & down is good on his body. The R put him on a roller coaster ride in 4 hours from +6 to +10....any thoughts?
 
We won't talk about Doodles food but lets say he's doing well on the "good" stuff. Shot 2u R along with 8u Lantus @PMPS.
 
Ain't this the truth! Even those of us who don't really understand what Doodles is going through (I'm sure I'm not the only one whose head it goes over) are all waiting anxiously for Doodles' breakthrough moment - can't be far away now...
Ain't this the truth! Even those of us who don't really understand what Doodles is going through (I'm sure I'm not the only one whose head it goes over) are all waiting anxiously for Doodles' breakthrough moment - can't be far away now...

I couldn't agree more! I don't quite get the dosing details, but I do know that I am rooting for Doodles and anxiously waiting for him to get back into better numbers. Sending lots of vines! :bighug:
 
That I know and understand....just seems like at 8 units something should be moving:rolleyes:
Remember New Dose Wonkiness - don't expect too much out of the Lantus until that is over. And also remember that IAA can retard the initial rise of available insulin after an injection. Patience pants you must have my young Padewan.;)
 
Looks like I have to bring out the bigger guns tomorrow morning. Depending on his AMPS is whether I'll shoot the R then or wait until AM+2. If over 350 he'll get 2.5u and if over 400 he'll get 3u R.

And also remember that IAA can retard the initial rise of available insulin after an injection
I know but don't like it :mad::mad::p Die antibodies!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top