4/7,Chuck,AMPS:218 (+12.25),+1 332,+2 371,+4 335,+5 404,+11 262,PMPS:300, +5.5 303,+9 233

Status
Not open for further replies.
Is he eating normally - not sick or off? Can you monitor him after the shot if you need to?
He's been bugging me for an hour to feed him. Still eating normally. Still on his baytril today is the last day. Acting completely normal. We can monitor closely.
 
He's only slightly down from the last test at +9, so it's not like he's dropping quickly.

You shot a blue number back in December (22), so this isn't that much different, although on a new insulin, of course.

Have you dealt with low numbers before?

Shooting a lower starting number is often an excellent way to lower a kitty's entire range. I don't see any reason why you shouldn't - experienced people will shoot in the 50's - but my only hesitation is that I can't stay with you.

If you feel like you can handle low numbers if they come up, then I think you'd be fine shooting the regular dose.

We don't usually change the dose based upon the preshot. I'm going to post this so you can read it and ask questions, but there's more I want to write, so don't shoot yet.
 
Because Lantus is a depot insulin, if you want to change the course of this cycle, you need to make a significant reduction. Unlike ProZinc you wouldn't just shoot a little bit less. It might or might not work with Lantus. I usually shot one 50% dose if I wanted to be sure we weren't headed for low numbers, then I'd return to the regular dose with the next shot.

However, you don't really have a low preshot number. On this group, if people have 150 or higher we say go for it, unless there is a reason not to.

So the choice is yours, but those are some things to consider.
 
I have dealt with fast drops and lower numbers. He's pretty reactive to food so the HC gravy food will bring him up if he needs it. I'm use to prozinc where after 3 rising numbers he's good to go. I haven't dealt with lower numbers on lantus. I don't want to lose momentum. I kinda expect a bounce like we saw yesterday morning. I just don't want to screw it up so early.
 
I think you can go for it, given what you've said. These aren't low numbers for shooting. After you shoot, you'll feed him and it will still be a couple of hours before the Lantus shot kicks in - he'll likely be rising during that time, both from food and from the prior shot wearing off.
 
It's about 15 minutes from his test... I'm going to test again and try to decide what to do. I think I might go for the 8 units just so we don't lose the momentum.
 
Ok I think I fixed it right. Retest 15 minutes later was 218.
So
AMPS: 218
Fed 4.5oz pate + 2T water. .8oz pate + 1T water + .5 tsp pumpkin @+4. .5oz FF kitten + 1T water @+7
Gave 8 units
Will monitor.
 
Last edited:
Looking good Chuck. :) Typically on Lantus, the lower the preshot, the flatter the cycle. I also suspect he heard the muttering about a dosecrease. :p
 
PMPS: 300
Fed usual. Last day of antibiotic. I'm out of FF kitten so I used Meow Mix tender favorites Shrimp & tuna (only 2 carbs on Dr Lisa's new list) for his +7 snack.
Gave 8 units.
I think he bounced again this morning. Nice to see that he is clearing it in once cycle though.
 
Not moving much today. Maybe a longer bounce? I wasn't able to get out of bed for his +3. Mixture of pain medication and still having pain level 8/10 when I'm NOT moving had me stuck in bed. I finally made my way to the couch. Snoozing on and off from the medicine.
 
Also: Is it normal for him to have a soft lump where I'm injecting him? I never noticed it on prozinc. It feels like he has some extra fat there. Soft and not hot to the touch or anything. Just wondering if I should try another area til that one is gone?
 
Also: Is it normal for him to have a soft lump where I'm injecting him? I never noticed it on prozinc. It feels like he has some extra fat there. Soft and not hot to the touch or anything. Just wondering if I should try another area til that one is gone?
Maybe try a different area. It's possible the depot is causing a little fluid to accumulate or maybe local irritation because it's acidic.
 
I tried to move the shot location around. AM one side, PM the other. You can get lumps if you shoot the same spot all the time. I would move to a different set of spots until the lump is gone. This post on Testing and Shooting Tips has a section on site rotation.

And yes on the increase. Good luck with the new dose. And vines for you too. :bighug:
 
I'll try the increase and the other side. DH still shoots in the scruff. Bends the shorter needles too often. We have 1/2 inch u100 needles but Chuck prefers the short ones. I think I'll trim an area on the other side.
 
I shot in the scruff/shoulder area for 5 years. Fortunately Neko's hair was shorter around the shoulders, which made it easier. The roll method mentioned in that post also makes it easier to see the skin for shooting.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top