Deanna & Billie
Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-17-billie-amps-188-4-143-pmps-303.189781/
Hello from Billie!! Last time I posted an update, she had just overcome a terrifying episode of serotonin syndrome caused by mirtazapine. She made a full recovery!
Over the past few weeks, though, she has seemed a little more lethargic, and she has lost more weight despite eating well and stable BG. She went for a recheck with her cardiologist (heart still looks perfect! No more myocarditis) and her IM vet last week. IM vet found that her liver values, which have been elevated for about a year have mildly worsened. She's also very mildly anemic. IM vet thinks triaditis is the most likely problem, due to the liver values and her long history of chronic pancreatitis and suspected IBD. She recommended "big guns" treatment at this point. Billie has been on Denamarin for liver support and Cannapet for inflammation recently, but the worsening numbers, weight loss, and borderline anemia are concerning.
The options she suggested were Atopica or pred. Since Atopica can throw off appetite, I leaned toward pred. I was concerned about the increased risk of heart issues but Billie's cardiologist agreed that it would be the best option. I am of course increasing her insulin by TR protocol to accommodate the increased BG.
She started it on Tuesday - methylprednisolone, 2 mg pills BID. I'm not sure I fully understand the difference between methylprednisolone and prednisolone, but her IM vet felt that this would be the best choice. She will go back for bloodwork in 2-4 weeks. I also had them add the TLI to check for EPI to last week's bloodwork but haven't gotten that part back yet. I kind of had to fight for that one but I think it's worth checking considering the weight loss and good appetite.
I'm curious if anyone has had experience with methylprednisolone vs. prednisolone. So far, I haven't noticed any unexpected side effects...but definitely increased drinking/urination and increased BG as suspected.
I hope everyone else is doing okay! Lots of vines to all kitties and beans in need
PS: I'm attaching bloodwork for anyone who might be inclined to take a peek. Notable changes since her last bloodwork in January - the mild anemia, and the elevated bilirubin. All bilirubin measurements were within normal range in January. Other elevated liver enzymes have increased slightly but not too significantly. Monocytes have been elevated since September. Lymphocytes are newly elevated.
Hello from Billie!! Last time I posted an update, she had just overcome a terrifying episode of serotonin syndrome caused by mirtazapine. She made a full recovery!
Over the past few weeks, though, she has seemed a little more lethargic, and she has lost more weight despite eating well and stable BG. She went for a recheck with her cardiologist (heart still looks perfect! No more myocarditis) and her IM vet last week. IM vet found that her liver values, which have been elevated for about a year have mildly worsened. She's also very mildly anemic. IM vet thinks triaditis is the most likely problem, due to the liver values and her long history of chronic pancreatitis and suspected IBD. She recommended "big guns" treatment at this point. Billie has been on Denamarin for liver support and Cannapet for inflammation recently, but the worsening numbers, weight loss, and borderline anemia are concerning.
The options she suggested were Atopica or pred. Since Atopica can throw off appetite, I leaned toward pred. I was concerned about the increased risk of heart issues but Billie's cardiologist agreed that it would be the best option. I am of course increasing her insulin by TR protocol to accommodate the increased BG.
She started it on Tuesday - methylprednisolone, 2 mg pills BID. I'm not sure I fully understand the difference between methylprednisolone and prednisolone, but her IM vet felt that this would be the best choice. She will go back for bloodwork in 2-4 weeks. I also had them add the TLI to check for EPI to last week's bloodwork but haven't gotten that part back yet. I kind of had to fight for that one but I think it's worth checking considering the weight loss and good appetite.
I'm curious if anyone has had experience with methylprednisolone vs. prednisolone. So far, I haven't noticed any unexpected side effects...but definitely increased drinking/urination and increased BG as suspected.
I hope everyone else is doing okay! Lots of vines to all kitties and beans in need

PS: I'm attaching bloodwork for anyone who might be inclined to take a peek. Notable changes since her last bloodwork in January - the mild anemia, and the elevated bilirubin. All bilirubin measurements were within normal range in January. Other elevated liver enzymes have increased slightly but not too significantly. Monocytes have been elevated since September. Lymphocytes are newly elevated.