4/7 Billie AMPS 249 +3.5 54 +4 61 +5 81 PMPS 250 +4 239

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deanna & Billie

Member Since 2014
Hello L&LL!

Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-6-billie-amps-325-4-200.135790/

Thanks for the poo vines and visits last night! I did some successful poo detective work and found that Billie was indeed the one having diarrhea. She had a pretty normal poo late last night, more diarrhea this morning, but no poo since. I tried a couple new food options last night because she wasn't eating her Instinct and I wanted her to eat, but I think experimenting was a mistake since she was already having tummy troubles yesterday. One was Hound & Gatos salmon (she went nuts for it...too bad if she can't eat it), and another was a Weruva lamb that also had fish in it, so that could have done it.

I have been experimenting with food/proteins because she only has two safe options right now, and I want to have more options than that. But, I think I need to just stick with the Instinct rabbit and pork, then try one new food at a time and see what happens instead of giving her a buffet of new food all at once. Her appy is okay tonight. Not great, but she is grazing.

She sure surprised me with that drop this morning!! She ate pretty well at AMPS and ate quite a lot around +3 which was the "hey, I'm dropping" clue. Time to start testing earlier in the cycle! I ended up giving her a reduced PM shot because I got asked to work for a few hours tonight. She didn't bounce very high (for her) and I was scared she'd do another dive while I was out. She probably wouldn't have, but I didn't want to chance it of course.

Sending lots of vines to all the kitties and beans needing vines.
 
Hi Deanna,
Did Billie enjoy listening to Lady Day tonight? Pretty nice to have a namesake like Billie Holiday!
I agree that you shouldn't introduce too many new foods at the same time. You'll never be able to keep them straight (the effects of them, that is).
Nice green surf today, Billie!

Thanks for visiting,

Ella & Rusty
 
I think you should stick with the two foods that agree with her. Were you looking for more because she wasn't eating enough or just for variety? If she is eating the two well I wouldn't look for more. Some cats can handle food changes without upset tummies but most can't. Is she still getting ondansetron twice a day?

I would have given a reduced dose as well. Her numbers will come down but whether she will drop while you are at work you can't do anything about.
 
It sounds like a good plan to stick with what she's eating that works for her right now. I don't blame you for reducing her shot since you'd be out. I wish we could monitor our kitties when we're at work.
 
I agree about keeping the food detective work within a manageable range. Too many moving parts and you can't find the one that's squeaking.

Back on track now, Billie.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top